28 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The dogs are LOVING this. I used canned pumpkin in place of the baby food, 1 banana in place of the 2 eggs, and a mix of brown rice flour and oat flour. I also added cinnamon and rosemary to preserve. I used bone and dog cookie cutters and then dipped them in melted carob. They're still drying on the shelf and my 8 month old standard poodle is sniffing and whining for more!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
delsolarie January 05, 2009

I have 3 small dogs. All VERY excited over these treats. My Coton de Tulear does her best to steal them from the Havanese, hoarding them in here cheeks. Sadly for my pups I gave half the first batch to friend for her dogs so batch 2 is about to commence!
11/9/12 ADDENDUM: When I don't have baby food on hand (I stock up just for this when it's on sale) I substitute canned pumpkin or baked and mashed sweet potato and my girls love the variations. I also have switched to brown rice flour. Great basic recipe that allows for lots of fun and flexibility!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Acceptance November 09, 2012

I've made these a few times now and thought it was about time to let you know how much my little chihuahua'a love them! Very easy to make. Mojo and Scooby can't wait to eat them. They'll come back for more, over and over again. Everytime I walk in the kitchen they follow me thinking they are going to get a treat. I'll never buy treats from the store again, thanks! This is a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heartspell January 09, 2011

I have made these about 4 times now and Max and Stewie still LOVE them! And so does my mom's dog. I never have baby food on hand so I substituted pumpkin instead. They are so easy to make too! Thanks so much for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IdrilMoonshadowtheChef March 07, 2010

I will never buy dog treats ever again. My dog, my sisters dog and my godmothers dog LOVED these. I used sweet potato and mixed fruit organic baby food. I rolled out the dough and cut into medium size bone shapes (made 44 treats) These are budget friendly, easy to make, versitle, and apparently uber tasty! Thanx!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SoupCookie March 06, 2010

Very versatile base recipe. I planned on using pureed pumpkin, but couldn't find it in the store so I bought some yams instead. I boiled them and beat them & the other ingredients in the KitchenAid. I also added some crunchy peanut butter & oats per others suggestions. I omitted the salt as well as I didn't want him to have the added sodium, though the PB added some.They are slightly puffy & a little soft, and I pulled them out of the oven early because the bottoms were browning. To get them a little crunchier, I flipped them all over & baked a little longer. Regardless, the dog has eaten some and seems to like them. I like that I know exactly whats in his treats.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MEPeralto January 03, 2010

I just made these for my 2 dogs and they seem pretty satisfied! I used pumpkin in place of the baby food and put about 1/4 cup creamy peanut butter into the mixture. They rolled out nicely, and it was very easy to cut out tiny little daisy treats! The dough wasn't sticky or messy at all. I do think I'll follow another reveiw next time and add a banana for a little extra sweetness. Very good recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
abbilyn February 23, 2009

40 paws way, way up (we have 10 dogs). Each of them loved these treats! The dough was really sticky, so next time I'll add about 1/4 C oats and that should help. No complaints about the taste, they "woofed" these babies down and begged for more. Great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
westtextazzy January 12, 2009

Just made my first batch of the cookies and both dog ate them up!!! I can't want to try out new combination's... and the idea of adding pumpkin for the stomach!!! Thanks for sharing!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bea A Gal... January 01, 2009

My DD little pup, Winnie was not feeling very well and had not eaten during the day. I used organic pumpkin instead of the baby food. These were originally made as a treat for Christmas, but already knowing that pumpkin is good for the stomach, I gave some to my DD to see if she would eat them. We had to break them into pieces, but she loved the treat. She later came up to our house and I broke up another to give to her. She looked like a little chipmunk, storing the cookies in her mouth.....and later I found part of the cookie down my favorite chair. I would make these again for my favorit little girl!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abby Girl December 19, 2008
Rei's Favorite Cookies (dog Treats)