Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Rhubarb Crunch Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rhubarb Crunch

    Average Rating:

    76 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 76

    Sort by:

    • on May 01, 2010

      YUM!!! This is definitely a keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2009

      Great with ice cream!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2009

      Best rhubarb recipe yet ! I have 5 rhubarb plants and so far my favorite way to use it is in strawberry rhubarb pie. But after trying this recipe I think there will be less pies in the freezer. I don't think this will be something to mske ahead & freeze but I think using frozen rhubarb in this wouldn't matter. I did use about 6 cups of rhubarb just because I like lots of fruit in my pies/cobblers. Great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2009

      "Delicious!", to quote another reviewer. This was not as sweet as I was expecting based on other reviews, but the fault may be in my rhubarb. For me though, this was a good thing. I often forgo any sort of sweet topping on similar desserts because the sweetness is too much for me. This particular crumble's tartness is a great pairing for ice, whip & sweetened creams, much to my delight! Another reviewer also mentioned the fruit to crumble ratio and I concur - next time I will add more fruit. This was my first foray into the world of rhubarb and it was a success. Thanks for a terrific recipe Peggy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2009

      Delicious! Baked in ungreased glass pan with no sticking. Will prebake "crust" next time to see if I can get more crunch. Will add 1/2 cup more rhubarb next time for higher fruit to crunch ratio. Crumb mix is soooooo good - though should be able to cut brown sugar by 1/8 cup without sacrificing taste. Can't wait to try it with other fillings. Used 1 tsp honey in place of 1/2 cup sugar in syrup, since a recent review stated it "Was plenty sweet enough without the added sugar." My new garden's rhubarb apparently needs some sweetening, sadly. Topped with 1/2 cup chopped almonds, sweetened flake cereal, and granola for last 10 minutes of baking to toast, adding more crunch and nutrition. Will add nuts to bottom layer as well next time. Overall a delightful treat. Heading back to the kitchen for some more nibbling, and I'm not even a nibbler.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2009

      I made this dessert last night with a 8x8 glass, pam sprayed ,casserole dish.Othertwise I followed the recipe..Was plenty sweet enough without the added sugar .This was so good my DH and I ate half of it ourselves..I would highly recommend making this to anyone who likes rhubarb ..I will make this again.Thank U for this recipe..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2009

      Absolutely delicious! I made a double batch, following directions as listed except I doubled the white sugar. This was the best crunch topping I've ever had, so we will use the basic recipe with other fruits also! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2009

      This is soooo good!! I'm making it again today!!! I have added a tsp of cinnamon to the crumb mixture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2009

      This is almost the same as my grandma's recipe except the sugar was doubled to 1 cup. YUM! The best! I usually prefer it with Cool Whip.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2009

      This recipe was very easy and very good. I would suggest doubling it as a 9"x9"" pan was just not big enough for our family of four!! We served it with ice cream hot out of the oven and it was great...not too sweet but also not sour..just right. We made it exactly as written and will make it again for sure!! Thanks for posting, Ed Paulhus!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2009

      Super duper!!! I will make this again! The guys at work mowed this down! I will have to make a double batch next time! Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2009

      Mmmmmm mmmmmm!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2009

    • on February 15, 2009

      I had a sweet tooth, and a bunch of frozen rhubarb, so I did a search and found this recipe. Turns out I was out of vanilla, so I subbed 1/2 t. of almond extract since I was afraid it might overpower. I was right. Even the reduced quantity is one of the major flavors. I'm sure it would be better with vanilla, or is there such a thing as strawberry extract?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2008

      Yum, yum yum! What a great way to use up some rhubarb I had hanging around in my freezer. I thought it was just sweet enough, especially since I was serving it with sweetened whipped cream and ice cream! This was great Ed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2008

      Excellent! Thank you for sharing! LA :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2008

      I love this! I did however find the sugar content way over the top so I substituted the sugar in the 'crunch' part with 1/4 cup sugar and again took it down to 1/4 cup sugar in the cornstarch mixture and added one apple to the rhubarb to add natural sweetness, it was perfect! A definite winter warmer!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2008

      interesting recipe - I had company and was chatting whilst I prepared this, unfortunatley I wasn't concentrating,so I ended up with all the sugar in the crunch and not in the rhubarb! As a result the crunch was too sweet and the rhubarb was sour. I will be more careful next time! I aslo didn't cook it quite long enough - so the rhubarb was a little crunchy!!! Cooks errors!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2008

      Super yummy! I would have liked a bit more rhubarb in it, so next time I may use 5 cups instead of 4. We ate it with vanilla ice cream, and it was just wonderful! Thank you, I will make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2008

      Really enjoyed the recipe. I even messed it up and put all of the flour mixture on the bottom of the pan! Still very delish! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rhubarb Crunch

    Serving Size: 1 (151 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 9

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 322.3
     
    Calories from Fat 97
    30%
    Total Fat 10.7 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 129.0 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 54.7 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    8%
    Sugars 35.5 g
    142%
    Protein 2.9 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites