Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Rhubarb Coffee Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rhubarb Coffee Cake

    Average Rating:

    95 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 95

    Sort by:

    • on June 02, 2002

      Hi Kate in Ontario. I am familiar with this recipie and it is great! I also make it with apples or blueberries. It's good too. I actually got the recipie from a german lade. thnx for the recipie on recipezaar because I had lost mine. Great cake!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2002

      Just made this over the weekend! It was light and not overly sweet. The only difference in my preparation, was that I added 2 tablespoons of vegetable oil to the batter. Thanks for posting a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2002

      This was so good and Moist.The only changes I made was to use 1 1/2 cups rhubarb and next time I might double the toppings it made it taste so yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2002

      Very good, very moist coffee cake. I used fat free sour cream, and I think this would be good with any kind of fruit. I will make it again! -M :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2014

      I have made this recipe over and over again during rhubarb season since 2006. It turns out great every time, but it turns out extra great if you cream the butter and sugar for a really long time (3-4 mins), then add each egg, continuing to beat for a few minutes each. I just let the electric beaters go and go until I notice the mixture has fluffed to a greater volume than when I started. Don't over mix the dry with the wet, and add LOTS of rhubarb on top, pressing it into the batter, then sprinkle on your topping layer.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2011

      Easy and delicious! I used all whole wheat flour and I didn't have sour cream so I substituted an equal amount of buttermilk. I had to bake it a tad longer because of the extra liquid but I had excellent results. Thanks for sharing this recipe. We have so much rhubarb each spring that it is wonderful to find another great recipe for it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2010

      YUMMMMMM.... I didn't have enough sour cream so I used half sour cream a half vanilla yogurt. I was a little worried about the topping since when I mixed all the ingredients, the consistancy was pretty dry, not "crumbly" like noted in the recipe, but it worked out perfectly. I served it with whipped cream, took it to work, and it was a hit!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2003

      Wonderful and quick to put together.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2003

      Superb! I substituted nonfat plain yogurt for the sour cream and it was delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2014

      I made 2 of these in one week and couldn't get enough of it. Recently I took it to a party and there was none left and many requests for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2014

      EXCELLENT!!! Tried this recipe and everyone loved it so much I had to come back and tell you (and everyone!) It was moist and tasty. Not too strong. Best rhubarb recipe I've ever tried! Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2014

      I love this cake, so moist and delicious! It is one of the only recipes my aunt (who is the master baker) asks me to make during rhubarb season. I always use at least half whole wheat flour, otherwise as directed. Great every time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2014

      Great recipe. I do add fresh strawberries to mine. Due to the sour cream, keep it refridgerated.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2012

      This recipe is perfect! I have misplaced my mom's recipe and found that this one is just like hers, or maybe a bit better! It was so moist and delicious, words cannot describe it! I used a bundt pan, because I like my coffee cakes round. It was terrific.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2012

      Wow, great recipe, no substitutes made. It was a great combination with the fluffy cake and the tart rhubarb. Thank you for sharing it, I think I'll try some other fruits as well, as some of the reviewers wrote.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2011

      Made this recipe with the first rhubarb of the season.We loved the cake. Made as suggested . Perfect! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2011

      I have now made this recipe twice for coworkers and it disappears QUICKLY!!! Super easy to make and great results each time. Thank you so very much for a definite keeper of a recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2011

      This was so great! Used half whole wheat flour, doubled topping, and oops...didn't save enough butter for topping, so used canola oil instead! Turned out wonderful, and husband and I both decided it is MUCH better the next day, room temp! Next time, I will make ahead! Yum, yum... Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2010

    • on July 18, 2010

      Amazing and delicious. I thought this would turn out to be a traditional heavy coffee cake, but it was a bit fluffy. Definitely will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rhubarb Coffee Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (172 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 681.4
     
    Calories from Fat 242
    35%
    Total Fat 26.9 g
    41%
    Saturated Fat 15.9 g
    79%
    Cholesterol 127.6 mg
    42%
    Sodium 424.2 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 104.2 g
    34%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 69.7 g
    279%
    Protein 7.9 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites