95 Reviews

Wow as good as all the reviews. A must make and new staple in my house. This was AMAZING. I made it for a friend and she cobbled it all up with a big smile. The fresh lime at the end... YUMMY! A few modifications to spice it up and I prefer to marinade and grill on skewers. Minced 2 teaspoons of fresh ginger instead of 1 1/2, garlic was fresh not powder,minced one whole jalapeno, cayenne is a must, lots of cracked black pepper, squeezed juice of one lime, and a tablespoon of white vinegar. Cubed the chicken and poured it all into a ziplock bag for a fews hours to soak. Grilled on skewers 4 min a side. Cilantro cream sauce- low fat sour cream, 4 teaspoons of lime not 2 and grated lime rind as well. Salt and pepper to taste. Next time I may use a thicker greek type pita as the whole wheat tortilla was a bit flimsy to hold in the cream sauce. Already on the menu for dinner this weekend.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gbn May 11, 2010

This was okay, but very bland, even after I added/adjusted knowing that I like a bit of spice. I did use fresh garlic and it made a sort of paste with the dry ingredients that DID make a nice rub. The prep time was not close to 15 minutes for me...this took me over an hour start to finish with the slicing, dicing, chicken prep, etc. Maybe if I did some tweaking for my tastes...thank you for sharing the recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
saratogaslim August 29, 2009

I made a tofu version by doubling the spice mixture, adding its volume in flour, coating the tofu and then frying it for 10 minutes. I also added a bit of the spice mixture to the sauce, and served wrapped up in a tortilla. It was pretty good, but I don't think it wound up tasting anything like the meat version is supposed to. Great sauce.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SAHS September 16, 2010

My boyfriend picked this for us to make in a long-distance relationship and I was hesitant.
I actually added far more ginger, spice, and paprika. I added jullianed jalopenos with the peppers and cayenne with the sour cream, just to kick it all up.

What a wonderful recipe and fun to make. You can use the leftovers to make fajitas, or add peanuts, zuccini, and chestnuts for a kung pao! I would recommend this a thousand times again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bridiemac211 September 16, 2012

These were very good and the only complaint that I got was that the cilantro taste in the sauce was overpowering (and I agree). Everything else was great. I used boneless skinless chicken tenderloins and marinated them for about 4 hours and they definitely soaked up the flavors of the marinade. I was disappointed because of the overpowering cilantro flavor but it wasn't enough to ruin the meal because everyone gobbled it up pretty quickly. I think the next time I make it, I will also marinate the onions and peppers in the sauce and cut way back on the cilantro. Thank you for posting it was pretty yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PSU Lioness July 01, 2012

These were pretty good but not as flavorful as I expected. The chicken does not really seem to absorb the flavors of the spice mixture. I think maybe a true marinade would work better. I cut the chicken in strips, which worked out fine. I would love to try this again, just making a few adjustments. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JackieOhNo! January 18, 2012

Reggae Wraps...I added just a tad more Calypso and they were then perfect. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng September 16, 2010

Served in pita bread. Used extra sauce throughout the week as salad dressing. Very good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jane49423 September 13, 2010

Very good recipe. It was not near enough spice for us though. I will be doubling or tripling the spices next time. Added garlic to the sauce and it was a welcome addition.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marla in TX August 10, 2010
Reggae Wraps