9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Just made half a batch of these, used Splenda instead of sugar, used semi-skimmed milk instead of buttermilk and omitted the half and half. Only needed about half of the milk as someone else said. Added sultanas, mixed peel and chopped dates. They were a little crumbly but delicious with jam and Quark sweetened with Splenda. Brilliant!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Greyjma March 08, 2013

Followed your recipe right on down, but did use a half cup of diced dried apricots (the optional dried fruit) & then initially served them with some apricot preserves! DELICIOUS, without a doubt! Will certainly make these again! [Made & reviewed in Healthy Choices ABC recipe tag]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike June 08, 2011

These scones were delicious! They have such a yummy nutty taste from the wholegrain flour and the oats and dried fruits add wonderful texture and taste. Mmmm! What a great way to start the day!
I needed only 1/4 cup of liquid for half the recipe to make the dough workable and ened up with 4 chunky rounds. THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this keeper with us, slicedpeaches!
Made and reviewed for Healthy Choices Tag Game January 2011.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula January 22, 2011

I'm vegan, so I substituted for the butter and buttermilk (2/3 tsp vinegar with 2/3 cup soymilk works perfectly), but they still came out WONDERFULLY. Delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aorukhu April 10, 2010

These scones are to die for! I used lowfat buttermilk, splenda, craisins, and orange zest!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Toni R. March 13, 2010

These are tasty, healthy scones. I omitted the salt and the topping. It was still flavorful. If you want a healthy substitute for a high calorie scone this is it. East to make with ingredients you probably already have in your pantry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CindyB55 December 04, 2009

I made these tonight and forgot the sugar in the recipe. I did coat the tops with buttermilk and sprinkled sugar on top. Just right. I did add cranberries also.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cherkomoo May 10, 2009

My family enjoyed these very much. I used crystalized ginger, chopped dates, and chopped apricots. Like the last reviewer I found the dough to be too moist and will reduce the buttermilk to 1/2 cup next time. Also, I used 1 tsp almond extract in place of the vanilla to accentuate the fruit I chose, and used a Tbsp of greek yogurt instead of half and half.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
keh March 23, 2009

Good scone! I loved the whole wheat flour and oats. The dough however was very wet and I had to had more flour and oats. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kelly in TO June 26, 2008
(Relatively) Healthy Oatmeal Scones