Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Rheinlander Restaurant Cheese Fondue Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rheinlander Restaurant Cheese Fondue

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on September 20, 2010

      This is a wonderful fondue but the recipe is different than the one I got from the kitchen of the Rhinelander almost forty years ago and it explains why it is runny. My recipe from this restaurant is the same EXCEPT it called for 1 cup of liquid for the 5 cups of the cheese. That's a big difference. Use 1/2 cup Sauterne and 1/2 cup water. From that point add extra cheese or wine/water if needed to gain proper consistancy. 5 stars when made this way. Yum!! I just doubled it and made it for a large party last night.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2010

      Fabulous! My mom used to make this for us on Christmas Eve. It's just like I remembered. For those having trouble with the recipe-- did you use swiss american?? You can find it at Costco. I don't think regular swiss cheese will work-- you need the processed stuff to get the creamy texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2009

      Way too runny! It had a hard time sticking to anything. The taste was good but overall a disappointment.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2009

      I have been using this recipe for years (minus the MSG), and it's exactly like the fondue at the Rheinlander. Love it! I can usually find the processed swiss cheese, but it tends to be in individually wrapped slices.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2009

      I followed this recipe to the letter, and it doesnt taste anything like the reteraunt's fondue. The cheese is to thick and doesnt turn into a cheese dipping sauce at all. And yes, I tried adding more cheese or adding more wine. Maybe using the really expensive Gruyer cheese would work better then Swiss, but I was really disappointed. What a waste of money for all that cheese. Ill stick to going to the resteraunt I guess.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2009

      This recipe is amazing, but don't add water until you are sure it is thick enough. It is usually too much liquid for the amount of cheese. I did find a Gruyere cheese food product at our local Winco, it has the "right" fondue flavor. Can never find the processed swiss american anymore. I never use expensive swiss cheeses, they just glop up. I agree...no need for MSG! Making this tonight for my adult kids and their friends. Lots of rye bread, french bread, and lots of cool crisp veggies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2008

      I don't know what I did wrong but no matter how much cheese I added it stayed very thin, not like fondue. I did cut to half, and used a different cheese. But the taste was fine. Sorry ,but I had to laugh at rockyp review. Guess the word "OR" was not seen.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2008

      I'm wondering if anyone actually made this that gave this recipe 5 stars. There is 3 cups of liquid to 5 cups of cheese. This is way way way too much water. I ruined 5 cups of good swiss cheese making this recipe. I was very disappointed. I should have known. Look at any other fondue recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2008

      I have been making this recipe for years. I had a hard time finding processed swiss american this year so used almost all swiss with some american mixed in. Also on the wine - I just use a chardonnay...works well. We like to serve this with veggies as well as bread. I also skip the MSG.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2007

      Please be a litle more clear on he wine. There's no such thing as sauterne chablis. Wines from the Sauternes region of France are produced using Botrytis affected Semillon grapes and is very sweet. Chablis is produced in the Chablis region from Chardonay grapes and is very dry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2007

      This recipe is exactly like the Rheinlander's. I have made it for years for my friends and everyone of them has come back to me after trying the fondue at the Rheinlander or Gustav's and say that it is the same. Oh, and I never use the msg, it doesn't need it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2004

      I can't vouch for the ease of cooking or following the recipe, but I frequently have this at Der Rheinlander, and no fondue that I've had before or since can even come close in taste!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rheinlander Restaurant Cheese Fondue

    Serving Size: 1 (1195 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1230.8
     
    Calories from Fat 222
    18%
    Total Fat 24.7 g
    38%
    Saturated Fat 9.9 g
    49%
    Cholesterol 30.5 mg
    10%
    Sodium 2740.4 mg
    114%
    Total Carbohydrate 212.6 g
    70%
    Dietary Fiber 18.2 g
    73%
    Sugars 8.6 g
    34%
    Protein 36.8 g
    73%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    American cheese

    sauterne

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites