84 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I am now asked to bring this to every summer gathering! It is wonderful! Thank you so much for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cinnamon1025 July 12, 2011

I have made several rhubarb recipes for my husband and he told me this was the best he has ever had! It was easy to make and tasted wonderful. Even my picky kids liked it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nurse_Kris June 30, 2010

i made it with splenda and brown sugar splenda -- my DW who hates rhubarb ate three pieces of it -- thanks for sharing -- i will definitely be making this again

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Inspiritual June 01, 2010

It was really the best like I used to make. I did add double the rhubarb cause that's what I had, cut down to 3/4 c white sugar, 1/2c brown sugar and 1/3 c melted butter. I don't like it too sweet. Served with vanilla ice cream. This is a keeper; thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sage May 27, 2015

So, so, so, so good! I have lots of rhubarb and my neighbors bring me more rhubarb because their wives won't bake rhubarb desserts for them. It is so delicious and so easy to make. When my husband has potluck at work, this is the dessert his boss requests. I make two double batches for the potluck and both big pans come back empty. I follow the recipe exactly and everyone LOVES it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GrandmaBarbie May 22, 2015

This was super easy! My eight year old made a half batch. She forgot to halve the butter and oats and sprinkled sugar on top. It tasted absolutely delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie Douglass July 30, 2014

This was a great and simple recipe. Put it together in less than 5 minutes. It seems other reviewers don't understand the concept of opinion vs. judgment - don't give a low rating based on the limitations of your personal taste, and also don't seem to bake very often - as in noticing the ratio of any two ingredients being too high or too low for said personal taste. <br/>At any rate, great recipe, easy to follow instructions. This will be my go-to for probably more than rhubarb crisp.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jessica F. July 01, 2014

I'm sorry to say this but I'm really surprised at the amount of 5 stars given to this recipe. The 4 cups of rhubarb only filled the 8x8 pan 1/4 of the way up the side in it's raw state. Once cooked there would have been maybe 1/2 an inch of filling. I went and cut 4 more stalks which gave me close to 7 cups and raised the rhubarb level to about 2/3 up the side of the pan and, of course, I need to increase the other ingredients that went into the filling. Also not mentioned in the recipe is a sitting time (30 mins for me) to allow the sugar (I used a sugar - Splenda mix -1/4 sugar to 3/4 Splenda) to draw out the juice. That's important because it keeps the filling from being dry and the thickened juice is an excellent part of a crisp. There is also way to much sugar in the topping for us so I used 1/4 cup Splenda Brown and 1/4 cup Splenda. I use Splenda because I'm diabetic but it measures and sweetens exactly like sugar and I would use the same changes if I were using sugar. With more rhubarb and less sweetner this make a dessert that we well enjoyed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia June 04, 2014

Super recipe but sugar seemed a bit much. So we halved the sugar(1/2 cup each)in both the mixture and topping and added extra cinnamon(1 tablespoon). Delicious and more healthy. Win-win.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K M. June 01, 2014

This was the first time I used rhubarb in a recipe, so I wasn't sure what to expect -- and it turned out great! The only change I made was to add cinnamon to both the filling and the topping, and I cut the rhubarb a little smaller than called for. My family really loved this dish. Thank you for sharing it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
valentine0202 May 27, 2014
Rhubarb Crisp