Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Rhubarb Custard Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rhubarb Custard Pie

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on October 09, 2009

      Lovely, straightforward and easy recipe! I've never made any sort of custard pie before. I made a few adjustments: 1) I halved the recipe to make 1 pie. 2) I used Concord Grapes and Italian Plums for the fruit as that's what I had on hand. 3) I reduced the sugar a smidge since the fruit I used doesn't require as much sugar as rhubarb. I accidentally used too much butter but this didn't have any affect on the pie. I also dusted the top with a little cinnamon. For such a risk I was taking with this recipe it came out very good! Would work great with all kinds of fruit.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2010

      I made the pie with gluten free flour and it turned out really well. Gluten free pastry is awful to bake with and usually ends up being rock hard but this was fab!!it worked so well that i am making another 2 pies today.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2010

      Perfect! Very nice adaptable recipe. I can't have sugar, so I took out the butter and sugar, and used 1 and 1/3 cup brown rice syrup and 1/4 tsp baking soda instead. Very few recipes have turned out well with this substitution, but I didn't have to change to baking time or anything. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2008

      Easy and so good! Reminded me of my family's pie back home! This completely solved my summer craving for rhubarb custard pie! Thanks Nora! *Made for Bev Tag*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2007

      I was amazed by how this ends up after baking when all you do is dump everything in the pan. I had never made custard before. I liked it. I really like rhubarb, but I think if I make this again. I will just make the custard. I gave this 4 stars because the people I served it to who don't eat much rhubarb weren't crazy about it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2007

      Made this in advance and served it cold. Tasted OK but I didn't like that it was so thin. Maybe I used a too large pie plate.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2007

      Wow. Easy to make with a simple custard taste and the tartness from the rhubarb. Definitely a keeper. I do have to remind myself to let milk and eggs come to room temp before making a recipe like this. Pouring melted butter into cold milk and eggs just doesn't work well. Nevertheless, came out pretty well. Was all bubbly, bumpy and puffy when I finally decided to take it out of the oven, but upon cooling flattened out and looked just like CountryLady's picture, except my rhubarb wasn't so brightly colored. I did try to fit it all into my 10-inch pyrex pie plate, which didn't work. I will make it in two plates next time. There will be a next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2006

      My annual supply of fresh rhubarb came in a few dys ago & I made your pie. Using 3 cups of rhubarb, I baked it in a 10-in rd deep pyrex glass baking dish & had no prob w/any overfill ... except for my DH & I who have been overfilling greedily ever since. This really is a magic dessert ... fun to cook & so good to eat! We love it! Thx for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2006

      My 8 year old daughter and I made this over the weekend to use up some of our rhubarb. Thx to other reviewers, we used two pie plates as suggested. Great combination of tart and sweet that was enjoyed by the whole family!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2006

      So very delicious! My husband is trying to cut down on sugar, so I put in only 1/4 cup of real sugar and used 1/8 cup of Xylitol (our favorite sweetener). You can use Splenda or whatever, too. Came out great! We all just love this "magic pie"!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2005

      This is a super easy, delicious rhubarb 'pie'. I used 3 cups of rhubarb. The sweet custard and the tart rhubarb are a match made in heaven!! You really do need to use one large casserole dish or two large pie plates as suggested. Thanks Nora, this one is a winner!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2004

      This was super easy to make and had a great taste. My only complaint is that it needed much longer in the oven - at least 10 - 20 more minutes. I didn't realize that the center wasn't set until I cut it for serving. I ended up cooking it in the microwave to finish it off. So make sure you check the custard. You definitely need a LARGE dish! Mine overflowed a bit and I have a huge deep dish pie dish. My husband loved the pie. We finished it off in two days. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2004

      A delicious contrast of sweet & tart! I was glad I placed a baking tray under my pie plate as it was VERY full & spilled over. Next time, I'll used a shallow casserole dish. Thanx Nora!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2004

      I just finished sampling this delicious pie. I used fresh rhubarb from my garden and since my pie plate was not really large enough I made two additional custard dishes of this recipe. This is a keeper! Thanks for sharing this recipe with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rhubarb Custard Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (170 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 333.0
     
    Calories from Fat 144
    43%
    Total Fat 16.1 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 9.3 g
    46%
    Cholesterol 143.7 mg
    47%
    Sodium 144.6 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.7 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 32.0 g
    128%
    Protein 6.1 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes