17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Best Ever!! A suggestiong...pour the sugar evenly on top after adding the rhubarb and whipping cream. Don't skimp out on the cream. It tastes best with the whipping cream, not half-n-half.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lizmae83 March 28, 2010

The cake was still warm when I tried it, and I thought it was only OK. I refrigerated the leftovers in a sealed container and tried it again the next day....wow, tastes so much better refrigerated...was moist and flavourful. The cake had wonderful texture and the flavour of the rhubarb was more noticeable.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
skunk galloway May 15, 2006

Fabulous! We loved this easy recipe. We used a gluten-free yellow cake mix, and it worked just fine. Because of a dairy intolerance, we replaced the whipping cream with 2 cups of coconut milk, and that worked absolutely perfectly. We're going to try this same basic recipe with peaches instead of rhubarb -- probably cutting down on the sugar in that instance -- and see if that works.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kamark May 04, 2010

This is the best and easiest rhubarb cake recipe I have ever used. The cream really mellows the tartness of the rhubarb, but you still get a nice strong flavor. I would agree that this cake is even better the next day. It gets nice and moist as it sits in the fridge overnight, and the flavors seem to develop more. This will be my go-to recipe for rhubarb from now on.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
April Joy September 21, 2009

Awesome! I made this last night and brought it to work - everyone loved it! Don't pay attention to review about cinnamon making it look bad, that's not true. I actually mixed my cinnamon right with the sugar/rhubarb mixture and it gave a beatiful golden brown color. A+++++

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ehleighen May 11, 2007

Since I had no luck finding rhubarb in any form (I went to 3 stores!!) I "resorted" to fresh raspberries and blackberries. Well it turned out to be DELICIOUS! I used only 1 cup sugar since the berries are not nearly as tart as rhubarb. I also used half & half instead of cream. Also, I prefer the flavor of organic cake mixes better than something like betty crocker because they use cane sugar and better overall ingredients. I served this at a family gathering and everyone thought it was cobbler like. They loved it! I will definitely make it again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Natalia 3 September 27, 2005

This is a spectacular way to use rhubarb! My DH and I adore the combination of rhubarb and custard so this was perfect. The tart of the fruit plays wonderfully off the surprisingly creaminess of the custard and comforting moistness of the yellow cake. I did sprinkle the top with the cinnamon, while I greatly enjoyed the flavor, the appearance did not appear appetizing (I OBVIOUSLY got over that!). Another great plus to this cake is that a 12 year old would have no problem preparing it and it looks like someone should have fussed a great deal. This is now a regular at out house.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle S. May 27, 2005

WONDERFUL!! Need I say more? This cake turn out great! I have so much rhubarb that if I have to see another stalk I will be sick! This will be a good recipe for the winter months as well, so now I can freeze my crop. I did find a similair recipe on the net and the cooking time was wrong, this cooking time is right on the button. Thanks for shaing a wonderful recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunshine May 23, 2004

Delicious!! I used fresh rhubarb & it turned out great. Everyone in my family loves it & I'll definitely make this again. It was super easy..I think it would be great to make for last-minute company. One could whip it up & pop it in the oven while a meal was cooking.. it would be ready shortly after the meal was finished. Mmmm!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KristinB August 01, 2003

We made this cake this week and loved it! I shared 1/2 the pan with our friends and they gave it an A+ too. I'm looking forward to making it again soon.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DDW November 09, 2002
Rhubarb Custard Cake