Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Remarkable Rhubarb Bites Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Remarkable Rhubarb Bites

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on October 07, 2001

      Easy to make and absolutely delicious. A perfect combination of moist, sweet and tart tastes. This will certainly be a recipe that we will use often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2002

      Really good! I had no idea what it would be like. It's not fluffy or thick like cake. It's kind of like a cookie bar, or it is kind of like a thin brownie consistancy with a cruncy top. Quite sweet; you can taste the sugar and brown sugar. Easy to cut into squares. So easy to make. The sweetness balances out the rhubarb. Something different to try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2002

      This was a really terrific recipe and a big hit with my family. It fills the house with a delicious scent and certainly makes wonderful use of the fresh rhubarb in my garden. This is a nice dessert but I can see that it would be lovely with morning coffee too. Thanks for a great receipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2003

      With a huge rhubarb crop this year, I'm trying lots of new recipes. This one is a real winner! Would advise mixing sugar and rhubarb at least 15 minutes before starting the rest of the recipe, this gives the fruit (or is it a veggie, never did get that straight) time to and sugar time to develop some nice juice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2009

      Absolutely delicious. Very moist. I let the rhubarb set with 1/2 c sugar for 15 minutes to give the fruit and sugar time to develop some juice. I then lessened the sugars to another 1/4 c white sugar and only 1/2 c brown sugar. Instead of shortening (only cause I didn't have any) I used margarine. Followed the rest of the recipe. The batter seemed dry and sticky and hard to spread when I put it in the pan but it came out perfect and moist. It was done in 40 minutes. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2009

      Very very good! I took the advice and let the sugar and rhubarb set for a little while. Even my husband who HATES rhubarb says liked it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2009

      I loved this recipe. I used an egg replacer instead of an egg and it turned out great. I made them for mother's day and shared with friends as well. I think most people underrate rhubarb! I love it and glad now that my friends and family will request this over and over again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2013

      Here in the UK we have a lot of rhubarb - must be the climate! We were very happy to try this recipe. Lovely and crunchy outside, soft and moist inside. I cut back on the sugar almost instinctively - and it was perfect. Dave said it was worth the wait and is heading off for second helpings! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2011

      Good taste, but needed significantly more rhubarb to balance out the other filling. I put about 2-1/2 cups and I would put at least 4 cups in next time. The surrounding batter was definitely sweet enough to handle it - I'm really surprised at folks who described this recipe as "not sweet"... I also used butter instead of shortening.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2011

      I made these for a potluck tomorrow and they turned out wonderfully! I love rhubarb so I would have liked more rhubarb flavor out of them but to serve to others (most of whom probably aren't as big fans of rhubarb as I am) I think this is a wonderful combination of sweet and (just a bit) tart. They are somewhere between a cake and a bar and I think next time I make them, I may use more rhubarb in hopes of getting more 'juice' and making them more solid and bar-like. Either way, these are delicious and a wonderful way to enjoy my rhubarb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2010

      Everyone in our house loves these!
      Two pans gone over the weekend.
      Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2010

      Only a meh for me, because they don't have a lot of rhubarb flavor, but my husband who doesn't like rhubarb that much thought they were good (surprise) and many of the folks I fed them to liked them. As the other reviewers said, these are basically blondies, and would be much improved with some nuts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2010

      Very good...I also used butter instead of shortening and it was very moist. I also allowed the rhubarb to sit in the sugar for a good 20 minutes to release the liquid. It's a nice cross between a cake and a cookie bar. We all agreed that the addition of walnuts or pecans would be really nice too...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2009

      More like a cake.Not as moist as I would of liked..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2009

      Remarkable!! Easy and moist. Everyone liked them...will make again. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2008

      These were a bit hit at the office. I used frozen rhubarb and it worked just fine. I added chopped nuts and I got lots of good reviews from everyone who had them. I love rhubarb and knew I would love them, and I did! DH was jealous that I brought them all into work, so I promised to make him a batch and will soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2008

      Everyone really liked these bars, including myself:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2008

      These are Wonderful! I couldn't wait for them to cool completely because of the aroma. I made them for work tomorrow.....I hope I have some left!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2008

      I thought this would be squares, but it ended up more like a cake. It was too sweet for me, although my husband and kids liked it well enough. I won't make it again, though - not tasty enough to be worth using that much sugar. Sorry :(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2008

      Delicious and super easy to make! I like that they are not super sweet--just sweet enough. The crust that forms on top is delicious. Someone else said they were like blondies, I agree. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Remarkable Rhubarb Bites

    Serving Size: 1 (44 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 148.3
     
    Calories from Fat 41
    27%
    Total Fat 4.5 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 7.7 mg
    2%
    Sodium 82.9 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.8 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 17.3 g
    69%
    Protein 1.4 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites