Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Reuben Cabbage Bake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Reuben Cabbage Bake

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on August 11, 2011

      Oh wow SO GOOD! My husband and I ate Way too much of this and our 18 month old LOVED it! I doubled the recipe and cooked it in a 9x13 pan (and am glad I did because we ate more than 1/2 the pan!). I think next time I'll double it again and use even more cabbage (5 cups ) because it's low-calorie and so good for you. Thanks for the awesome recipe that I'll be making many more times!

      ETA: I used the regular biscuits this time and they don't work as well as the mega or big or whatever kind. I think 16oz of the jumbo ones work better. Also, be sure to spray your pyrex with non-stick spray so the biscuits don't stick (oops).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2013

      Great just great! Doubled as many suggested. The jumbo biscuits worked very well. Next time I may cube some Jewish rye bread (w/ caraway seeds) instead of the biscuits just to be more traditional. Pulsed cabbage & onions in food processor to get them bite size, also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

      I took the suggestions of doubling the 1000 island dressing and chopping the cabbage small! This was great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2009

      If you like Reuben sandwiches (which we do) you'll like this. Has almost all the flavors of a Reuben sandwich with out all the mess. Doubled the recipe using fat free cheese (cubed not shredded) and cutting the caraway in half. Liked the way the biscuits soaked up all the yummy juices while it baked. The only thing I would do different next time is to double the thousand island dressing. Thanks so much for the post.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2008

      This is so delicious and pretty simple to make! I used an 8" square pan. I really didn't measure anything, so I'm sure that I used a bit more cabbage, caraway and swiss cheese. I used sliced corned beef from the deli. This is a great recipe. I'll be using a 13 x 9 pan in the future so I can double this recipe! Thanx!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2007

      Yum. My husband and I loved this. I made the recipe just as directed with no changes. Next time I will follow the other reviewers' recommendation to double it, because it is a keeper. My husband went back for seconds (ok, maybe more than seconds) and gave it 4 stars. He liked that it was a break from the usual dishes, and he loves Reuben sandwiches, so this worked for him. I am giving it 5 stars because it has just a few ingredients, goes together in a flash and is really wonderfully tasty. Great comfort food. One recommendation for those that want to make this, be sure to chop the cabbage relatively small I left mine in long-ish strips and it made it harder to cut it into peices and the cabbage sort of dangled around off our forks. No problem for taste, but for ease of eating it, I will chop the cabbage smaller next time. Great one, Bobtail! ~Messy44

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2007

      This is really good. Didn't use caraway seed-family doesn't like. My friend make this with homemade bread dough-that would make this 5 stars for me-but biscuits are good and easy as well as very good. Hit the spot and just like the sandwich only a new take.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2006

      Mmmmmm. This was very good. The only things I did differently were: I used a 16 oz can of biscuits and 3 1/2 cups of cabbage and I baked it in a 2-quart casserole dish. I used the amounts given for the rest of the ingredients. I will make this again and again. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2006

      This is a great recipe. I doubled the filling ingredients, used a 16 ouce can of biscuits and a 10 inch spring form pan. It baked for 25 minutes and was perfect. I cooked a corned beef the day before in the crock pot and this was the perfect leftover recipe. It took about 45 minutes start to finish, which is perfect for a quick after work dinner. Thanks for the great recipe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2006

      This is great!! I doubled the recipe and it disappeared at our brunch!! What a wonderful combo of flavors! Thank you!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2005

      This is a worderful dish. It looks like a deep dish pizza and tastes like a delicious corned beef sandwich from the deli. It's also easy to prepare. I used a food processor to chop up the cabbage and onions. I followed the recipe to a "T". Thanks for sharing. Deffinetly a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2014

      Extremely easy and quick to do, this meal ended up pretty filling for a family of four, which is the number of pieces I cut it into. I didn't add caraway as we didn't have any, which upon tasting was sort of a mistake. It could have done with more flavor, and next time I'll probably toss some salt/pepper on the cabbage, maybe even toss it with some more of the Thousand Island dressing before adding it. I also snuck extra cheese into every step of the recipe, because whoops-my-hand-slipped-guess-no-one-minds-more-cheese is a cooking habit of mine. <br/><br/>The family liked it! Smelled good, although the cabbage had stronger precedence and a slightly weird smell. When cooking, remember that the biscuits will puff up, making it expand beyond the pan a little! The swiss cheese/corned beef all melted together by that point to form a sort of net that kept it from spilling over, but it gave me a moment of "Wait what did I do wrong?" that took a second for me to realize what happened!<br/><br/>Totally making this again. Very delicious, much snack.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2014

      I wonder how it would be if I used canned corned beef hash over the cabbage? Thinking fry the hash first.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Reuben Cabbage Bake

    Serving Size: 1 (97 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 199.9
     
    Calories from Fat 110
    55%
    Total Fat 12.3 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 5.4 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 39.5 mg
    13%
    Sodium 500.3 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.7 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 1.8 g
    7%
    Protein 7.8 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes