Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Rhubarb Shortbread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rhubarb Shortbread

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on May 17, 2003

      Absolutely delicious! I made the recipe exactly as written. The hint of vanilla in the rhubarb jam is wonderful. That flavour combined with a fluffy shortbread is out of this world. Don't worry about all the steps, it really takes no time at all. I can see where it is very important to grate the dough and to not press it down too much in the pan - that's what gives it the lightness, the melt-in-your-mouth texture. If I could give this more stars, I most definitely would. Thanks MEAN CHEF!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2011

      This is sinfully delicious. When you put this much butter in something, there is no way it should taste bad. I would like more rhubarb and if I make them again perhaps I will add more jam. I did make these gluten free which was easy to do. 1 1/4 cup brown rice flour 1 cup sorghum flour, 1/4 cup cornstarch, 1/2 cup potato starch, 1/2 cup tapioca starch, 1 1/2 TBS xanthan gum. Blend all of this together to make the all purpose flour and then follow the recipe. I suspect it comes out like the normal recipe. I can't keep my non-GF mom away.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2010

      Very easy.. I used my Cuisinart to grate the dough..This made it so easy. I did it in small batches. So not to pack the dough..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2009

      Shortbread with tangy rhubarb, mmmmm....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2008

      Very good recipe. It really is important to chill the dough and grate it in the pan it really does help develop the texture of the crust and topping. Since this makes a large pan I halved the recipe and baked it in an 8x8 pan for hubby and I. If you love shortbread you will love these bars. I also like to stir in a few tablespoons of strawberry jam to my rhubarb mixture to make a strawberry/rhubarb bar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2007

      This is a great recipe! I love the grated shortbread, and was surprised by how easy it ended up being. I used a combination of white, wheat, and soy flour. I made one batch with the rhubarb mixture, and another batch that I just added a cup of mixed berries to, and kept everything else the same...also very good. Though I might only do half a cup next time so the rhubarb flavor comes through a bit more. I will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2006

      This was truly a great recipe loved it...easy to make and love the crust...will add more filling next time just because I love rhubarb...just loved it,this is a 10 in my book!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2006

      Top ratings for this! I've had to pick my co-workers up off the floor from where they swooned in delight. This is as good as a baked-good gets! Followed the recipe exactly, except I didn't dust with sugar--the sweetness was perfectly balanced with the tartness of the rhubarb and I didn't want to throw it off. So, so good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2005

      These were delicious! I prepared these recently for a Zaar get-together and they were probably the most popular item on the table. I will make these again. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2005

      Great recipe. I didn't make this but I did a lot of taste testing and these were wonderful. Very fluffy, light and flavourful shortbread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2004

      Had to take some squares to a Community Association meeting. These were excellent. I would rarely risk making a recipe for the first time for "general consumption" but I had a feeling I could trust Mean Chef for a goof proof recipe. These squares were rich, tangy and tender-crumbly. A big hit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2003

      I've never run across another shortbread recipe calling for chilled dough to be box grated but it's a terrific technique! You can substitute 1 tsp vanilla extract for the vanilla bean in the rhubarb jam. Just stir it in after cooking the jam. I agree with Just Call Me Martha, a 10 star recipe! I have this recipe in my collection, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rhubarb Shortbread

    Serving Size: 1 (2105 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 610.7
     
    Calories from Fat 294
    48%
    Total Fat 32.6 g
    50%
    Saturated Fat 20.0 g
    100%
    Cholesterol 142.8 mg
    47%
    Sodium 118.9 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 75.5 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 42.1 g
    168%
    Protein 5.8 g
    11%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vanilla beans

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites