Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Renaissance Festival Turkey Legs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Renaissance Festival Turkey Legs

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on November 08, 2010

      It is interesting to note that the turkey legs served at Festivals are in no way authentic. Turkey is a new world food and nobody back then was eating turkey legs. They still are delicious though.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2010

      Really, really good. I made this with chicken legs and wings. Reduced cooking time to 30 minutes in oven and then grilled inside oven on a rack with sauce for about 10 more minutes. The meat just fell off the bones. I used our favorite barbeque seasoning "butt rub". It sounds weird, I know... but it is soooo good. For the sauce, I used a honey barbeque sauce. Yum! Made for ZWT6

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2012

      I didn't want to heat the kitchen up, so I cooked this entirely on the grill. I did the oven portion in a pan on the grill. It took about an hour for step 4, since I spent a lot of time messing with the burners to get a proper temperature. The legs turned out well, but were not as flavorful as I would have liked. However, I never marinated them due to lack of time. I just made up half of the ingredients (because the directions say to pour half out before cooking) and cooked without marinating. Next time I will try to get the marinade going the day before and see if that enhances the flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2011

      We liked these turkey legs. They were certainly easy to make and I liked that the prep was minimal. I used Montreal chicken seasoning and Dinosaur BBQ sauce. We smoked the turkey legs on the grill as suggested by adding a hickory chunk to the coals; DH suggested that if we made it again, he might use apple instead to smoke the meat. We served with roasted cauliflower and grilled chive potatoes. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2010

      Nice turkey legs recipe. I prefer my turkey skin to be crisp. We did not grill it later-just too tired-but that probably would do the trick. Served with roasted potatoes and carrots and for dessert had Walnut Delights (Koeka). Thank you Virginia for sharing. Made for ZWT6 Zingo for Unrulies Under the Influence.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2010

      Wonderful recipe! I liked that the meat flavor was really good. I don't care for bbq meat if the sauce overpowers the meat. The sauce in this recipe compliments the meat but is subtle and gentle to the palate. The meat was done to perfection. Cooked to complete doneness but still nice and moist. This recipe will definitely be repeated. Made for Zingo--ZWT#6--2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2010

      I cannot believe what difference this cooking method makes. Although I used chicken legs (hey they were on sale!), this is a terrific recipe. Somehow, cooking in the vinegar and spices in the oven first, lends a perfume to the meat. I did remove the skin, and I brushed BBQ sauce on before grilling and got a nice char on the outside. Really delicious. Made for ZWT #6 - ZINGO.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2010

      I thought this was such a nifty recipe. I used chicken legs and it worked just great! My whole family really enjoyed the flavor. I can't wait to try them with turkey legs now!! Thank you for the delicious recipe! ~Made during ZWT6 Zee Zesties~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2010

      I couldn't find Turkey legs so I used Turkey wings and scaled the recipe down for 1. The marinade added GREAT FLAVOR but I didn't like the texture that the baking gave to the skin after finishing on the grill, the skin didn't get crispy. I will try this again with legs and after marinating I'll put them in the smoker. Thanks! *Made for Seasoned Sailor and his Sassy Sirens ZWT 6*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2010

      Perfect! Made easily and was so great, I thought I might of actually gone to the "Renaissance Festival". Wow, these are so spiffy you will absolutely wonder why you pay $4.00 per leg at the fair when you can make these at home! Followed this exactly, put on the grill for last 30 minutes. Made for ZWT #6 Zee Zesty! June 1st 2010

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2009

      These turkey legs were terrific. I didn't smoke or grill them, cooked them in the oven. They still turned out tasty and tender. I used a bbq seasoning and marinated overnight. Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Renaissance Festival Turkey Legs

    Serving Size: 1 (1031 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1191.6
     
    Calories from Fat 493
    41%
    Total Fat 54.8 g
    84%
    Saturated Fat 16.8 g
    84%
    Cholesterol 579.3 mg
    193%
    Sodium 673.2 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.7 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 1.9 g
    7%
    Protein 159.4 g
    318%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    barbecue seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites