Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Rei's Favorite Cookies (dog Treats) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rei's Favorite Cookies (dog Treats)

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on January 05, 2009

      The dogs are LOVING this. I used canned pumpkin in place of the baby food, 1 banana in place of the 2 eggs, and a mix of brown rice flour and oat flour. I also added cinnamon and rosemary to preserve. I used bone and dog cookie cutters and then dipped them in melted carob. They're still drying on the shelf and my 8 month old standard poodle is sniffing and whining for more!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2012

      I have 3 small dogs. All VERY excited over these treats. My Coton de Tulear does her best to steal them from the Havanese, hoarding them in here cheeks. Sadly for my pups I gave half the first batch to friend for her dogs so batch 2 is about to commence!
      11/9/12 ADDENDUM: When I don't have baby food on hand (I stock up just for this when it's on sale) I substitute canned pumpkin or baked and mashed sweet potato and my girls love the variations. I also have switched to brown rice flour. Great basic recipe that allows for lots of fun and flexibility!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2011

      I've made these a few times now and thought it was about time to let you know how much my little chihuahua'a love them! Very easy to make. Mojo and Scooby can't wait to eat them. They'll come back for more, over and over again. Everytime I walk in the kitchen they follow me thinking they are going to get a treat. I'll never buy treats from the store again, thanks! This is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2010

      I have made these about 4 times now and Max and Stewie still LOVE them! And so does my mom's dog. I never have baby food on hand so I substituted pumpkin instead. They are so easy to make too! Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2010

      I will never buy dog treats ever again. My dog, my sisters dog and my godmothers dog LOVED these. I used sweet potato and mixed fruit organic baby food. I rolled out the dough and cut into medium size bone shapes (made 44 treats) These are budget friendly, easy to make, versitle, and apparently uber tasty! Thanx!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      Very versatile base recipe. I planned on using pureed pumpkin, but couldn't find it in the store so I bought some yams instead. I boiled them and beat them & the other ingredients in the KitchenAid. I also added some crunchy peanut butter & oats per others suggestions. I omitted the salt as well as I didn't want him to have the added sodium, though the PB added some.They are slightly puffy & a little soft, and I pulled them out of the oven early because the bottoms were browning. To get them a little crunchier, I flipped them all over & baked a little longer. Regardless, the dog has eaten some and seems to like them. I like that I know exactly whats in his treats.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2009

      I just made these for my 2 dogs and they seem pretty satisfied! I used pumpkin in place of the baby food and put about 1/4 cup creamy peanut butter into the mixture. They rolled out nicely, and it was very easy to cut out tiny little daisy treats! The dough wasn't sticky or messy at all. I do think I'll follow another reveiw next time and add a banana for a little extra sweetness. Very good recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      40 paws way, way up (we have 10 dogs). Each of them loved these treats! The dough was really sticky, so next time I'll add about 1/4 C oats and that should help. No complaints about the taste, they "woofed" these babies down and begged for more. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      Just made my first batch of the cookies and both dog ate them up!!! I can't want to try out new combination's... and the idea of adding pumpkin for the stomach!!! Thanks for sharing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2008

      My DD little pup, Winnie was not feeling very well and had not eaten during the day. I used organic pumpkin instead of the baby food. These were originally made as a treat for Christmas, but already knowing that pumpkin is good for the stomach, I gave some to my DD to see if she would eat them. We had to break them into pieces, but she loved the treat. She later came up to our house and I broke up another to give to her. She looked like a little chipmunk, storing the cookies in her mouth.....and later I found part of the cookie down my favorite chair. I would make these again for my favorit little girl!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2008

      My two kids LOVE these cookies. I add about a half cup of rolled oats and I use sweet potato baby food. I roll them out and cut out small dog bones for my pomhuahua and medium bones for my lab. They just go crazy over these things. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2008

      My doberman, Logan, is going NUTS!!!! He can smell these baking in the oven, and he saw me open a can of pumpkin :) I replaced the baby food with pure canned pumpkin. Not only does the dogs love it, pumpkin is fantastic for doggies tummies. I also added some cinnamon. I rolled this out and used little dog bone and heart cookie cutters. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2008

      Made these for my girl Maggie Mae. I made as written. I did have 1 problem they turned out like hockey pucks. I had them in for 40 minutes, then i let them cool for awile in the oven. Next time i will take them out earlier. Maggie didn't care she ate them anyway.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2008

      Wow! Molly and Casey looved them we also shared them with some of their pooch friends and they also loved them!!Casey is very picky over her treats ! Great recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2008

      My dog, Jeter, loved these!! I've made him treats before but this is the first time ever he was jumping on the counter up until an hour later to get more!!!! The next morning he went right to the counter where they were, I couldn't believe it! The ones I made last night were with Peas & sweet potato & chicken. Thanks for sharing!! :O)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2008

      I am impressed Dreamer! I have the pickiest (but sweetest) pooch that has only eaten one type of treat all of his 12 years. Oh a whim, I whipped these up using chicken and sweet potato baby foods and he kept coming back for more! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2008

      I don't even have a dog but this seemed like such a great recipe that I had to make them! My son tried one (on a double dog dare...no pun intended) and said that they were good! I now have to find a pooch to give them to. I took a pic, I'll get it in soon...Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2008

      Libby says *5* paws all the way - so we had to go borrow my mom's dog for the 5th paw and gave her a treat too. I used carrot baby food for the base. Libby is allergic to wheat and corn so I used the rice flour and it did work well - a bit dry but I just added a little touch of water to help out. Loved that I did not need to cut out but could just roll into balls and flatten. Thanks for sharing! Made for Zaar Chef Alphabet Soup Tag Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2008

      Definately a 5-bark recipe. My dog must love them because she keeps coming back for more. I will definitely be making these again for her. Next time I'll use less flour because I found them a bit difficult to mix together....ended up having to use my hands. Recipe made about 50 or so snacks. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      No complaints here! My dogs (large and small) LOVE them. Dough was easy to form into different shapes. My daughter and I made ones shaped like cookies, pretzels, sticks and rings. Thanks for a great recipe. We will use again. Happy New Year.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rei's Favorite Cookies (dog Treats)

    Serving Size: 1 (728 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 24.9
     
    Calories from Fat 2
    11%
    Total Fat 0.3 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 6.2 mg
    2%
    Sodium 21.8 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.7 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 1.0 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes