Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / (Relatively) Healthy Oatmeal Scones Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    (Relatively) Healthy Oatmeal Scones

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on March 08, 2013

      Just made half a batch of these, used Splenda instead of sugar, used semi-skimmed milk instead of buttermilk and omitted the half and half. Only needed about half of the milk as someone else said. Added sultanas, mixed peel and chopped dates. They were a little crumbly but delicious with jam and Quark sweetened with Splenda. Brilliant!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2011

      Followed your recipe right on down, but did use a half cup of diced dried apricots (the optional dried fruit) & then initially served them with some apricot preserves! DELICIOUS, without a doubt! Will certainly make these again! [Made & reviewed in Healthy Choices ABC recipe tag]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2011

      These scones were delicious! They have such a yummy nutty taste from the wholegrain flour and the oats and dried fruits add wonderful texture and taste. Mmmm! What a great way to start the day!
      I needed only 1/4 cup of liquid for half the recipe to make the dough workable and ened up with 4 chunky rounds. THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this keeper with us, slicedpeaches!
      Made and reviewed for Healthy Choices Tag Game January 2011.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2010

      I'm vegan, so I substituted for the butter and buttermilk (2/3 tsp vinegar with 2/3 cup soymilk works perfectly), but they still came out WONDERFULLY. Delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2010

      These scones are to die for! I used lowfat buttermilk, splenda, craisins, and orange zest!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2009

      These are tasty, healthy scones. I omitted the salt and the topping. It was still flavorful. If you want a healthy substitute for a high calorie scone this is it. East to make with ingredients you probably already have in your pantry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2009

      I made these tonight and forgot the sugar in the recipe. I did coat the tops with buttermilk and sprinkled sugar on top. Just right. I did add cranberries also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2009

      My family enjoyed these very much. I used crystalized ginger, chopped dates, and chopped apricots. Like the last reviewer I found the dough to be too moist and will reduce the buttermilk to 1/2 cup next time. Also, I used 1 tsp almond extract in place of the vanilla to accentuate the fruit I chose, and used a Tbsp of greek yogurt instead of half and half.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2008

      Good scone! I loved the whole wheat flour and oats. The dough however was very wet and I had to had more flour and oats. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for (Relatively) Healthy Oatmeal Scones

    Serving Size: 1 (47 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 153.8
     
    Calories from Fat 46
    30%
    Total Fat 5.1 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 2.7 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 8.5 mg
    2%
    Sodium 214.3 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.1 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    11%
    Sugars 4.5 g
    18%
    Protein 4.4 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites