184 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Phenomenal! I wanted to find a good recipe that my sister could have -- she has Celiac disease and can't have gluten, so readily available bottled sauce isn't something we can use. This was just wonderful. Before I added the slurry I had her taste the sauce and she said it tasted just like what she remembered from the restaurants. Five stars and two thumbs up!

A quick tip to those who said their sauce was too watery: a slurry (any type of starch mixed with water) needs to be made with cold to cool -- NEVER HOT -- water and added to SIMMERING liquid. It's okay to bring your liquid to a boil, but you need to lower it again until it's gently boiling with LITTLE waves. You can't just add cornstarch (or any starch) into a hot liquid, it won't bind it, and the liquid can't be too hot or it breaks the starch down and, again, it does nothing.

23 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jaxuiline May 28, 2011

Honolulu style: fresh ground ginger root use fresh mashed garlic substitute 1-2 tbs Guava Jelly for the honey 1 tbs crushed pineapple or juice 1 whole bay leaf 1 whole star Anise 1 tbs sake store in glass bottle, refrigerate for a day so the flavors mingle. Utilize the corn starch and water slurry to thicken when cooking just before serving, not added as a marinade.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ROBinHAWAII June 24, 2010

My teenage daughter wanted teriyaki chicken for dinner but I don't keep teriyaki sauce in the house. She simply said look up a recipe and make it. She knows I like to try new recipes I find on the Internet So here we are. I didn't have cornstarch, so I used flour as the thickener. My daughter loved the sauce--this recipe is definitely a keeper. NOTE: I omitted the ginger when I made sauce.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Msmissy130 March 17, 2011

Great sauce. don't listen to the people who said it's watery, etc. They obviously don't know how to cook with corn starch. Mine came out dark, rich & thick. I would probably cut down on the sugar just a little next time, but that's just my own personal taste.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
skinnyrobbie January 05, 2011

This sauce is awesome!!! I couldn't say enough good things about it! Chicken Teriyaki Stir Fry is one of our favorite meals but I don't make it all that often because the Teriyaki sauce we like we have to buy from a restaurant on the other side of town. No more! I will be making this often. Thank you so much for posting!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
run for your life July 16, 2010

This recipe is really good and flavorful and I generally have everything on hand. This is the second time making it and I made a couple change this time. I used 1/2 cp Orange juice to five it a tropical flavor. You could also use pineapple juice that would be good! I added a touch of sesame oil and some sesame seeds. I used the conrstarch and it did what it was supposed to do..thicken the sauce. If you have trouble with your leftovers pop them in the microwave for 30 seconds then give them a quick whisk and they are perfect again!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
babiebird11 June 13, 2010

Delicious! I halved the water, substituted 1/4 cup of honey for the sugar and honey in the recipe. Definately, my stir fry sauce from now on! Yummy!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef lady di November 20, 2011

This is a great quick delicious sauce! I was out of cornstarch so made a rue from 1T butter and 1 T flour, cooked and added to simmering sauce with the additional 1/4 cup water called for, brought to a boil then turned back to a simmer. This made the sauce shiny, thick and oh so yummy! Thanks for the great recipe and ideas.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
1summer11 June 24, 2011

Loved this sauce. I'm on a special diet and can't have all the sugar that is in teriyaki sauce. I was looking for a good recipe that I could make with Splenda when I found this one. I substituted Splenda for the sugar and honey and added a bit more garlic and ginger since I like my sauce on the spicy side. It was delicious! I used it on chicken breasts and even as a stir fry sauce. Next time I will use fresh ginger and garlic and make a double batch to keep in the fridge.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Becky Wagner May 24, 2011

Quick to make and tastes good, but once chilled the leftover sauce does become gloppy. This was the case with either cornstarch or flour. So I recommend making only as much sauce as can be used immediately and not trying to keep any leftovers.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deb's Recipes May 22, 2010
Restaurant Teriyaki Sauce