Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Reuben Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Reuben Casserole

    Average Rating:

    49 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 49

    Sort by:

    • on February 14, 2008

      Very nice casserole and something a little different. I made my own russian dressing as well since I didn't have any on hand. Used the hint of buying the corn beef from the deli deparment and that worked well. I think the next time I make this I will add some mustard. It really could have used some in there to enhance the flavor of the casserole.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2008

      Yummmmy! I made this exactly as written except for the bread: I used swirl rye/pumpernickle instead for some added color and interest. This is a keeper! Thanks Karen B!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2008

      This was delicious!!! I used low fat sour cream, 2% kraft swiss slices and fat free thousand Island. I also left out the melted butter. It was still great casserole. Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2008

      Loved it! My teenagers too! I just made it in the middle of January. Looking for something comfy & warm. I used sliced swiss instead of shredded. But it is absolutely delicious. Looking forward to doing it again. I also saved it in "my cookbooks". Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2008

      I've never had a reuben sandwich before (I know-I know) but if they taste ANYTHING like this casserole, I plan to eat them often! Wow this was GOOD! I used Hormel canned corned beef and doubled the cheese. I didn't think I liked rye bread. Go figure! Thank you for a keeeeeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2007

      I can't belive I forgot to review this! Made this for DH for his lunch and he LOVES it! Very similar to one that we get from our school's Market Day sales but DH likes this one way better! Simple to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2007

      Great taste, texture, and a very interesting color! Mine took fifty minutes to bake covered, but I did put it in the oven cold. Now, I found that I needed to double the amount of dressing, and perhaps a tad more Sourkraut would be good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2007

      Made this from leftover St. Patty's day corned beef. Taste was awesome. Made my own Russian dressing to mix with the sour cream. 1/2 cup mayo, 1 Tblspn ketchup,1/2 tspn horseradish,1/4 tspn Worcestershire, 1/2 tspn dried onion, and 1 tablespoon fresh chopped parsley. I'll have to double the recipe next time -- it was devoured.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2007

      My whole family thought this was great! I made this at my house and it was loved by everyone! I will definitely make this again! It takes some time to make, but it is definitely worth it! Delicious!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2007

      We love Reuben's at our house, but this was very sticky and the sour cream taste was too strong.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2006

      Very tasty! Everyone loved this. I too was tempted like other's to increase the sour cream/dressing mixture and because of other reviews I didn't and I'm happy at that. I cut the crust off the bread and made small cubes. It was fabuloso! I do have to say most casseroles taste just as good if not better the next day but this casserole tasted too rich the next day but, that won't keep me from making it again that's for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2006

      Okay, reading reviews and sampling the sour cream/thousand island dressing mixture-I really wanted to double the sauce, but so glad I didn't. Wonderful casserole, but ohh so rich once you add the swiss in. Melted butter on the surface?..YES!!! That was so good. Great casserole.I should add to say I purchased corned beef (chunk) in the deli dept. Thank You!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2006

      If you love Reuben sandwiches this recipe you absolutely have to try. It was so good, even though it was large enough for an entire party, we gobbled it up in only two evenings, and there are only two of us here. Now, back to the low cal food (sigh)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2006

      Close your eyes, this is Reuben as can be! Don't tell anyone in New York's Carnegie Deli! Simple, delicious, easy to do, Next time, will double sour cream and thousand island dressing too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2006

      This was so good. I'd never had a Rueben sandwich until 2 weeks ago. I fell in love with it & wanted to try this recipe. It was hard to stop eating it. My dad really liked it. I made it as posted, but used half as much melted butter. It was wonderful, but next time, I might cut the bread by half, or just toast a few pieces, line the pan with the bread, then add the other ingredients, and top with more toasted bread slices & the butter. Thanks for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2005

      I doubled the sour cream and thousand island mixture to have enough to covered both layers. Very moist and flavorful. Don't leave out the melted butter, it adds to the rich flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2005

      This was so good! I loved it. I made it exactly as specified and it turned out perfect, however, I think next time I would try to emilinate the butter at the end just to try to save on a few calories/fat grams. Maybe I'll just spray the bread with some nonfat butter spray so it will toast up golden. Thanks for a good recipe! It's a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2005

      Oh, this was excellent, Karen B!!! I fixed it exactly as written, and in my opinion, turned out perfect! I wonderful mix of flavors, just like a Reuben sandwich, only better! I personally liked the addition of the drizzled butter as it just added to the "richness" of the dish...Thank you for posting this! Yet another keeper for my family...Can't wait to tell my sisters about it! YUM! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2005

      Quick and easy. I also eliminated the butter drizzle at the end, for health reasons. I pumped up the amount of sauerkraut slightly (to use up all that I had in my container) and was, all in all, quite impressed with this simple dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2005

      I forgot to drizzle the butter on top and I will remove that item from the recipe altogether. I think the butter would have overpowered the reuben flavor. Excellent dish and easy to prepare.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Reuben Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (186 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 427.1
     
    Calories from Fat 269
    63%
    Total Fat 29.9 g
    46%
    Saturated Fat 15.3 g
    76%
    Cholesterol 68.1 mg
    22%
    Sodium 1009.0 mg
    42%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.9 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 4.6 g
    18%
    Sugars 6.5 g
    26%
    Protein 10.9 g
    21%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    corned beef

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes