76 Reviews

This is a wonderful springtime treat! I took the advice of a few others and pre-baked the crust 12 minutes to help it set up. I added about 6 strawberries to the fruit mix for added color and flavor. I baked it all for an additional 50 minutes. I'm not a big rhubarb fan, but I LOVE this!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DuChick May 02, 2010

I use this exact recipe, also making the sauce with 1 C. white sugar. Actually got the recipe from dear Edna Staeblers cookbook "Food That Really Shmecks". She's still going strong at 90+ years old and her cookbooks are like dear friends to me. You can use any combo of fruits. Last time I combined rhubarb and sour cherries. Frozen strawberries work well too. Highly recommended.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jan in Lanark February 26, 2004

This is a wonderful recipe!! I did increase the amount of white sugar to 1c. and I also made the sauce in the microwave (about 4 min. stiring frequently). Origanlly I found this recipe in a church cook book & now I found it here as well. Thank you so much for posting this recipe! It is definitely a keeper!:o)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shortstuff November 21, 2002

I have made this recipie twice. I doubled all the ingedients and baked in a 9x9 (8x8) pan. It was awesome. There's no way you could leave out the sauce mix - it's what makes the crunch moist. It was much thicker than a 9X12 pan. I also used 4 cups rhubarb!!! Five Star. thanks so much for sending this recipie - it is a favorite of all of us. reneh

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mapleleaf June 02, 2002

This is my family's favorite rhubarb recipe. My aunt always added one can of cherry pie filling to the rhubarb mixture and my family prefers it that way.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
calds October 02, 2010

Wow! This is fabulous. Like other reviewers, however, I cut the sugar in half to 1/4th cup and it still was plenty sweet. Great recipe, Ed!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mjdj529 June 23, 2010

Simple, delicious recipe made on request from friends. I added a bit more cinnamon to counteract the sugar and cooked it for an additional 15 minutes. (Cinnamon is really good if you have a somewhat high glucose level.) The crumb topping is wonderful with vanilla bean ice cream on top. My guests were delighted as was my hubby and I. Thanks for a really good crunch Ed, which I'll be making again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Judikins May 27, 2010

I agree with out reviewers about pre-baking the crust. Mine was both too thick and too mushy. Overall too delicious to care about the texture but it would have been fabulous had the crust been more solid and less mushy. Thank you for sharing, will definitely make this again. Serve with ice cream. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iovinos April 30, 2010

I'm so glad I found this recipe still here! Made this a few summers back and was thrilled. I'm more used to having strawberries with my rhubarb so I did a 50/50 and the results were delish! (and a pretty color naturally) and plenty sweet....no need for more sugar at all- felt guilty enough for having something so sugary sweet as it was! The crunch was just right, wonderful recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
red_baron January 19, 2010

I made this for a 9 X 13 pan by multiplying the ingredients by 1.5. This is a great recipe and I will definitely make it again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Delighted August 30, 2009
Rhubarb Crunch