95 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Thanks Lennie for posting a recipe for those of us who aren't as knowledgable. Making the stock just felt good. I used the first of it in Miller's Poultry Patties and they were sooo flavorful. The rest is in the freezer awaiting the call to duty.

32 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vverkin925 July 14, 2002

This was wonderful. I have always cooked the turkey meat on the bones to death. Never thought to remove meat and just stew bones. I used fresh sage and thyme and added fresh garlic. I used it to make your Turkey-Barley Soup #24638. It was the best turkey soup ever. Thanks for the great recipe.

28 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chippy October 04, 2002

I made this stock immediately after cleaning up dishes from Christmas. My husband loves to make small soups for himself, adding his own special ingredients (usuall hot stuff) that no one else likes. At any rate, we chilled the stock in cake pans (8 1/2 / 13) and then cut the gelled stock in squares, frezing them individually in zip-lock bags. Now we can make single serving meals, graveys, etc. at will. Thanks for sharing!

26 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jan Marie December 27, 2002

This is wonderful. I used chicken. I never thought to add thyme to stock. I love it. Thank you. To the reviewer who said it turned to jello in the refrigerator, nothing went went wrong. That's natural for poultry. If I want to make soup right away without waiting for it to get cold, I pour it through a fine sieve into a fat separator while it's still hot. That's a cup with the spout coming from the bottom. After the fat rises to the top, you pour the stock back into the pan and discard the fat that had risen to the top. With poultry I like the fat separator because I find it difficult to separate the fat from the "jello" without losing any of the valuable "jello". Plus I usually want to make soup right away. The house smells too good to wait till the next day. I freeze onion peelings, carrot ends, both ends of green onions, parsley stems - just keep adding to a plastic bag in the freezer. Then dump the bag into the pot with the bones when making any kind of stock. Strain out the vegetables with the bones and discard.

19 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ann Marie F November 23, 2002

Lennie, I made the stock on Sunday night using a 7 pound chicken carcass (didn't happen to have turkey on hand). I froze most of it for later use, but used some of it tonight and its absolutely wonderful! I thinned it a bit with some chardonnay, and used it in a basic risotto recipe. It truly was the best risotto I've ever made...the flavor was fantastic. I can't wait to use it in my other recipes. Thanks so much for posting it!

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dee514 October 08, 2002

Lennie... this is the one recipe I use over and over again! It is incredible! Thank you so much!!! And I must admit, it is MY FAVORITE RECIPE on this site because I use it so much.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deb k December 05, 2003

Oh, my, this is delicious! I did use fresh thyme instead of dry. We still had some meat on the back and wings, and just cooked that with the carcass. I removed the meat after cooling it all to use separately. The color was perfect and the flavor could not have been any better. It's the perfect recipe. I made soup with it the next day and froze the rest. I'll never throw the carcass away again! P.S. I edited this because, for some reason, the first time the stars didn't post!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PanNan December 08, 2002

A great guide to making stock. Thanks Lennie! I also threw a couple bay leaves in mine. Now I just have to make the soup...yummy!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sackville October 16, 2002

This is the first time I've ever tried making stock and I'm quite impressed at how simple it was to do. It's great how easy it is to get the unwanted fat off after refrigeration. I used some of it to make gravy for hot turkey sandwiches with the leftovers from yesterday's turkey. Just delicious. I'll be doing this with the turkey bones from now on. Thanks

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Pixie* October 14, 2002

This is an excellent soup stock.Easy to make.I added a little white wine to the beginning of the stock.It does take about 4 hours of simmering for the full flavor to come out.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carmen B. January 01, 2003
Rescued Turkey Stock