12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Absolutely delicious! I made the recipe exactly as written. The hint of vanilla in the rhubarb jam is wonderful. That flavour combined with a fluffy shortbread is out of this world. Don't worry about all the steps, it really takes no time at all. I can see where it is very important to grate the dough and to not press it down too much in the pan - that's what gives it the lightness, the melt-in-your-mouth texture. If I could give this more stars, I most definitely would. Thanks MEAN CHEF!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Just Call Me Martha May 17, 2003

This is sinfully delicious. When you put this much butter in something, there is no way it should taste bad. I would like more rhubarb and if I make them again perhaps I will add more jam. I did make these gluten free which was easy to do. 1 1/4 cup brown rice flour 1 cup sorghum flour, 1/4 cup cornstarch, 1/2 cup potato starch, 1/2 cup tapioca starch, 1 1/2 TBS xanthan gum. Blend all of this together to make the all purpose flour and then follow the recipe. I suspect it comes out like the normal recipe. I can't keep my non-GF mom away.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
comidacreativa July 07, 2011

Very easy.. I used my Cuisinart to grate the dough..This made it so easy. I did it in small batches. So not to pack the dough..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lindahawkins May 29, 2010

Shortbread with tangy rhubarb, mmmmm....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare June 12, 2009

Very good recipe. It really is important to chill the dough and grate it in the pan it really does help develop the texture of the crust and topping. Since this makes a large pan I halved the recipe and baked it in an 8x8 pan for hubby and I. If you love shortbread you will love these bars. I also like to stir in a few tablespoons of strawberry jam to my rhubarb mixture to make a strawberry/rhubarb bar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zelda Mae June 01, 2008

This is a great recipe! I love the grated shortbread, and was surprised by how easy it ended up being. I used a combination of white, wheat, and soy flour. I made one batch with the rhubarb mixture, and another batch that I just added a cup of mixed berries to, and kept everything else the same...also very good. Though I might only do half a cup next time so the rhubarb flavor comes through a bit more. I will make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cowbells27 May 30, 2007

This was truly a great recipe loved it...easy to make and love the crust...will add more filling next time just because I love rhubarb...just loved it,this is a 10 in my book!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ilovelucy 1 July 03, 2006

Top ratings for this! I've had to pick my co-workers up off the floor from where they swooned in delight. This is as good as a baked-good gets! Followed the recipe exactly, except I didn't dust with sugar--the sweetness was perfectly balanced with the tartness of the rhubarb and I didn't want to throw it off. So, so good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PhillyUKGirl May 30, 2006

These were delicious! I prepared these recently for a Zaar get-together and they were probably the most popular item on the table. I will make these again. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarieRynr June 20, 2005

Great recipe. I didn't make this but I did a lot of taste testing and these were wonderful. Very fluffy, light and flavourful shortbread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sackville June 19, 2005
Rhubarb Shortbread