11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Loved this! I've been searching for a good ranch dressing recipe forever! I avoid MSG so instead of the Hidden Valley mix, I used Simply Organic. I don't like the dressing made according to the Simply Organic package directions, but I loved this variation! I also used closer to a tablespoon of the dressing mix.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RhondaW1 July 23, 2013

I absolutely loved this recipe!!!! I had been so disappointed in bottle ranch dressing... none of them seem to taste good anymore, so I decided to look on the internet and see if anyone had a good recipe for ranch dressing and found this... this one did not disappoint. I've been making this one ever since. I'm through with bottled ranch dressing!!!! Thanks for southern_gal12000!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladonna_ross October 04, 2009

Definetly better than bottled ranch, and I like that it does not taste "mayonaisse-y". I tasted it after an hour, but the flavor improved after a few extra hours in the refrigerator, so I would reccommend chilling for 2-3 hours.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AzMama17 December 17, 2008

I really liked this dressing, and followed this exactly. We will use this again, but I feel like it could use about 1 tablespoon of the ranch dressing mix versus 1 teaspoon. The garlic powder goes perfectly here, and I used low fat buttermilk with low fat mayo, and low fat sour cream. I also used the optional ingredients, the cayenne, the paprika, and some "Crazy Janes" Mixed up salt just to taste. Great recipe and will be using this often!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm August 20, 2008

This is really good. Based on other reviews, I did add a little more of the ranch seasoning, and it turned out perfect. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme September 19, 2006

This recipe is so quick and easy to put together and results in a delicious dressing. I followed the recipe as written. For the optional ingredients listed I used a scant 1/2 tsp paprika and several good shakes of cayenne and seasoning salt. I let it chill about an hour before using. So far I have tried it with salad, cheese sticks and sliced tomatoes. It has been great on all of them! Thanks for sharing your yummy recipe southern gal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Junebug August 29, 2006

I used reduced fat sourcream and and replaced the buttermilk with 1% and this turned out really good. I didn't think it had enough flavor initially so I added more ranch mix. 10 times better than the bottled stuff.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Erin Crable March 24, 2005

I love ranch dressing, this just didn't measure up. I will say that it was creamy, but had to add a whole pkt of Hidden Valley before it was useable.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
froggie_blue January 24, 2004

WOW, and I am one tough critic. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jockey January 03, 2004

This was excellent, I will never buy store bought again. Some of my family likes blue cheese dressing, so I crumbled some blue cheese on their salads. and sprinkled crispy crumbled bacon over all salads.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
L DJ July 12, 2003
Restaurant Style Ranch Dressing