95 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have tons of rhubarb in the garden and was l Iooking for the perfect recipe and so I made this one and Wendys rhubarb stir cake to compare. Both are excellent and moist. There is double the rhubarb in Wendys cake and so it has much more of a rhubarb flavor and gooey texture while this one is a much more like a cake. I prefer this one and my husband liked the other. We both agree though the topping is better on this cake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bitch'n kitchen June 20, 2009

Absolutely FABULOUS coffee cake - took it to work and they were licking the bottom of the pan!! Will try this with blueberries too. I, too, doubled the topping and think that maybe next time I will add some nuts to the topping! Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BakerNurse June 18, 2009

This is a moist perfect flavor rhubarb cake. I made one to eat and two to freeze. Toppings do not freeze well, so I will put a thin white glaze over the two to be frozen today. 3 of us have polished off a 9 X 13 pan with a small piece left that included the recipe topping. We are gluttons, I admit, but the cake is that good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Montana Heart Song June 17, 2009

The texture was just amazing! I only had 1 cup of rhubarb from my garden, so I added 1/2 cup of strawberries. I also took the advice of other commentators and doubled topping. Will definitely make this again:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SummerAlyssa June 15, 2009

A definite 5 star recipe. I had to use up some rhubarb from my garden and am I glad I picked this recipe. Cake is very moist and not too sweet. Thanks for sharing a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Little Chef June 14, 2009

Holy Moly, I think I died and went to heaven...Made this for Sunday brunch and darn near lost a couple of fingers when I served it..Definitely a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeff Hixson June 08, 2009

I followed this recipe exactly, and came out with the best coffee cake ever!!!! It made a big enough pan that I thought it would never get eaten. (I had not tried it yet) I took half the pan to bingo with me. My husband and two boys tried and polished off the pan I left while I was gone and the one I took, I shared with my mother and her friend. They picked and raved!! That was also GONE in no time. I got a resounding "when are you making this again?!" I guess this is a Keeper. It really is super moist, not too sweet, and delicious. Thanks Kate, this is now a pass down recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherry B. June 04, 2009

This was excellent! I made it at home for my husband and I first. Then I made two more pans later in the week and brought them to work. Rave reviews from everyone; some said the cake is to die for, and I agree! Super easy to make and such basic ingredients. I'm always looking for ways to utilize my rhubarb and this is my new favorite. Now if only rhubarb grew year round! Thanks for posting!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sunny25 June 01, 2009

Absolutely love this recipe - I've made it twice now and will make it many times again . . . thank you Kate for posting this recipe!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Teresa #2 May 30, 2009

I had some rhubarb from my vegetable garden and decided to try this recipe. I used some nutmeg in the batter. In the topping I used some lemon yoghurt as I didn't have enought butter and put a little ginger in as well. Next time I am going to use various fruits but must say that this was easy and tasty. Ta muchly

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JENF May 19, 2009
Rhubarb Coffee Cake