17 Reviews

Really outstanding, easy, and delicious. (I used about 4 cups of rhubarb because that's what I had, and it worked great.) Be sure to let it cool completely before cutting into bars; otherwise it slumps onto your plate. When cool it has the structural integrity of a regular cookie.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
christinabogar June 07, 2009

These are very good & easy to put together. I used rhubarb from our yard, and when the sauce cooked down it was still sort of greenish, so I added a few drops of red food coloring, and about a teaspoon of dried orange zest - which really gave the flavor a punch. These would be excellent served with some whipped cream or vanilla ice cream. Thanks for posting! -M =)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary Scheffert May 28, 2006

I followed the recipe as written and turned out wonderful. Easy to follow and tastes great. A keeper.Thanks for posting this recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shar-on July 25, 2004

My rhubarb plant is going gangbusters and I've been looking for new recipes to make with it - this one was a really good find. My notes I made on the recipe were that I used pecans for the nuts (I like their richness) and I didn?t add the vanilla to the crust (I forgot and it was still delicious), I cut down the sugar to 1 cup - we like our rhubarb to be lip smacking tangy. I think this will be a go-to rhubarb recipe for us as we are all really enjoying it. It's good with ice cream, but I like it plain - it's superb all by itself!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Time4tea4me2 June 06, 2014

I have only given this 3 stars because I've changed it considerably and haven't tasted it yet! <br/><br/>So I was looking for a recipe to use with the fresh rhubarb growing in my yard and came across this one. I read the reviews and decided to try it. I was looking for one that made enough to fill a 9 X 13 pan and I liked the idea of nuts in the crust. I'm also looking to convert my DH to a rhubarb fan. <br/>After reading the reviews I decided to incorporate a few of the changes suggested starting with substituting 1/2 the shortening with butter. I prepared the crust in my 7c. food processor beginning with chopping whole pecans. I then just added the rest of the crust ingredients and pulsed until it was crumbly. <br/>As is all too common when I began making the filling I veered off the recipe substantially. After cooking the 3 c. of rhubarb it didn't seem like enough filling so I decided to clean and slice the 1lb. of fresh strawberries I had on hand. I added them to the pot with the hot rhubarb mixture. I knew the strawberries would add a considerable amount of water so based on comments from other reviewers, I added a small package of sugar free strawberry gelatin and continued to let it boil while stirring for 1 minute to ensure the gelatin was completely dissolved. I then poured the mixture over the crust, added the rest of the crumble and baked 20 minutes. <br/><br/>It's cooling now and looks fantastic. I figure I'm going to need to let it cool completely to allow the gelatin to set before cutting. I'll come back and let you all know how it turns out.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
woodsy1020 May 03, 2014

These are really good. Sweet and tart at the same time. Make sure they cool or you will need to eat them with a fork.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denise G. May 25, 2013

Wonderful bars! Instead of shortening I used butter, I also replaced the water with cherry juice for the chopped nuts I used pecans. Fabulous and delicious! Thank you for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katie in the UP June 26, 2011

I liked almost everything about this recipe except for 2things: too sweet and had a funny kind of artificial taste from the shortening. If I did make it again, I would use less sugar and something more natural tasting than the shortening.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Queen in Quebec May 16, 2010

Was looking to use up some rhubarb from the freezer and came across this recipe. This was very nice and a different use for rhubarb than my usual.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deepfreeze March 05, 2010
Rhubarb Oatmeal Bars