82 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I was really excited to try this based on all the other reviews. I made it exactly as written, no substitutions.

As I was making it, it seemed like there was way too much topping in proportion to the filling, and I couldn't believe it called for an entire cup of brown sugar in the topping. I should have gone with my gut and could have eliminated about half of the brown sugar in the topping. It was very sweet - too sweet for my taste.

I see now that others doubled the rhubarb and reduced the sugar, but still rated this recipe as 5 stars. Seems like false advertising to me!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AnneWisconsin May 30, 2011

WOW! This is the way my Grandma & Mom made it! I added a little cinnamon and some chopped pecans to the topping. I also doubled the recipe for a 9x13 pan; MAKE SURE TO USE GLASS - NEVER METAL WITH RHUBARAB! If you add a scant spoonful of sugar just barely sprinkled over the top of the topping, it adds to the browning and gives just a tiny bit of sweetness to the first taste that your mouth enjoys! This topping is equally suited to be the topping for a Dutch Apple Pie - mmm, mmm, good! (Sorry, no picture this time as my family ate this before I got the camera out!)

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama Mary Sue May 17, 2010

I doubled the rhubarb and reduced the white sugar to 3/4c and it turned out to be the perfect proportions - sweet and tangy. I I also subbed the flour for Bob's Gluten Free Flour mix for a GF guest. t got rave reviews at the party I took it to.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stacylu May 18, 2012

Really good. I followed others advice and doubled the rhubarb but not the topping, also reduced the sugars by a third. This is a great recipe that allows tweaks for those that want more tartness or more sweetness in their crisp.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ty's Kitchen June 06, 2010

oh yum yum..made exactly as given..it was excellent..and easy too UPDATE......May 27th 2010 I can't tell you how many times I have made this since I posted my 1st review almost 4 yrs to the day... it is always my 1st choice... and i now know the recipe by heart...but still come for a quick look see to make sure... made it again yesterday I bet i have made this at least 35 to 40 times since my 1st review..

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gruntlady May 27, 2010

I reduced the sugar as advised in many reviews ... and ended up adding a teaspoon of sugar to my bowl! For sweet-lovers like me, the recipe is perfect as written.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
midwest867 September 06, 2013

Made recipe exactly as written, and was very pleased with the results. We love the topping, and didn't think that there was too much of it. Thank you for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
theblithebee_8578679 September 03, 2013

I made this tonight and it was really good! I baked it longer because I used twice as much filling to make it juice.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jmahr2 August 20, 2013

As other reviewers suggested, I cut the sugar down (3/4 c each). I also added some extra rhubarb and added about a cup of strawberries. I would say it is still a bit too sweet, but quite tasty. The topping overcooked slightly, so I think next time I will reduce the heat to 350.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Red Jenny May 12, 2013

I posted a review, but apparently it didn't go through!
Anyways, this recipe is perfect! My whole family enjoys it and I already have requests from friends to make them this crisp. I will always use this topping for all future crisps! It is the topping I have always been looking for, the only thing I did different was add an extra handful of oats!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Karma Cook July 21, 2011
Rhubarb Crisp