76 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

YUM!!! This is definitely a keeper!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sconehead May 01, 2010

Great with ice cream!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PotziNPanz August 20, 2009

Best rhubarb recipe yet ! I have 5 rhubarb plants and so far my favorite way to use it is in strawberry rhubarb pie. But after trying this recipe I think there will be less pies in the freezer. I don't think this will be something to mske ahead & freeze but I think using frozen rhubarb in this wouldn't matter. I did use about 6 cups of rhubarb just because I like lots of fruit in my pies/cobblers. Great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janie Cooper July 23, 2009

"Delicious!", to quote another reviewer. This was not as sweet as I was expecting based on other reviews, but the fault may be in my rhubarb. For me though, this was a good thing. I often forgo any sort of sweet topping on similar desserts because the sweetness is too much for me. This particular crumble's tartness is a great pairing for ice, whip & sweetened creams, much to my delight! Another reviewer also mentioned the fruit to crumble ratio and I concur - next time I will add more fruit. This was my first foray into the world of rhubarb and it was a success. Thanks for a terrific recipe Peggy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lottidawe July 14, 2009

Delicious! Baked in ungreased glass pan with no sticking. Will prebake "crust" next time to see if I can get more crunch. Will add 1/2 cup more rhubarb next time for higher fruit to crunch ratio. Crumb mix is soooooo good - though should be able to cut brown sugar by 1/8 cup without sacrificing taste. Can't wait to try it with other fillings. Used 1 tsp honey in place of 1/2 cup sugar in syrup, since a recent review stated it "Was plenty sweet enough without the added sugar." My new garden's rhubarb apparently needs some sweetening, sadly. Topped with 1/2 cup chopped almonds, sweetened flake cereal, and granola for last 10 minutes of baking to toast, adding more crunch and nutrition. Will add nuts to bottom layer as well next time. Overall a delightful treat. Heading back to the kitchen for some more nibbling, and I'm not even a nibbler.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FuzzyKiwi July 02, 2009

I made this dessert last night with a 8x8 glass, pam sprayed ,casserole dish.Othertwise I followed the recipe..Was plenty sweet enough without the added sugar .This was so good my DH and I ate half of it ourselves..I would highly recommend making this to anyone who likes rhubarb ..I will make this again.Thank U for this recipe..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Potluck June 29, 2009

Absolutely delicious! I made a double batch, following directions as listed except I doubled the white sugar. This was the best crunch topping I've ever had, so we will use the basic recipe with other fruits also! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chrisnkelley June 26, 2009

This is soooo good!! I'm making it again today!!! I have added a tsp of cinnamon to the crumb mixture.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kerrbear June 21, 2009

This is almost the same as my grandma's recipe except the sugar was doubled to 1 cup. YUM! The best! I usually prefer it with Cool Whip.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MinnMomof2 June 17, 2009

This recipe was very easy and very good. I would suggest doubling it as a 9"x9"" pan was just not big enough for our family of four!! We served it with ice cream hot out of the oven and it was great...not too sweet but also not sour..just right. We made it exactly as written and will make it again for sure!! Thanks for posting, Ed Paulhus!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mishkapett June 09, 2009
Rhubarb Crunch