Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Rhubarb Crisp Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rhubarb Crisp

    Average Rating:

    82 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 82

    Sort by:

    • on May 30, 2011

      I was really excited to try this based on all the other reviews. I made it exactly as written, no substitutions.

      As I was making it, it seemed like there was way too much topping in proportion to the filling, and I couldn't believe it called for an entire cup of brown sugar in the topping. I should have gone with my gut and could have eliminated about half of the brown sugar in the topping. It was very sweet - too sweet for my taste.

      I see now that others doubled the rhubarb and reduced the sugar, but still rated this recipe as 5 stars. Seems like false advertising to me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2010

      WOW! This is the way my Grandma & Mom made it! I added a little cinnamon and some chopped pecans to the topping. I also doubled the recipe for a 9x13 pan; MAKE SURE TO USE GLASS - NEVER METAL WITH RHUBARAB! If you add a scant spoonful of sugar just barely sprinkled over the top of the topping, it adds to the browning and gives just a tiny bit of sweetness to the first taste that your mouth enjoys! This topping is equally suited to be the topping for a Dutch Apple Pie - mmm, mmm, good! (Sorry, no picture this time as my family ate this before I got the camera out!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2012

      I doubled the rhubarb and reduced the white sugar to 3/4c and it turned out to be the perfect proportions - sweet and tangy. I I also subbed the flour for Bob's Gluten Free Flour mix for a GF guest. t got rave reviews at the party I took it to.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2010

      Really good. I followed others advice and doubled the rhubarb but not the topping, also reduced the sugars by a third. This is a great recipe that allows tweaks for those that want more tartness or more sweetness in their crisp.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2010

      oh yum yum..made exactly as given..it was excellent..and easy too UPDATE......May 27th 2010 I can't tell you how many times I have made this since I posted my 1st review almost 4 yrs to the day... it is always my 1st choice... and i now know the recipe by heart...but still come for a quick look see to make sure... made it again yesterday I bet i have made this at least 35 to 40 times since my 1st review..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2013

      I reduced the sugar as advised in many reviews ... and ended up adding a teaspoon of sugar to my bowl! For sweet-lovers like me, the recipe is perfect as written.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2013

      Made recipe exactly as written, and was very pleased with the results. We love the topping, and didn't think that there was too much of it. Thank you for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2013

      I made this tonight and it was really good! I baked it longer because I used twice as much filling to make it juice.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2013

      As other reviewers suggested, I cut the sugar down (3/4 c each). I also added some extra rhubarb and added about a cup of strawberries. I would say it is still a bit too sweet, but quite tasty. The topping overcooked slightly, so I think next time I will reduce the heat to 350.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2011

      I posted a review, but apparently it didn't go through!
      Anyways, this recipe is perfect! My whole family enjoys it and I already have requests from friends to make them this crisp. I will always use this topping for all future crisps! It is the topping I have always been looking for, the only thing I did different was add an extra handful of oats!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2011

      I am now asked to bring this to every summer gathering! It is wonderful! Thank you so much for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2010

      I have made several rhubarb recipes for my husband and he told me this was the best he has ever had! It was easy to make and tasted wonderful. Even my picky kids liked it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2010

      i made it with splenda and brown sugar splenda -- my DW who hates rhubarb ate three pieces of it -- thanks for sharing -- i will definitely be making this again

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2014

      This was super easy! My eight year old made a half batch. She forgot to halve the butter and oats and sprinkled sugar on top. It tasted absolutely delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2014

      This was a great and simple recipe. Put it together in less than 5 minutes. It seems other reviewers don't understand the concept of opinion vs. judgment - don't give a low rating based on the limitations of your personal taste, and also don't seem to bake very often - as in noticing the ratio of any two ingredients being too high or too low for said personal taste. <br/>At any rate, great recipe, easy to follow instructions. This will be my go-to for probably more than rhubarb crisp.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2014

      I'm sorry to say this but I'm really surprised at the amount of 5 stars given to this recipe. The 4 cups of rhubarb only filled the 8x8 pan 1/4 of the way up the side in it's raw state. Once cooked there would have been maybe 1/2 an inch of filling. I went and cut 4 more stalks which gave me close to 7 cups and raised the rhubarb level to about 2/3 up the side of the pan and, of course, I need to increase the other ingredients that went into the filling. Also not mentioned in the recipe is a sitting time (30 mins for me) to allow the sugar (I used a sugar - Splenda mix -1/4 sugar to 3/4 Splenda) to draw out the juice. That's important because it keeps the filling from being dry and the thickened juice is an excellent part of a crisp. There is also way to much sugar in the topping for us so I used 1/4 cup Splenda Brown and 1/4 cup Splenda. I use Splenda because I'm diabetic but it measures and sweetens exactly like sugar and I would use the same changes if I were using sugar. With more rhubarb and less sweetner this make a dessert that we well enjoyed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2014

      Super recipe but sugar seemed a bit much. So we halved the sugar(1/2 cup each)in both the mixture and topping and added extra cinnamon(1 tablespoon). Delicious and more healthy. Win-win.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2014

      This was the first time I used rhubarb in a recipe, so I wasn't sure what to expect -- and it turned out great! The only change I made was to add cinnamon to both the filling and the topping, and I cut the rhubarb a little smaller than called for. My family really loved this dish. Thank you for sharing it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2014

      Awesome recipe. Super easy. I doubled it and everyone loved it....no leftovers for this girl! Give this one a try...you will be pleased.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2013

      I also reduced the sugar by about half (before having read the reviews) but kept the topping portions as per the recipe. The tart fruit was perfectly complemented by the oatmeal cookie like topping. VERY easy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rhubarb Crisp

    Serving Size: 1 (304 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 812.9
     
    Calories from Fat 218
    26%
    Total Fat 24.3 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 14.8 g
    74%
    Cholesterol 61.0 mg
    20%
    Sodium 224.8 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 146.4 g
    48%
    Dietary Fiber 4.4 g
    17%
    Sugars 104.8 g
    419%
    Protein 6.7 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites