Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / (Relatively) Healthy Cinnamon Buns Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    (Relatively) Healthy Cinnamon Buns

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on December 25, 2011

      These were so good and so moist. I used a little extra milk by mistake, but it kind of really helped, as it made the cinnamon buns more moist. I used dried cherries, because they were a delicious change from the raisins usually found in these kinds of cinnamon buns.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2010

      Don't laugh, but the first time I made these I by mistake grabbed the cayenne pepper instead of the cinnamon, so the filling was spicy and the whole thing tasted gross. The second time, it tasted very good, but wasn't the right texture. The dough didn't rise and it was very heavy. It could have been my yeast because that also happened to the dough the first time I made these.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2007

      I made these a couple of weeks ago and they turned out really tasty. I made a fat free glaze will a little vanilla, fat free milk, and powdered sugar. The only problem I had was when I rolled up the dough it was pretty sticky and difficult to cut. Filling kind of went everywhere. I managed to stuff them into the pan and they resembled cinnamon buns. I also had to almost double the amount of filling to spread it over the dough. They turned out really well but I was kind of having my doubts at first. Thanks for the low fat recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2007

      Oh, my goodness... these are GOOD!! I was a bit worried that they wouldn't turn out, because I made quite a few changes to the recipe, but they were wonderful!! I used fat-free soymilk, 1 T applesauce in place of the oil, 1 T Splenda in place of the sugar, 2 1/4 cups of flour, Splenda brown sugar blend, and 1/2 t orange extract instead of the zest. I also added about a T of honey in lieu of the corn syrup, but my filling mixture was still sort of meager, so I added in a bit of soymilk. I left out the raisins due to a personal preference. They didn't rise as much as I would have liked, but maybe that's because of all my changes! These were delicious heated up in the microwave the next day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2007

      Mom made these for Christmas because we were both on WW. They're not bad, but they're small and I'd rather splurge for one of her regular-sized, TRUE cinnamon rolls. But if you're dying and don't have extra points to burn up, these will work nicely :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2007

      I tried this recipe , the buns turned out awsome , I did however add a creamcheese frosting on top. Mmmmmm , gooooood kirt

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2006

      First of all, i was very happy to see a nice low fat recipe for cinnamon buns which i was really craving. I made the buns this weekend, it did take a while to make but it was worth it. On the filling, i did not use corn syrup. Instead i used a half a cup of brown sugar. I also left out the orange zest. They baked up nicely and had great flavor and texture. The only thing is that the inside wasnt as gooey and doughy as i would have liked, so next time i may reduce the cooking time to get the doughyness on the inside. This is a delicious recipe! Thanks very much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2005

      These worked out great... well, that is until I burnt them! I was stuck helping my fiance put in my dishwasher and didn't get back to them in time. They aren't black, just heavily browned. Other than that, they are great. The flavour of the mix that you spread inside is wonderful. I used dried cherries and they tasted quite neat in the mix. (I tasted it before they went in.) The dough was easy to work with as well. This is my second time using yeast and I was amazed to have done it right. I will try these again and hopefully not burn them! I can still give 5 stars because the directions were wonderful, and the recipe itself turned out excellent. It was my error that ruined this batch. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2002

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for (Relatively) Healthy Cinnamon Buns

    Serving Size: 1 (782 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 166.4
     
    Calories from Fat 13
    16%
    Total Fat 1.5 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.4 mg
    0%
    Sodium 215.6 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.9 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 10.2 g
    40%
    Protein 3.9 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites