Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Rhubarb Crunch Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rhubarb Crunch

    Average Rating:

    76 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 76

    Sort by:

    • on May 02, 2010

      This is a wonderful springtime treat! I took the advice of a few others and pre-baked the crust 12 minutes to help it set up. I added about 6 strawberries to the fruit mix for added color and flavor. I baked it all for an additional 50 minutes. I'm not a big rhubarb fan, but I LOVE this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2004

      I use this exact recipe, also making the sauce with 1 C. white sugar. Actually got the recipe from dear Edna Staeblers cookbook "Food That Really Shmecks". She's still going strong at 90+ years old and her cookbooks are like dear friends to me. You can use any combo of fruits. Last time I combined rhubarb and sour cherries. Frozen strawberries work well too. Highly recommended.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2002

      This is a wonderful recipe!! I did increase the amount of white sugar to 1c. and I also made the sauce in the microwave (about 4 min. stiring frequently). Origanlly I found this recipe in a church cook book & now I found it here as well. Thank you so much for posting this recipe! It is definitely a keeper!:o)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2002

      I have made this recipie twice. I doubled all the ingedients and baked in a 9x9 (8x8) pan. It was awesome. There's no way you could leave out the sauce mix - it's what makes the crunch moist. It was much thicker than a 9X12 pan. I also used 4 cups rhubarb!!! Five Star. thanks so much for sending this recipie - it is a favorite of all of us. reneh

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2010

      This is my family's favorite rhubarb recipe. My aunt always added one can of cherry pie filling to the rhubarb mixture and my family prefers it that way.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2010

      Wow! This is fabulous. Like other reviewers, however, I cut the sugar in half to 1/4th cup and it still was plenty sweet. Great recipe, Ed!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2010

      Simple, delicious recipe made on request from friends. I added a bit more cinnamon to counteract the sugar and cooked it for an additional 15 minutes. (Cinnamon is really good if you have a somewhat high glucose level.) The crumb topping is wonderful with vanilla bean ice cream on top. My guests were delighted as was my hubby and I. Thanks for a really good crunch Ed, which I'll be making again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2010

      I agree with out reviewers about pre-baking the crust. Mine was both too thick and too mushy. Overall too delicious to care about the texture but it would have been fabulous had the crust been more solid and less mushy. Thank you for sharing, will definitely make this again. Serve with ice cream. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2010

      I'm so glad I found this recipe still here! Made this a few summers back and was thrilled. I'm more used to having strawberries with my rhubarb so I did a 50/50 and the results were delish! (and a pretty color naturally) and plenty sweet....no need for more sugar at all- felt guilty enough for having something so sugary sweet as it was! The crunch was just right, wonderful recipe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2009

      I made this for a 9 X 13 pan by multiplying the ingredients by 1.5. This is a great recipe and I will definitely make it again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2014

      This was good, my bottom crust got really hard, dont know what i did. I did prebake it according to another post. I only used 1/2 cup sugar and that was plenty, definitely wouldnt of wanted it sweeter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2013

      Really nice flavour & fairly easy to make! I just found the crust & topping to be more chewy than crunchy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2012

      I am rating this recipe based on rave reviews by my friend, Barb. She sent me her recipe and I was going to post it here but this one is so similar, that it will save me the time! Her recipe calls for 1/2 cup oatmeal, butter instead of margarine, and more white sugar. I like the idea of less sugar though. She also suggests that strawberries and peaches are good to mix in or substitute.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2012

      This is the 2nd time I have made this recipe. First time made it according to directions...it was good!! 2nd time...got creative...doubled the recipe using 4 cups rhubarb and 4 cups blackberries. Good...maybe great :) I love this recipe....It's easy, it's adaptable and dog gone good to eat! Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2012

      Really good! Used about 1/2 cup more rhubarb cause that's what I had. Everyone enjoyed it with vanilla ice cream. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2012

      Simple to make....delicious to eat!! I added 1/4 tsp nutmeg to the crust. Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2012

      Excellent! Followed DuChick recommendations.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2010

      This is delicious. I used half the recipe to do the crunch but used only 1/4 cup brown sugar. I also used only 1 cup rhubarb since that was all I had. Make a good serving for the two of us. The recipe has the right balance between sweetness and tartness. Will definitely make again thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2010

      easy and good. served with whipped cream or/and vanilla icecream in july 10 for DH and BF. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2010

      Would give it more stars if I could!! We loved this rhubarb dessert, recipe was easy to follow with simple ingredients that I always have on hand. Used some splenda in place of sugar and it set-up just perfectly. Sooo gooood!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rhubarb Crunch

    Serving Size: 1 (151 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 9

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 322.3
     
    Calories from Fat 97
    30%
    Total Fat 10.7 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 129.0 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 54.7 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    8%
    Sugars 35.5 g
    142%
    Protein 2.9 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites