Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Reggae Wraps Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Reggae Wraps

    Average Rating:

    95 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 95

    Sort by:

    • on May 11, 2010

      Wow as good as all the reviews. A must make and new staple in my house. This was AMAZING. I made it for a friend and she cobbled it all up with a big smile. The fresh lime at the end... YUMMY! A few modifications to spice it up and I prefer to marinade and grill on skewers. Minced 2 teaspoons of fresh ginger instead of 1 1/2, garlic was fresh not powder,minced one whole jalapeno, cayenne is a must, lots of cracked black pepper, squeezed juice of one lime, and a tablespoon of white vinegar. Cubed the chicken and poured it all into a ziplock bag for a fews hours to soak. Grilled on skewers 4 min a side. Cilantro cream sauce- low fat sour cream, 4 teaspoons of lime not 2 and grated lime rind as well. Salt and pepper to taste. Next time I may use a thicker greek type pita as the whole wheat tortilla was a bit flimsy to hold in the cream sauce. Already on the menu for dinner this weekend.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2009

      This was okay, but very bland, even after I added/adjusted knowing that I like a bit of spice. I did use fresh garlic and it made a sort of paste with the dry ingredients that DID make a nice rub. The prep time was not close to 15 minutes for me...this took me over an hour start to finish with the slicing, dicing, chicken prep, etc. Maybe if I did some tweaking for my tastes...thank you for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2010

      I made a tofu version by doubling the spice mixture, adding its volume in flour, coating the tofu and then frying it for 10 minutes. I also added a bit of the spice mixture to the sauce, and served wrapped up in a tortilla. It was pretty good, but I don't think it wound up tasting anything like the meat version is supposed to. Great sauce.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2012

      My boyfriend picked this for us to make in a long-distance relationship and I was hesitant.
      I actually added far more ginger, spice, and paprika. I added jullianed jalopenos with the peppers and cayenne with the sour cream, just to kick it all up.

      What a wonderful recipe and fun to make. You can use the leftovers to make fajitas, or add peanuts, zuccini, and chestnuts for a kung pao! I would recommend this a thousand times again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2012

      These were very good and the only complaint that I got was that the cilantro taste in the sauce was overpowering (and I agree). Everything else was great. I used boneless skinless chicken tenderloins and marinated them for about 4 hours and they definitely soaked up the flavors of the marinade. I was disappointed because of the overpowering cilantro flavor but it wasn't enough to ruin the meal because everyone gobbled it up pretty quickly. I think the next time I make it, I will also marinate the onions and peppers in the sauce and cut way back on the cilantro. Thank you for posting it was pretty yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2012

      These were pretty good but not as flavorful as I expected. The chicken does not really seem to absorb the flavors of the spice mixture. I think maybe a true marinade would work better. I cut the chicken in strips, which worked out fine. I would love to try this again, just making a few adjustments. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2010

    • on September 16, 2010

      Reggae Wraps...I added just a tad more Calypso and they were then perfect. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2010

      Served in pita bread. Used extra sauce throughout the week as salad dressing. Very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2010

      Very good recipe. It was not near enough spice for us though. I will be doubling or tripling the spices next time. Added garlic to the sauce and it was a welcome addition.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2010

      I loved this! The dressing is absolutely delicious. (my 16 month old thought so too!) I added extra lime plus some onion powder for flavor. Next time I will add more spice to the chicken as well. I marinated it for an hour or so and then sauted and served on folded pitas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2010

      I was a little concerned that my 5 and 7 year old wouldn't like this recipe. I was wrong! They said it was the best they'd ever had. That says alot in my house. GREAT RECIPE!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2010

      Reggae wraps...these things are mmm, mmm fabulous! I really loved the addition of the ginger (I used fresh)...it added such a nice taste to the chicken. Also, I used dried cilantro leaves and reduced fat sour cream for the sauce- was still great, even tho' I didn't have the real stuff on hand. For the wraps, we used Naan bread - wow, yummy. Only two complaints....it was a bit messy to eat (not your recipe's fault, mind you) and I didn't double the recipe- we ALL wanted second helpings! Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2010

      Wonderful!! I made this last weekend for my hubby & I. We enjoyed it so much that I made it again when visiting my daughter & her husband this week. His dad was there also and all agreed it was wonderful. The cayenne is a must tho, I think next time I will try 2 'pinches'. The cold cilantro sauce & the heat of the cayenne really compliment each other, I thinks that is what makes this whole recipe work. Thanks for a fast, tasty summer meal Mama!! Update March 2010--we like to use left over steak in this recipe too, I slice it thin, adding all spices to the pan with the peppers, onions & tomatoes. toss in the meat at the end to just warm it. This works best with really tender steak I have found. The sauce is indeed the jewel in this meal as another reviewer stated, we use it in many other meals too. I have been making this for almost 2 years & we have it often, really one of the best recipes on zaar!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2009

      The whole family ate it-- which is great. I am rating the chicken/rub part of the recipe. The kids and DH wouldn't go for the veggies. I used chicken tenders and it cooked on the stovetop in no time. I used the sauce, the kids used BBQ sauce. We did put grated cheese on them. It's so nice to have a meal that everyone will eat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2009

      This was our second week of trying out this recipe. 2nd time We did a little doctoring to the marinade, but the concept is great and the flavors are all there. Found stuffing the pita was the best method though a little messy either way! Served with salsa and the cilantro sour cream sauce, lettuce, tomatoes, additional raw peppers, might add cheese next time but not really necessary. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2009

      All I can say is WOW. I love the sauce. It's really nice and refreshing. Will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2009

      An excellent wrap! I subbed smoked paprika for a little extra kick but otherwise made as written. The cream sauce was the perfect complement to the spice on the chicken. Thanks for sharing Mama! Made for the Rowdies of ZWT 5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2009

      Made this tonight for ZWT5 '09. This was really delicious. I too used the Flat Out Whole Wheat. The first time trying the Flat Out, wow a lot easier than Flour soft taco or tortillas and so tasty. Now add all these delicious ingredients of great flavor chicken and sauteed veggies...really yummy. I could of used a little extra salt though. I did use the cayenne pepper. I got my DD to mix me up the spices while I did the chicken and stuff. We both really loved them. Although I was stuffed with eating just half. But that is okay cause 1/2 for lunch tomorrow. Thanks for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2009

      Excellent wraps! I'm not sure what I loved best about this: the slightly spicy grilled chicken (I did use the cayenne...yum); the tangy and tasty cream sauce; the sauteed onions & bell peppers; or the warmed wraps (I used "Flat Out whole wheat). All in all it was YUMMY!! Lovely blend of flavors that complement eachother. I also added lettuce to our wraps and called it a complete meal in one! Made during the ZWT5 for the Epicurean Queen team.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Reggae Wraps

    Serving Size: 1 (239 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 278.7
     
    Calories from Fat 147
    52%
    Total Fat 16.3 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 6.3 g
    31%
    Cholesterol 87.5 mg
    29%
    Sodium 99.4 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.2 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 3.8 g
    15%
    Protein 25.3 g
    50%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    flat bread

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes