Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Rhubarb Crunch Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rhubarb Crunch

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on June 20, 2002

      Delicious! I gave this one five stars because it was soooo easy and soooo good. Just a note though--when cooking the sause, it did not thicken in the pot, however, it did thicken while baking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2002

      I was looking, last minute, for a goor rhubarb crunch recipe. My first experience with rhubarb was a crunch that my mother-in-law made, and I loved it! This one is almost EXACTLY like that one, I was so happy! It also went like lightening at my dinner party. Everyone loved it. 2 thumbs up and thanks for sharing!! P.S., it's GREAT with vanilla ice cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2002

      Oh my goodness!!!! This is soooo gooood. Most crisps don't have enough stuff and some crumbles can be soggy. This recipe has all the good stuff from both dishes and a caramel taste to boot! I halfed the recipe and now I have to make a full batch; half is barely going to make it 24hs. 5 stars for this one and a bonus jelly bean from me. JellyBean

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2007

      This was EXCELLENT! I was short about a cup of rhubarb so I mixed in some strawberries. OH heaven! My MIL who isn't big on sweets had to go back for 2nds. Then wanted to keep a portion for later! MMMMMM!!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2003

      very good, I added stawberry extract instead of the vanilla. I loved this recipe because of all the crisp. That is what makes it soooooo good. Thank-you for the great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2003

      This is honestly the best fruit crisp of any kind I have had. Made this one with a combination of Rhubarb, Apples and strawberrys. Awesome recipe, thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2003

      Outstanding rhubarb recipe! I increased it to 12 servings and baked it in a 9x13-inch pan. It was very full, almost too full. I increased the baking time at 325° to 60 minutes for the larger batch. I took a dish full to my 21-year old daughter and she said "why did you bring me that? I don't like rhubarb". Later she called me and said "that rhubarb stuff was yummy. It doesn't even taste like rhubarb!" I'll be making this one again for sure. In fact, I already cut up, measured and froze the rhubarb in a ziploc bag for another batch. Thanks for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2010

      This is wonderful! The crust is crispy and chewy and it is just the right amount of sweet/tart. Thank you for a wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2009

      This is a superb recipe. I cut down the white sugar to a cup and it was perfect. I will use this recipe often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2009

      Wonderful dessert. Beautiful texture. Do grease the pan well. I have to admit I will be looking at rhubarbs with loving eyes from now on because of this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2008

      YUM! We loved this! Made for my daughter's friend who is the "Rhubarb Man." He and my DH both gobbled up generous servings, then went in for seconds. This is pretty sweet (which we love) - if you like more tart rhubarb I would recommend cutting down the sugar a bit. My sauce did not thicken very much on the stove top, but it did in the oven and it worked out fine. Easy recipe, really good. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2008

      Delicious!! I took this to a family bbq & served with ice-cream - it was LOVED by everyone - even the "rhubarb haters"!! I followed the recipe except that I left out the food colouring. This dessert almost tastes like an oatmeal cookie with a fruity topping. My only suggestion is to GREASE THE PAN REALLY WELL. I greased the pan but still had a terrible time getting the squares out to serve.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2008

      Delicious and turned out well. I skipped the food coloring, and thought the color was fine. I cooked the sauce only until the sugar had completely dissolved, and that worked out fine, too. Next time, I would cut back a bit on sugar in the rhubarb mixture, as I like the tartness of rhubarb. I also made the mistake of covering when steaming hot, so texture lost its crunchiness. Was still great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2008

      This is the best crunch I've tasted and my son is asking, no, demanding another dish to be made. It was scrumptious! I never made any changes....... Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2007

      I also used some strawberries but otherwise followed it exactly. My kids were less than impressed, having never had rhubarb before, but it brought back great memories and tastes of childhood. I would like to know the best way to halve or third the recipe, though-I really can't eat the whole thing before it gets bad!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2007

      This is a great dessert that is easy and quick to make. I also use the same method of crunch but with apple filling which I just add a little sugar to sweeten the apples. Guests always rave about this dessert. The bottom and top "crumble/crunch" is delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2005

      My husband decided to give this one a try and followed the recipe except used orange juice instead of water and didn't use the red colouring. It was a winner, will be getting him!! to make this one again. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2005

      Delicious and really easy to make. Never though of putting colouring in such a recipe before but it really looked, and tasted, great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2004

      Delicious ! Surprised my in-laws with this recipe which I made with rhubarb from their garden. We all loved it !!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2004

      This recipe is wonderful! It was pretty easy to make. I made it exactly as directed. I worried about the cornstarch mix not getting thick enough, but it worked out great. I brought it to work and it was a big hit! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Dessert Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rhubarb Crunch

    Serving Size: 1 (259 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 693.4
     
    Calories from Fat 217
    31%
    Total Fat 24.1 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 14.7 g
    73%
    Cholesterol 61.0 mg
    20%
    Sodium 257.6 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 116.3 g
    38%
    Dietary Fiber 3.6 g
    14%
    Sugars 78.4 g
    313%
    Protein 5.9 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes