182 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Awesome! Made this and forgot to review. But my family loves this sauce. I make it for homemade chicken Teriyaki and it's better than store bought sauce. Thanks for such a yummy recipe. My sauce my nice and thick too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sjpayne1 July 09, 2013

I just made it and its perfectly thick and yummy! All I could find in the store were marinades, this was so simple, it's silly not to make it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twinkiltoes July 05, 2013

I mixed this up to use in Anniversary Chicken. It tasted good in the recipe (which has quite a lot going on) but I didn't like the flavor alone. I thought it was too sweet and lacked depth. However, I did use some leftover dumpling dipping sauce instead of soy sauce, which would have completely altered the flavor profile. Although I usually make Teriyaki Sauce, it calls for fresh ginger, which requires planning. So I will probably try this recipe again using soy sauce and very carefully measuring the brown sugar and honey.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evewitch June 12, 2013

Sorry messed up on my first review. Love this recipe. It tastes just like the jar stuff we buy. Very easy to make, and if you know how to use cornstarch the right way as a thickening agent then the sauce comes out plenty thick. The only things I do different are I use minced ginger and minced garlic instead of ground and I use only a little over 1 tbsp of honey.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sweetpea2802 April 29, 2013

Perfect and easy in a pinch. . .when a recipe calls for Teriyaki and you have none in the fridge!!! I made it as written except I subbed out stevia for the sugar. YUM! UPDATE: I just used up the rest of the sauce atop grilled salmon and it was DY-NO-MITE! A keeper for sure. My husband said, "Don't put any of that sauce on my salmon. I don't normally like Teriyaki" and then he proceeded to put a dollop on each bite of fish. . . .hummm. .. I think he liked it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride April 02, 2013

I wanted a teriyaki sauce to make teriyaki chicken sushi nori rolls. It was amazing. So super easy and SO tasty. I didnt use the cornflour or the last 1/4 cup of cold water. I poured it over the chicken when it was ready (still thin and watery) and let it simmer down. It became thick and sticky, and absolutely perfect. No issues making it gluten free... just need a gluten free soy sauce (Fountain is great). Everything else is already GF. I didnt have garlic powder so I used 1tsp garlic from a jar. I'll definitely make this sauce again, I've already written it in to my favourites recipe book!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lindt_22 February 24, 2013

This was pretty tasty. Used it to glaze meatballs for a potluck.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Sandra J. January 30, 2013

Thank you :) I like a bit of spicy taste, so I added small amount of chilli paper flakes, increased ginger, used fresh garlic, and freshly grinded paper. Marinated chicken breast w/rib bones. Grilled and served with grilled broccoli & salad. bon appetit!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
T5_T2 January 18, 2013

Tried this tonight, and it was very good. Glad I found this site.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NOSAINTS January 15, 2013
Restaurant Teriyaki Sauce