Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Rhubarb Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rhubarb Bread

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on April 11, 2004

      This is really delicious! Considering there are only 2 Tbsp oil in the whole recipe, this came out rich & buttery tasting. It is very tangy -from the rhubarb and the orange zest, no doubt. If you like a less sweet tea loaf, with a rich, unique flavor, then you will also enjoy this. Cooked exactly in 1 hour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2009

      Those 90 year old Grandma's are amazing cooks!! This was incrediable! I am not usually an orange flavor person. I ate more pieces of this than I care to admit, you just can't stop slicing another piece. I did use 2 cups of white flour because I didnt have whole wheat. Its moist and that orange flavor is there but not over powering. I doubled the recipe to made two loaves, one I added nuts too and one I didnt because some family members don't like nuts. This is a keeper, I have already mentioned it to more than one person. Thanks for a great recipe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2004

      Wonderfully textured quick bread that baked as stated in one hour. I found the orange flavor overpowering and couldn't taste the rhubarb at all. I would substitute apple or rhubarb juice next time. Didn't miss the oil at all and it's a great way to get some whole wheat in the diet.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2013

      Very good and moist. Used apple sauce instead of OJ. Reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2012

      For those of you who hate when recipes are drastically adjusted - then please skip my review. For those of you interested in variations - here's what I did. Based on the reviews stating that orange was overpowering, the fact that I didn't have an orange, this is what I did. Used 2 C White whole wheat flour, used 1/2 lemon rind grated, for the orange rind. Used my fine grater to grate up an apple and used that plus water plus the 1/2 of lemon juice to make up the orange juice 3/4 C component. Because my mixture was a bit to dry, I had to add about 2 TBL extra water. I used 2 C rhubarb based on others reviews of needing more rhubarb taste. I sprinkled the top with coarse sugar per another review suggestion. Lastly, I sprinkled a couple of shakes of both nutmeg and cinnamon into the flour mixture maybe 1/8 tsp each.... ? Will let you know how I think this all came out....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2011

      This was pretty good considering I forgot to put the sugar in :( I doubled the recipe and used apple juice instead of orange juice which probably helped make it not quite so tart. I will make this again as we have lots of rhubarb but I will add the sugar next time -maybe not 3/4 of a cup but at least some!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2010

      This was a really good bread, and is healthy too. I used the orange zest but it may be a bit too strong for some people. I baked it for 55 minutes, not the full hour, and chopped the rhubarb quite fine. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2009

      Great flavor, I love the orange in there. Mine baked for 50 minutes and turned out a little dry...perhaps start checking at about 45 minutes. Thanks - I'll definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2009

      What surprised me was it tasted like bread. I will try it again but add more rhubarb to make it a little more moist. I didn't add the walnuts so they may be the thing i was missing. I won't skip that next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2009

      Thanks for the dairy-free recipe! So many breads are made with buttermilk or a cup of oil. This was moist and flavorful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2009

      Tell Alice she's a great cook! This bread is moist and soft on the inside, crunchy and sweet on the outside. I didn't care for the orange flavor because I wanted to taste the rhubarb more, so I think I'll leave the orange rind out next time and use apple juice instead of OJ. I did sprinkle the tops of the loaves with turbinado sugar before baking, which made a nice sweet crunch. Thanks for a fantastic, low-fat recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2008

      This was really good....I can't believe how moist and tender it came out with only that small amount of oil. The orange flavor was really nice. I added an oatmeal/brown sugar crumble to the top before baking it to add a little something to it since I did not have any nuts on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2007

      This is one terrific treat! I used splenda baking blend and Eggbeaters and canola oil. Since we love orange, I used the full 2 tablespoons of zest and we loved it! I did add 1 teaspoon vanilla extract. I don't have an 8x4 bread pan, had to use a 9x5 and it still rose like a charm! Will be makihg this again and soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2007

      This was quite nice. I left my rhubarb pieces a little bigger than called for, and reduced the amount of zest to 1-1/2 tbsp. It turned out pretty good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2006

      It's amazing how moist this bread is with such little oil in it. Very good bread but just a little too orangy for my liking. I think I'll eliminate the orange rind next time and see how it tastes. The orange/rhubard flavour combination does work though just a little too strong.I also added some vanilla. I left the nuts out because a lot of people at work don't like nuts and that's usually where my baking ends up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2006

      You'd never know from the flavour and texture that this is a low fat quick bread. It's light and moist. I agree that you couldn't really taste the rhubarb and wouldn't chop it as fine the next time. The orange flavour is very subtle. I added 1 tsp. each of cinnamon and vanilla, and used toasted chopped pecans instead of walnuts. I added some finely chopped pecans to the toppping too. Made 3 5X3-inch mini loaves which were done in 38 minutes. Freezes well. I think fresh cranberries or blueberries would work well too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2005

      This is a wonderful bread. Crunchy on the outside and moist on the inside. It's a keeper for sure. Low in fat. I didn't add the orange rind. Mine baked in 50 minutes. THank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2005

      Excellent bread, wholesome and low fat. Great little pick-me-up with my afternoon tea. I've been looking for recipes that are low in points for my weight watcher program and this fits the bill. Thanks for sharing will make again for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rhubarb Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (77 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 189.2
     
    Calories from Fat 33
    17%
    Total Fat 3.6 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 18.6 mg
    6%
    Sodium 484.4 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.4 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 16.8 g
    67%
    Protein 3.8 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes