20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I used hotdog relish instead of dill relish (all I had). I do not like relish of any kind so was very skeptical using it. I am so glad I did. The steps to make so the bread did not get soggy were FABULOUS. I cheated in a way,,,got lazy. I made exactly as written to prepare it,,,but made it a few hours before cooking it,,,and baked it in 450 degree oven for 15 minutes w/out flipping and worked out awesome. I made 6 sandwiches on a cookie sheet. Thank you I will def. be making these again.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Guerra December 30, 2009

WOW! This is sooo good! The dressing is perfect and, like Huntergirl, the steps in putting this together MAKE the sandwich. I squished ALL of the liquid out of the sauerkraut and this sandwich was perfect. Try it now, you will not be disappointed! Thanks for posting Jules.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scoutie October 18, 2009

I love to cook but Reubens are a favorite and I was practically drooling over this sandwich waiting for the first bite. YUM! I swear this is the best reuben sandwich I've ever eaten and better yet it was made in my own kitchen! I liked the steps in where to place the dressing to prevent soggy bread. THANK YOU, Julesong!!! :)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Huntergirl* September 12, 2009

No more thousand Island for me. Not when this sauce is to die for and fresh! I will keep using this recipe from here on out yummy!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sewcute May 22, 2009

Been using this recipe for years to use up leftover corned beef. I always take a shortcut and use Thousand Island dressing. Very delicious.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wing-Man July 08, 2008

Very tasty sandwich, and I am a mission to find the best reuben! Unfortunate for me, I could not test your sandwich exactly as written because I live in a mid-size town and the local grocery store discontinued pastrami! I had to use corned beef, but it was still good. The sauce is fabulous, and I am not a huge fan of sweet pickles -- but I would not leave it out! Next time I am in a BIG town I will pick up some Pastrami and try it as you wrote it, but I think I got a good idea of just how good this is!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook4_6 October 04, 2007

Absolutely delicious! My extremely picky husband enjoyed this sandwich and gave it *5* stars. I thought it was the best rueben that I have ever tasted. Yummy!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cheryl F September 17, 2006

Wow! Just awesome! The absolute best reuben we have ever eaten. The sauce makes it! Thanks so much for this great recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SUSAN N. July 17, 2006

Yum!! My husband LOVES ruebens and he raved about how delicious this one was!! Thank you!! I'd never had one before and thought it was great! The sauce was fabulous and the everything together was just perfect!! Thank you!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TnuSami May 23, 2006

This was a wonderful sandwich! The sauce was just perfect, and we will definately have this again! Thanks so much for posting :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
V.A. April 13, 2006
Reuben Sandwich Our Way