Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Reuben Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Reuben Casserole

    Average Rating:

    49 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 49

    Sort by:

    • on June 13, 2011

      The recipe did not say whether to drain the sauerkraut or not, so at first I did, but then I was concerned about the casserole being too dry so I added back some of the drained liquid. That was a mistake because it made it too sour. Also, I had slightly toasted my bread before cutting it into cubes because the last time I made a Reuben casserole it was a little too soggy. I liked the ease of preparation, but I want to try it again without the sour cream since that is also "sour" and not one of the ingredients found in a Reuben Sandwich. I would just use more Thousand Island dressing in place of that. I would still toast the bread, though. I cook for an assisted living facility and all the residents seemed to agree that it was more sour than they prefer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2008

      This was very tasty but I used marble rye and some beautiful very thin-sliced Deli Pastrami instead because that's what I had (which I think actually makes it a Rachel, right?) I always quick saute my Pastrami, just until it starts to shrivel, in a little butter when making the sandwich because I like it better that way. The only reason I gave it 4 stars was because DH and I thought the sour cream overpowered the tanginess of the thousand island/kraut flavors. Next time I will reverse the quantities of those two ingredients. Otherwise, very delicious meal and one I wouldn't hesitate serving again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2013

      After reading the comments from other individuals, I made a few tweaks to the recipe. I used marbled rye bread, cut it into 1/4" cubes and then baked them on a sheet pan at 400 degrees for 10 minutes before using in the casserole. It added firmness to the base of the casserole. I also did not use sour cream (ruins the acidic sauerkraut flavor) and I used Mayo (not Miracle Whip) instead. I used Russian dressing instead of 1000 island. I used 3/4 cups of Russian dressing and 3/4 cups of Mayo and mixed those together. This turned out perfect. It had that true Reuben taste to it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2012

      I've been making this for quite a while now and I'm just getting around to reviewing this. I really enjoy this casserole. Awesome flavor! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2011

      The sour cream/thousand island sauce was a little rich, but otherwise this was excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2010

      very quick and easy recipe. Tasted just like my favorite Reuben sandwich but super fast and easy to make. Definitely going into my regular make ahead recipe rotation!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2010

      Very very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      I reversed the amounts of the sour cream and thousand island as another review suggested, and next time I will cut down on the amount of sauce overall. I will also do away with the butter, since I used sliced swiss and it made a nice layer over the top of the casserole. This was so incredibly good, I think I could eat it every day... too bad there were no leftovers!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2010

      Very good! Kids loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2010

      Followed the directions......not good. Dry and uninspired. If you want a Reuben, make a Reuben.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2009

      This is now one of our top 10 favorites! Will never make grilled ruebens again! It was even better reheated for lunch. Thank you Karen for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2009

      I only use about 1/2 loaf of bread, and about 3/4 lb of deli corned beef. This is excellent. We love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2009

      I did not care for this at all and I LOVE Reubens. I think the sour cream totally ruined that Reuben taste for me. Sorry, I hate giving bad reviews.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2009

      Oh my, I can still taste this lovely casserole. I love reubens and this casserole fit the bill. I will make this many times over. It was simple to prepare , which is always a plus in my books. Thank you so much for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2008

      Very good after work casserole. Easy to put together and relatively short baking time. One casserole would have been too large for dh and me so I made this into 2, 2 qt. casseroles - used the entire 2 cup pkg. of cheese and entire 8 oz bottle of dressing. Mixed sour cream, dressing and drained sauerkraut together to make it easier to put together. 3/4 lb is 2 cups cubed corned beef. I put one in the freezer to enjoy another time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2008

      This was absolutely delicious!! I made this for my parents, who love the sandwich, but I did not think I would like it, as I don't like rye bread and did not think I liked sauerkraut...But I was wrong!! I will make it again- SOON! (Maybe with a little less bread next time)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2008

      YUMMY YUMMY YUMMY! I made this a couple weeks ago for my mother who came for a visit. She loves Reuben sandwiches so I thought that this would be good for her. She and my DH fell in love with this dish. I'm making it again for my DH (and me!). I made no changes to the ingredients. They are perfect! Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2008

      Wow, talk about awesome leftovers... even when they are cold!!! Instead of just tossing the bread cubes in the dish we sauteed them in the butter first to give them a little crunch instead of extra sogginess. then topped with double amount of sauerkraut. sprinkled a little garlic. added about 1T of dill pickle juice and sprinkled a few caraway seeds. added about another 1/2c of sour cream and 1/4c 1000 island dressing to make up for the extra sauerkraut and we like the extra creaminess. could easily use leftovers for pasty fillings, yummy!! thanks a TON!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2008

      We loved this! I did not cube the corned beef because sliced sounded better . So much easier than making sandwiches and every bit as good!! And great for several people. Thanks! This is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2008

      Oh we really enjoyed this!!! It IS SO MUCH like a reuben sandwich. I did drain my saurkraut eventhough the recipe didn't state. I also took someone elses tip and bought my corned beef from the grocers deli. No shredded swiss available, so I used 2% swiss slices and tore them apart. I also reduced the butter by 1/2, using only 1/4 cup or half a stick. This will be made in our house for years to come.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Reuben Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (186 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 427.1
     
    Calories from Fat 269
    63%
    Total Fat 29.9 g
    46%
    Saturated Fat 15.3 g
    76%
    Cholesterol 68.1 mg
    22%
    Sodium 1009.0 mg
    42%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.9 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 4.6 g
    18%
    Sugars 6.5 g
    26%
    Protein 10.9 g
    21%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    corned beef

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites