18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is really delicious! Considering there are only 2 Tbsp oil in the whole recipe, this came out rich & buttery tasting. It is very tangy -from the rhubarb and the orange zest, no doubt. If you like a less sweet tea loaf, with a rich, unique flavor, then you will also enjoy this. Cooked exactly in 1 hour.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherFeather April 11, 2004

Those 90 year old Grandma's are amazing cooks!! This was incrediable! I am not usually an orange flavor person. I ate more pieces of this than I care to admit, you just can't stop slicing another piece. I did use 2 cups of white flour because I didnt have whole wheat. Its moist and that orange flavor is there but not over powering. I doubled the recipe to made two loaves, one I added nuts too and one I didnt because some family members don't like nuts. This is a keeper, I have already mentioned it to more than one person. Thanks for a great recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KennKonn April 02, 2009

Wonderfully textured quick bread that baked as stated in one hour. I found the orange flavor overpowering and couldn't taste the rhubarb at all. I would substitute apple or rhubarb juice next time. Didn't miss the oil at all and it's a great way to get some whole wheat in the diet.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarpea April 16, 2004

Very good and moist. Used apple sauce instead of OJ. Reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Son of Thunder November 18, 2013

For those of you who hate when recipes are drastically adjusted - then please skip my review. For those of you interested in variations - here's what I did. Based on the reviews stating that orange was overpowering, the fact that I didn't have an orange, this is what I did. Used 2 C White whole wheat flour, used 1/2 lemon rind grated, for the orange rind. Used my fine grater to grate up an apple and used that plus water plus the 1/2 of lemon juice to make up the orange juice 3/4 C component. Because my mixture was a bit to dry, I had to add about 2 TBL extra water. I used 2 C rhubarb based on others reviews of needing more rhubarb taste. I sprinkled the top with coarse sugar per another review suggestion. Lastly, I sprinkled a couple of shakes of both nutmeg and cinnamon into the flour mixture maybe 1/8 tsp each.... ? Will let you know how I think this all came out....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gidget265 June 17, 2012

This was pretty good considering I forgot to put the sugar in :( I doubled the recipe and used apple juice instead of orange juice which probably helped make it not quite so tart. I will make this again as we have lots of rhubarb but I will add the sugar next time -maybe not 3/4 of a cup but at least some!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Inge June 19, 2011

This was a really good bread, and is healthy too. I used the orange zest but it may be a bit too strong for some people. I baked it for 55 minutes, not the full hour, and chopped the rhubarb quite fine. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
limeleaf June 06, 2010

Great flavor, I love the orange in there. Mine baked for 50 minutes and turned out a little dry...perhaps start checking at about 45 minutes. Thanks - I'll definitely make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mmmama June 01, 2009

What surprised me was it tasted like bread. I will try it again but add more rhubarb to make it a little more moist. I didn't add the walnuts so they may be the thing i was missing. I won't skip that next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
the veggie plot May 19, 2009

Thanks for the dairy-free recipe! So many breads are made with buttermilk or a cup of oil. This was moist and flavorful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gourmet Wanna Be May 17, 2009
Rhubarb Bread