Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Restaurant-Style Tandoori Chicken in the Oven! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Restaurant-Style Tandoori Chicken in the Oven!

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on June 22, 2010

      OH BOY DID THIS E-X-C-I-T-E! Have this for night! Bought some tandoori colouring when last time in spice shop, I could go on about the colouring (which is wonderful) but will STOP lol This is the best it can be! What an authentic dish this was to me! Added less than 1/4 teaspoon tandoori colouring, TRUE! I have read can simply add a drop or two of red food colouring dye too! OK, I used chicken tenders, worked for me! Initially heated oven to 220C, then lowered it to 200, as was instinctual for me! Watch it slightly char, was lovely too! When I turned them over, I reapplied what was left of the marinated too! Lowered oven to 180C, cooked for ten minutes, rested for 30, worked PERFECT!!! ABSOLUTLEY PERFECT for me! Think the key is making sure whatever chicken you use, don't dry it out! AS THIS IS A GREAT RECIPE I CERTAINLY DO SHOUT!!! lol THANKS! UPDATE: Served this with Cucumber, Mint, and Tomato Raita Cucumber, Mint, and Tomato Raita TRUE! Slices of red onion, lemon juice...YUMBERINI WHOO HOO!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2011

      This recipe was AMAZING. I had a chef over for dinner and her 2 foodies and they licked their plates clean. Out of this world. Because I didn't have time to marinate the chicken, I baked it in a covered baking pot in all it's ingredients adding onions sliced round on top. I used 4 skinless chicken breasts and sliced them in half & tenderized them a bit with a mallet. I put all of the ingredients of the marinade in the pot with the chicken and while the oven heated up - it sat soaking in those yummy juices for about 30 minutes. Then I cooked it at 450 for 30 minutes then turned each piece over and cooked it for another 20 - 30 minutes. Took it out and as my guests arrived, I guess it sat in the pot in it's juices for another hour. To go along with the chicken I made saag and a mint chutney and heated up whole wheat pita. My chef friend made a dill cucumber yogurt salad with baby tomatoes that was the perfect addition to the meal. We were stuffed after 1 helping. I can't wait to make this meal again. Thanks for posting it and for everyone's person renditions.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2014

      This is a really easy, great tasting recipe. The first time I only used chicken thighs and they turned out good. The second time I used a whole chicken, I made twice the amount of the marinate sauce, cooked in the oven at 400 degrees for about an hour cover, then uncovered it and broil it on both sides. It turned out great!! I did not have the Thai paste, but I use chilli powder. It was a bit spicy, very tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2012

      LOVE THIS RECIPE!!! Tandoori chicken is one of my favorite dishes so have tried many varieties of it... This is the best oven baked tandoori's I've had. Served it with raita and naan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2011

      Excellent recipe! A house favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2010

      Lovely!

      I made a few modifications, which is normal for me. I tripled the amount of cayenne pepper, doubled the black pepper, quadrupled the paprika, and quadrupled the garlic. Used about double the chilli paste. (We like spiced up stuff in this house.) Used water buffalo curd instead of yoghurt - very similar dairy product, but the wb curd is thicker. Didn't have ginger *gasp!*, so that was omitted. Used about 1/2 to 2/3 the chicken and added chunks of potatoes and onions, all smothered in the yoghurt sauce. Didn't have time to marinade, so tossed all of it in a baking dish, so the chicken was not suspended, but rather sat in all the sauce along with everything else. Baked it for a bit over an hour, turning and stirring in between.

      Love love love love love it. Will definitely make this again. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2010

      Moist, tender and very tasty

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2009

      My bf has recently started a new diet and I needed something I could make for him without breaking it but something different. Think I just found it thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2009

      I can't vouch for the authenticity, but I can say that this is a terrific recipe. It's really not very difficult to pull the ingredients together, which is monumental when you have a 2-year-old! The skin came out so crisp, especially with the convection oven. The flavors were very unique and did remind me of some restaurants dishes in our South Indian community. Just the way to wake up your every day chicken!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Restaurant-Style Tandoori Chicken in the Oven!

    Serving Size: 1 (392 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 705.4
     
    Calories from Fat 429
    60%
    Total Fat 47.7 g
    73%
    Saturated Fat 14.3 g
    71%
    Cholesterol 232.9 mg
    77%
    Sodium 1404.8 mg
    58%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.0 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 3.7 g
    15%
    Protein 58.7 g
    117%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chili paste with garlic

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites