Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Regular White Icing (Add Butter to Make Buttercream Icing) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Regular White Icing (Add Butter to Make Buttercream Icing)

    Average Rating:

    54 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 54

    Sort by:

    • on May 09, 2010

      I liked this icing b/c it didn't call for shortening. It was a good buttercream icing. I doubled the batch to icing 2 layer cake and it just made it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2012

      I have been trying to find a white or buttercream icing that is not super sweet. This is what I have been looking for! AMAZING!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2009

      I think you are so funny! Thanks for the laugh. I chose to go the route of icing everything in my home! LOL! J/K!!! Still giggling over here!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2009

      Great icing! The recipe didn't specify when to add the butter, so I creamed it and then added the powdered sugar. I measured the milk into a liquid measuring cup and then just poured a bit in at a time rather than struggling with measuring in teaspoon increments. Can you believe it took nearly 28 years of married life cooking to figure that one out? It worked like a charm. I just poured the unused milk back into the carton. Also, I added the vanilla at the end. Anyway, Kelly, thanks for a very good recipe! I look forward to trying your white cake soon!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2012

      I was looking for a recipe that makes a smaller amount of icing because I was making a "Wacky Cake", which is baked in an 8x8 pan. This icing has a great consistency and wonderful flavor. Be sure to mix the powdered sugar and butter together with an electric mixer before adding the milk and vanilla. You will have a smooth and creamy consistency that way. Thanks, Kelly, for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2011

    • on January 28, 2011

      I absolutely LOVE this icing WITH the butter AND the directions....... LOL
      It is so simple and so good........plus the part about adding milk in TINY proportions is dead on advice.
      I LOVE vanilla so I used 2 teaspoons and next time may use even a bit more.
      Wonderful!
      The ingredients called for will ice an angel food cake very nicely.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2010

      this is my go-to white icing recipe! i have used it several times. I love the sassy directions :) lol

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2010

      Made this recipe for chocolate cupcakes and sprinkled them with coconut, so good! I halved the recipe, however, and still had some leftover (didn't want to make them too sweet).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2010

      omg it is soo good it was our first time and it was dilish!!!!!!! :) its like of the scale haha and the cupcakes were soo yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2010

      Very easy and smooth icing, I added green food coloring for St. Patrick's Day cupcakes, nice sweet taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2009

      perfect. tasty, sweet, excellent texture and good tips. thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2009

      excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2009

      Great icing for cut-out sugar cookies! We made pumpkin shaped cookies tonight topped with chocolate chips and candy corns. My usual icing recipe has shortening in it and I couldn't find any in the house! So your recipe came in very handy. I made it orange. It was perfect for the cookies. We all had a blast!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2009

      Very nice. I did the butter version and mixed until it was balled then added milk, an extra teaspoon of vanilla and 1 tsp of corn syrup. When it dried it had a soft crust to it that went perfectly with the cake. I used on Quick Yellow Cake. Quick Yellow Cake

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2009

      I have used this a few times and have forgot to rate it.. but this really easy. I have added all different flavors and have heated this up so when it cooled it had a "hard candy" type crunch to it.. thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2009

      Excellent! Made the Buttercream version and added just a touch of almond flavoring.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2009

      Worked very well! I made both the butter cream and the regular white varieties, and they both turned out as hoped! Needed only a few teaspoons of the milk for the buttercream, adding it a little at a time was a great tip!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2009

      Great recipe and tasted delicious! Thankssss

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2009

      This was excellent! I made cupcakes using 1 box of cake mix and 1 can of pumpkin, and I wanted to jazz them up a little. To make it a little more chocolate-y I substituted out the last 1/2 c of powdered sugar for hot cocoa mix (it was all I had). Turned out fabulous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Regular White Icing (Add Butter to Make Buttercream Icing)

    Serving Size: 1 (25 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 112.3
     
    Calories from Fat 34
    30%
    Total Fat 3.8 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 2.4 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 10.2 mg
    3%
    Sodium 47.2 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.9 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 19.5 g
    78%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes