8 Reviews

This is a very good rice recipe. I followed the recipe exactly. The only difference I made was that I sauteed the onions with 2 teaspoons of oil instead of using butter since I didn't have it available.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Menta November 04, 2011

Simple recipe that turned out well with some changes. It has a nice consistency and flavor. I didn't think it had enough flavor though so I used two cups of home made enchilada sauce and added a little more water. I also didn't add the bouillon or the carrots. Overall I have used this recipe for a few years now and really like it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
manderson December 10, 2010

This rice did not do it for us, unfortunately. We thought it was very bland and I had even doubled the enchilada sauce. I used long grain rice which was a mistake - I should have used parboiled rice. It would have helped the consistency but not the flavour. I used chicken broth instead of water. Sorry that I couldn't give a better review. Made for Zaar Stars Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deantini January 01, 2010

I was not impressed with this rice. It wasn't terrible, but nothing to write home about. I even used 1/2 cup of enchilada sauce, and still it was almost flavorless. I may try it again, but add some cumin, galic, something...very very bland.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ICULUV2cook2 February 16, 2008

I added peas along with the carrots to get my veggies in. Great recipe Puppity! Much enjoyed by all at our Mexican Fiesta tonight.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OutOfThyme January 16, 2008

Have to say I was surprised for this is very good, and done on time, thank you very good June 2007

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dee18920 June 13, 2007

Very good! I left out the carrots for fear my kids wouldn't touch the rice, and I used chicken broth instead of the water and left out the bouillon cube. Very tasty and was done right on time! Oh...btw, it doesn't say where to use the butter, but I sauted the onion in both the oil and butter. Made for Spring 2007 PAC!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmie777 May 01, 2007

Great side dish!! Very tasty!! Couldn't find enchilada sauce, so used salsa instead. Thanks puppitypup!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Redsie March 04, 2007
Restaurant Spanish Rice