14 Reviews

Lovely, straightforward and easy recipe! I've never made any sort of custard pie before. I made a few adjustments: 1) I halved the recipe to make 1 pie. 2) I used Concord Grapes and Italian Plums for the fruit as that's what I had on hand. 3) I reduced the sugar a smidge since the fruit I used doesn't require as much sugar as rhubarb. I accidentally used too much butter but this didn't have any affect on the pie. I also dusted the top with a little cinnamon. For such a risk I was taking with this recipe it came out very good! Would work great with all kinds of fruit.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Suzy_Q October 09, 2009

I made the pie with gluten free flour and it turned out really well. Gluten free pastry is awful to bake with and usually ends up being rock hard but this was fab!!it worked so well that i am making another 2 pies today.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
supertellp June 06, 2010

Perfect! Very nice adaptable recipe. I can't have sugar, so I took out the butter and sugar, and used 1 and 1/3 cup brown rice syrup and 1/4 tsp baking soda instead. Very few recipes have turned out well with this substitution, but I didn't have to change to baking time or anything. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Emmie Gruchow January 13, 2010

Easy and so good! Reminded me of my family's pie back home! This completely solved my summer craving for rhubarb custard pie! Thanks Nora! *Made for Bev Tag*

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama's Kitchen (Hope) September 04, 2008

I was amazed by how this ends up after baking when all you do is dump everything in the pan. I had never made custard before. I liked it. I really like rhubarb, but I think if I make this again. I will just make the custard. I gave this 4 stars because the people I served it to who don't eat much rhubarb weren't crazy about it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jennifer Bennifer December 22, 2007

Made this in advance and served it cold. Tasted OK but I didn't like that it was so thin. Maybe I used a too large pie plate.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tophondo July 10, 2007

Wow. Easy to make with a simple custard taste and the tartness from the rhubarb. Definitely a keeper. I do have to remind myself to let milk and eggs come to room temp before making a recipe like this. Pouring melted butter into cold milk and eggs just doesn't work well. Nevertheless, came out pretty well. Was all bubbly, bumpy and puffy when I finally decided to take it out of the oven, but upon cooling flattened out and looked just like CountryLady's picture, except my rhubarb wasn't so brightly colored. I did try to fit it all into my 10-inch pyrex pie plate, which didn't work. I will make it in two plates next time. There will be a next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MathMom.calif May 17, 2007

My annual supply of fresh rhubarb came in a few dys ago & I made your pie. Using 3 cups of rhubarb, I baked it in a 10-in rd deep pyrex glass baking dish & had no prob w/any overfill ... except for my DH & I who have been overfilling greedily ever since. This really is a magic dessert ... fun to cook & so good to eat! We love it! Thx for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twissis July 29, 2006

My 8 year old daughter and I made this over the weekend to use up some of our rhubarb. Thx to other reviewers, we used two pie plates as suggested. Great combination of tart and sweet that was enjoyed by the whole family!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrsrexy June 12, 2006

So very delicious! My husband is trying to cut down on sugar, so I put in only 1/4 cup of real sugar and used 1/8 cup of Xylitol (our favorite sweetener). You can use Splenda or whatever, too. Came out great! We all just love this "magic pie"!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JorKar May 01, 2006
Rhubarb Custard Pie