95 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Amazing and delicious. I thought this would turn out to be a traditional heavy coffee cake, but it was a bit fluffy. Definitely will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
connermoss July 18, 2010

Oh my, this was so..... good! I wanted something new for my garden rhubarb. I only used 1 cup of sugar and used 1 cup flour and 1 cup wheat flour. Otherwise, I followed the recipe. It's "finger licken good". I would like to make it with our blueberries when they are ready. This is a keeper. Thank you. This recipe needs an update....I have been adding 1 teaspoon of baking powder. I think it helps. However, you need to know it's a "Miracle Recipe"! I made it for a July 4th party using my homegrown blueberries. I wondered why it didn't raise as much as past cakes? Then after rereading the recipe, I realized that I only used 1 cup of flour. OOPS! It looked great and tested done. I took it to the party. I cut it in small squares. It tasted "great"! So much so, that dissappeared in the "blink of an eye" with rave reviews. (most by long time bakers) It's a cake recipe or a bar cake recipe. It's a "miracle recipe". Delish. My keeper forever! Thank you, Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gypsygal July 10, 2010

Kate in Ontario, Thank you, for this great recipe I love Company Coming recipes. I had a bowl of reduced rhubarb with sugar left over so I saw this recipe and made the cake last night. I added about 2 1/4 cups of the reduced rhubarb I did not double the topping as others had. My DH found it quite sweet as I did and the cake itself is quite dense which we love. For our taste to double the topping would be too much sugar. This beautiful rhubarb cake has gone to the very top of my list for coffee cake and as I have about 30 lbs. of rhubarb that I just picked in my freezer so I will make this cake often this summer! Again thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
oilpatchjo July 09, 2010

Oh my word this is DIVINE! It is now one of my favorites for company. YUMMY!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
samsampson July 08, 2010

What a wonderful coffe cake. So moist and delicious. I also doubled the topping. My DH rarely requests certain recipes but he has asked for this one repeatedly. He really has a seet tooth and loves rhubarb. Thanks for posting this easy to make cake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie Young July 02, 2010

This recipe is AWESOME. I'd never used rhubarb before, but a friend of mine had rhubarb growing in the backyard and gave me some stalks so I found your recipe. Looked easy enough and it turned out moist, not too sweet, perfect timing. I used non-fat plain yogurt, which I had handy, instead of sour cream. I used brown sugar and measured the same, unpacked. I also had used all the butter for the cake and didn't read ahead to the topping ingredients, so I used olive oil and also added quick oats to the mix. Baked for 35 mins in two loaf pans. It was excellent, thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sumashi June 27, 2010

Excellent cake! I used plain yogurt instead of sour cream, as it was what I had on hand. I misread my measuring cups and ended up using 1 2/3 c. sugar, so I went ahead and put in 2 1/2 c. rhubarb (which I had thawed and was quite "wet"). I had to bake this for 40 minutes for the center to set. The flavor turned out wonderful, not too sweet, not too tangy. This one is a keeper if you love rhubarb!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
French Lavender June 10, 2010

Very tasty! The whole family enjoyed it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
racehorse87 May 31, 2010

Very good! I used 1 1/4 cups of sugar but otherwise followed the recipe. I think I'll use 3 cups of rhubarb next time. Very yummy if heated up a little and served with vanilla ice-cream.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Puddleduck74 May 28, 2010

The best ruhbarb coffee cake i ever tried, and i have tried many

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jzvdewiel May 27, 2010
Rhubarb Coffee Cake