9 Reviews

So I used what I had for this recipe, which means I used cooked hamburger instead of rice, and a yellow onion instead of a red onion. Since I don't like my dinners sweet, I left anything remotely sweet out of my bbq sauce. I do think that bbq sauce is a big contributor to making this tasty, and if I want to make dinner with plantains again (and, since I don't like sweet dinners, that's not likely), this is the one! If you like sweetish dinners with plantain, you'll probably love this. Since I don't like sweet dinners, I thought it was ok not great. Off to make plantain cookies with that last plantain ...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nethope May 24, 2009

I have been looking for a recipe like this for a very long time! I was sooo happy when I found this...and was not disappointed!! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Italian_mama March 16, 2009

Hail Burrito!!! I love this mix of flavors in this. I used leftover sweet potatoes and rice and made the recommended bbq sauce. This has such a nice balance of flavor and texture. I got 10 burritos out of this so I froze a few for lunches. Thanks Cookgirl!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookie16 October 10, 2008

Loved it, loved it, loved it! I found this recipe while trying to re-create a burrito I had last fall while on Aruba (the first time I ever tasted plantains). I roasted the potatoes and plantains in the oven rather than frying, but otherwise followed the recipe to the letter (the BBQ mentioned is great too). I'll be making this recipe again and again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladybug810 March 30, 2008

I cheat and buy the Goya frozen plaintains and cook my onions with my sweet potatoes (I think they're too strong otherwise). But I've made this recipe twice with rave reviews. This is a fantastic recipe that even meatlovers enjoy. Thanks! Sweet Baby Ray's Hot & Spicy BBQ sauce goes well with this recipe (in case anyone else, like me, is a BBQ sauce newbie).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tigereye_83 January 24, 2008

I KNOW WHERE YOU GOT THIS RECIPE!!!! haha. thats funny, i walked by this morning and realized i had most of the ingrediants at home to make my favorite burritos, and thought i would look up similar recipes online. AND LOOK WHAT I FOUND!!! haha. stoked.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hassy Angstrom October 26, 2007

I can't believe I'm the first one to review these! Hail Burrito indeed -- these were fabulous, with the spicy sauce, the sweet potatos, and the hearty black beans and crunchy plantains and onions all contrasting and working together beautifully. Used whole wheat tortillas, which helped as well. I subtract one star for imprecise amounts (2 plaintains and 2 sweet potatos would be easier) and somewhat unclear directions, which made me cautious. But overall, HAIL BURRRRIIIITOOOO!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BrotherAdso October 08, 2006

Yumm, these are tasty. Used home-made beans and mixed grains instead of the rice, but followed the rest of the recipe as written. This is a lovely alternative to our regular burritos, and we loved the plantains and sweet potatoes together with the bbq sauce. I would never have thought to put those together. This was easy to make as well. Rave reviews from hubby. Will make again, I'm sure. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VegSocialWorker July 09, 2006

These were good burritos. I was skeptical at first because of the diverse ingredients. I have made them twice. The second time without the black beans. Hail Burrito!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
survivedbrooklyn April 05, 2006
Revolutionary Burritos