Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Rhubarb Custard Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rhubarb Custard Cake

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on March 28, 2010

      Best Ever!! A suggestiong...pour the sugar evenly on top after adding the rhubarb and whipping cream. Don't skimp out on the cream. It tastes best with the whipping cream, not half-n-half.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2006

      The cake was still warm when I tried it, and I thought it was only OK. I refrigerated the leftovers in a sealed container and tried it again the next day....wow, tastes so much better refrigerated...was moist and flavourful. The cake had wonderful texture and the flavour of the rhubarb was more noticeable.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2010

      Fabulous! We loved this easy recipe. We used a gluten-free yellow cake mix, and it worked just fine. Because of a dairy intolerance, we replaced the whipping cream with 2 cups of coconut milk, and that worked absolutely perfectly. We're going to try this same basic recipe with peaches instead of rhubarb -- probably cutting down on the sugar in that instance -- and see if that works.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      This is the best and easiest rhubarb cake recipe I have ever used. The cream really mellows the tartness of the rhubarb, but you still get a nice strong flavor. I would agree that this cake is even better the next day. It gets nice and moist as it sits in the fridge overnight, and the flavors seem to develop more. This will be my go-to recipe for rhubarb from now on.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2007

      Awesome! I made this last night and brought it to work - everyone loved it! Don't pay attention to review about cinnamon making it look bad, that's not true. I actually mixed my cinnamon right with the sugar/rhubarb mixture and it gave a beatiful golden brown color. A+++++

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2005

      Since I had no luck finding rhubarb in any form (I went to 3 stores!!) I "resorted" to fresh raspberries and blackberries. Well it turned out to be DELICIOUS! I used only 1 cup sugar since the berries are not nearly as tart as rhubarb. I also used half & half instead of cream. Also, I prefer the flavor of organic cake mixes better than something like betty crocker because they use cane sugar and better overall ingredients. I served this at a family gathering and everyone thought it was cobbler like. They loved it! I will definitely make it again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2005

      This is a spectacular way to use rhubarb! My DH and I adore the combination of rhubarb and custard so this was perfect. The tart of the fruit plays wonderfully off the surprisingly creaminess of the custard and comforting moistness of the yellow cake. I did sprinkle the top with the cinnamon, while I greatly enjoyed the flavor, the appearance did not appear appetizing (I OBVIOUSLY got over that!). Another great plus to this cake is that a 12 year old would have no problem preparing it and it looks like someone should have fussed a great deal. This is now a regular at out house.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2004

      WONDERFUL!! Need I say more? This cake turn out great! I have so much rhubarb that if I have to see another stalk I will be sick! This will be a good recipe for the winter months as well, so now I can freeze my crop. I did find a similair recipe on the net and the cooking time was wrong, this cooking time is right on the button. Thanks for shaing a wonderful recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2003

      Delicious!! I used fresh rhubarb & it turned out great. Everyone in my family loves it & I'll definitely make this again. It was super easy..I think it would be great to make for last-minute company. One could whip it up & pop it in the oven while a meal was cooking.. it would be ready shortly after the meal was finished. Mmmm!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2002

      We made this cake this week and loved it! I shared 1/2 the pan with our friends and they gave it an A+ too. I'm looking forward to making it again soon.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2012

      I cobbled together several recipes in December and added my own touches. It was sweeter the next day but I want to try it like in the one photo with the pretty violas only half as much cake; another time would use yellow cake mix. I followed the basic recipe but used a white cake mix, used one whole egg and had 4 whites to use up so I beat them separately and folded them in. Then I used some yellow custard powder, 2 tablespoons, and it gave it a pretty color but a little thick. Also I served it with whipped cream and flipped it when serving so most of the fruit would be at the top (it won't flip like an upsidedown cake). I'm curious how it makes custard with the 2 cups of whipping cream which I did use. I've been turning my oven to 300F and baking cakes longer so they won't get humped. This one I sprinkled with superfine sugar after it was done but should have sprinkled more evenly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2009

      I followed the directions as written. I was watching the cake and noticed with about 7 min left it was . nice and high and lookede done. Since no one mentioned anything about the timeing or the temp I decided to let it go the rest of the 7 min. It sunk down and was not light and fluffy looking. Looks over baked. I have to let it cool yet to test flavor. will let you know. It tasted ok but over baked. I will have to watch the time or maybe my oven runs hot. I used a glass 9x13 pan I could turn down the temp too. I will just remember to watch it for doneness before the 1 hour is up. Otherwise great recipe. Also noticed the box mis I used suggested temp at 325.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2009

      It is the best!! Always get asked for the recipe when I serve this cake. One of my very favorites.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2009

      Awsome! I make this every year when my rhubarb comes up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2005

      I made this recipe exactly as posted and it was WONDERFUL! I was pleasantly surprised, too, as to how well it kept in the refrigerator overnight; delicious the next day, too! Thanks for the keeper!!! BeanieJ

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2005

      I made this at the last minute for a holiday cookout. It was terribly easy and the results were fantastic. DH said definitely all five stars. NOTE: I accidentally grabbed a white cake mix (french vanilla) so if I manage to load the pictures that I took, my cake will be lighter than what the recipe should be. The white cake tasted great but a yellow one would make the custard stand out better I'm sure. Next time I might try using half-and-half like seven did and see if it takes anything away from the end product. Thank you LDJ for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2005

      Made this last night and it's over half gone already! My neighbor said it's the best rhubarb dish he's ever eaten. I didn't have heavy cream, and used half-and-half, and the cake was still wonderful. I can't wait to see what it's like with the heavy cream!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rhubarb Custard Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (197 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 516.2
     
    Calories from Fat 243
    47%
    Total Fat 27.0 g
    41%
    Saturated Fat 11.0 g
    55%
    Cholesterol 101.7 mg
    33%
    Sodium 319.3 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 65.9 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 48.3 g
    193%
    Protein 4.6 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes