Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home /
    Lost? Site Map

    81 Reviews of Chi Chi's Seafood Enchiladas

    « Previous 1 2 3 4 . . . 7 8 9 Next »
    Displaying up to 20 pages of results. To see all results, or register.
    reviewer icon

    From: Bebelicious!

    On Sep 24, 2007

    You can get the lobster base at Amazon.com if you can't find it locally. DON'T LEAVE IT OUT. It makes all the difference in the flavor. Substituting cream of anything soup just won't cut it. This was just as delicious and as authentic as Chi Chi's and suprisingly inexpensive to make.

    12 people found this review helpful

  • Was this review helpful to you? YES | NO
  • reviewer icon

    From: touchdown6

    On May 20, 2006

    I used this recipe as a base for my Cancun enchiladas. I couldn't find lobster base at my store, so I did make my own roux (the flour and butter), added milk and wine, and then added a can of condensed cream of shrimp soup (Campbells's). I also happened to have a packet of Chi Chi's fiesta taco seasoning and added a generous sprinkling of that to the sauce. We added some sour cream to the top after they were cooked, and they really were excellent. Another reviewer mentioned his sauce tasted like gravy - he may have needed to cook the flour further in the butter so it didn't taste "raw". But I have to admit that when tasting the sauce outside of the enchilada, it didn't seem that great, but with the crabmeat, shrimp and cheese, etc. it really was great and just like I remember! Thanks for the great recipe!!

    10 people found this review helpful

  • Was this review helpful to you? YES | NO
  • reviewer icon

    From: CJJohnson

    On Apr 24, 2007

    I added a little Old Bay this time, it is so good. I crave this every so often and I am so very glad I found this recipe. I used a spice packet from shrimp ramen and some celeryu salt in place of Lobster Base which I have been unable to find.

    4 people found this review helpful

  • Was this review helpful to you? YES | NO
  • reviewer icon

    From: Debber

    On May 16, 2007

    Mmm-mmm-good! We used to go to the Chi Chi's in Madison, Wisconsin years ago, and this is what I ALWAYS ordered. That said, this is not exactly the way I remember it, and even hubby (who is NOT a food critic) thought the sauce seemed a bit bland; he said, "I remember it being sweeter." So, next time I will do two things...add MORE cheese (living in the Dairy State demands it!) and a smidgen of sugar to the sauce. Also...I will now be on the lookout for "Lobster Base." I didn't have any, and THAT may have made the difference in the sauce (to be fair!). OTHERWISE, the enchilada itself is just perfect. And I agree with an earlier reviewer--the directions are SO EASY to follow--thank you for that! KEEPER!!!

    3 people found this review helpful

  • Was this review helpful to you? YES | NO
  • reviewer icon

    From: jenni_mh

    On Sep 6, 2006

    It was a bit richer than I remember. I used sherry instead of white wine, so next time I think I'll use less of the sherry. Otherwise fantastic! I've been missing the Cancun for a long time now. Thanks!

    3 people found this review helpful

  • Was this review helpful to you? YES | NO
  • reviewer icon

    From: Slayergenxxx aka Gen

    On May 13, 2008

    I attempted this recipe despite the mixed reviews for my mom for mother's day. While most reviewers say the lobster base is absolutely necessary..I decided choose a low sodium alternative. I used the seasoning packet in the shimp ramen noodles to a cup of hot water. It made a awesome substitute. As for the one reviewer's DH that said it wasn't sweet enough, it might have been the white wine used. If you use a fruity white wine, it adds a sweet flavor to it. All in all, great recipe for a beloved favorite dish and restaurant!

    3 people found this review helpful

  • Was this review helpful to you? YES | NO
  • reviewer icon

    From: Chef #760400

    On Feb 11, 2008

    First of all, thank you KingJackQueen. I have been searching for years for this recipe and all I could ever find were the ones using cream of chicken soup as the base. CHICKEN? WTF? Anyway...this recipe is it. I have made this about 6 times now, and here are my comments: 1) Although it seems some reviewers have had success attempting to substitute the Lobster Base, you CANNOT do this! The Lobster Base is the key to the sauce and the sauce is the key to the recipe! I couldn't find it at the store either, but bought it on Amazon for $5. It keeps in the fridge and you can get many batches out of 1 container, so just get it! 2) I thought it was better without the baby shrimp. Canned shrimp smell and taste bad (IMO) and the recipe was more delicious without them. 3) I thought the amount of white pepper was a bit overpowering, so the second time I made it I cut the pepper in half and it was much better. 4) I thought there was too much sauce and had a ton left over. Maybe you're supposed to use it all, but I found that it's better with less blended in to the crab mixture (just enough to coat the crab, but not soak it) and I didn't need nearly what was left for the top. I now halve the sauce recipe, but still make the full batch of enchilada's. If you are as much of a Chi Chi's Cancun fan as I was, you will LOVE this recipe. Thanks again!!

    3 people found this review helpful

  • Was this review helpful to you? YES | NO
  • reviewer icon

    From: Chef #780623

    On Mar 3, 2008

    This recipe is just like the real thing! I would recommend the following modifications: Find the Minor's Lobster Base product (go on line)---there's no substitution and it is great in other seafood recipes! Cut the sherry in half and cook with the roux (flour and butter) to reduce the alcohol. Substitute frozen salad shrimp for the canned shrimp. Serve with shredded lettuce and diced tomatoes. Yum Yum

    2 people found this review helpful

  • Was this review helpful to you? YES | NO
  • reviewer icon

    From: Tuffy1129

    On Sep 24, 2008

    I made this last night and we did find them a little too salty. We did use the Better than Bouillion Lobster base and the flavor was almost exactly the same as the Cancun except for the extra saltiness. I'm thinking to maybe cut the lobster base in half next time and use a can of lobster bisque soup mix and see how that turns out.

    2 people found this review helpful

  • Was this review helpful to you? YES | NO
  • reviewer icon

    From: Heavy Russell

    On May 19, 2006

    I just made some of your seafood enchiladas and they didnt turn out right. The sauce tasted more like gravy then the sauce I knew and loved. I followed your recipe word from word. I think it was the flour that caused such a bad taste. What flour do you use? I'd love to taste Chi Chi's seafood enchiladas again, seeing as the last one in Kentucky closed down over a year ago.

    2 people found this review helpful

  • Was this review helpful to you? YES | NO
  • « Previous 1 2 3 4 . . . 7 8 9 Next »
    Displaying up to 20 pages of results. To see all results, or register.
    Advertisement

    Free Weekly Newsletter

    Get the latest recipes and tips delivered right to your inbox.

    Your e-mail is safe. Privacy Policy
    Advertisement

    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes