Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Revolutionary Burritos Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Revolutionary Burritos

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on May 24, 2009

      So I used what I had for this recipe, which means I used cooked hamburger instead of rice, and a yellow onion instead of a red onion. Since I don't like my dinners sweet, I left anything remotely sweet out of my bbq sauce. I do think that bbq sauce is a big contributor to making this tasty, and if I want to make dinner with plantains again (and, since I don't like sweet dinners, that's not likely), this is the one! If you like sweetish dinners with plantain, you'll probably love this. Since I don't like sweet dinners, I thought it was ok not great. Off to make plantain cookies with that last plantain ...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2009

      I have been looking for a recipe like this for a very long time! I was sooo happy when I found this...and was not disappointed!! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2008

      Hail Burrito!!! I love this mix of flavors in this. I used leftover sweet potatoes and rice and made the recommended bbq sauce. This has such a nice balance of flavor and texture. I got 10 burritos out of this so I froze a few for lunches. Thanks Cookgirl!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2008

      Loved it, loved it, loved it! I found this recipe while trying to re-create a burrito I had last fall while on Aruba (the first time I ever tasted plantains). I roasted the potatoes and plantains in the oven rather than frying, but otherwise followed the recipe to the letter (the BBQ mentioned is great too). I'll be making this recipe again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2008

      I cheat and buy the Goya frozen plaintains and cook my onions with my sweet potatoes (I think they're too strong otherwise). But I've made this recipe twice with rave reviews. This is a fantastic recipe that even meatlovers enjoy. Thanks! Sweet Baby Ray's Hot & Spicy BBQ sauce goes well with this recipe (in case anyone else, like me, is a BBQ sauce newbie).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2007

      I KNOW WHERE YOU GOT THIS RECIPE!!!! haha. thats funny, i walked by this morning and realized i had most of the ingrediants at home to make my favorite burritos, and thought i would look up similar recipes online. AND LOOK WHAT I FOUND!!! haha. stoked.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2006

      I can't believe I'm the first one to review these! Hail Burrito indeed -- these were fabulous, with the spicy sauce, the sweet potatos, and the hearty black beans and crunchy plantains and onions all contrasting and working together beautifully. Used whole wheat tortillas, which helped as well. I subtract one star for imprecise amounts (2 plaintains and 2 sweet potatos would be easier) and somewhat unclear directions, which made me cautious. But overall, HAIL BURRRRIIIITOOOO!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2006

      Yumm, these are tasty. Used home-made beans and mixed grains instead of the rice, but followed the rest of the recipe as written. This is a lovely alternative to our regular burritos, and we loved the plantains and sweet potatoes together with the bbq sauce. I would never have thought to put those together. This was easy to make as well. Rave reviews from hubby. Will make again, I'm sure. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2006

      These were good burritos. I was skeptical at first because of the diverse ingredients. I have made them twice. The second time without the black beans. Hail Burrito!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Revolutionary Burritos

    Serving Size: 1 (1717 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 600.5
     
    Calories from Fat 72
    12%
    Total Fat 8.0 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 1.8 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 710.3 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 115.4 g
    38%
    Dietary Fiber 11.1 g
    44%
    Sugars 7.9 g
    31%
    Protein 16.9 g
    33%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes