23 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These rolls are easy to make, tender, and outstanding! Definitely are keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
molsonlps December 11, 2007

Man I hate to leave only 3 stars with all the 5's. I had my mom, dad and brother over for dinner and prepared these to go with our roast. We all agreed that they were just okay. Definitely a lot like brown and serve rolls. On the bright side it was really easy to put together.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
grunig December 10, 2007

I told my friend that I would make her anything she wanted for her birthday. She wanted Refrigerator Rolls like her mother used to make. Well, I told her I had never made refrigerator rolls before, they were usually just plain rolls. But I said I would try. I went onto Zaar and picked this one after looking at several. These are delicious. I made her rolls and then made some Cinnamon Rolls for us. They were the best Cinnamon Rolls I have ever made; better than my recipe. Thank you Aroostook, up there in the county, for posting these yummy rolls. I will be making them again and again. Can't wait for my granddaughter to come home from college as she loves Cinnamon Rolls and I will make sure I have them for her. I love them and thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mimi in Maine September 23, 2007

These are great! I made the dough late this morning, and tore some off for rolls for dinner. Later this evening, I'll make more rolls and freeze them for later. I also plan on making cinnamon rolls for tomorrow's breakfast. What a versatile recipe! And rise, do they ever!! Thanks for a great recipe for my collection. By the way, the rolls just came out of the oven, and I am eating them with melted garlic butter. Yum, yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StacyW May 31, 2007

Soft and tender rolls. So good coming out of the oven.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YungB January 08, 2007

Best roll recipe on this site that dosnt call for a bread machine,i tried them all. They are perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kristal_wilder November 06, 2006

I want to say I have made these 2x now. The first time I tried to cut recipe in half and somewhere I messed everything up. Rolls didnt rise. Not sure if I killed yeast or just messed up by trying to change recipe. I really wanted these rolls so I tired again and I followed recipe exactly. It made alot of Dough, but they came out this time. Since there was sooo much dough, I was able to try different ways to make the rolls. I froze half the dough for later and froze half cooked rolls as in your directions and made a batch for dinner that night. I forgot to brush butter before I let them rise which I think will help the outside not dry out so much. Thank you for great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
omm nadia June 08, 2006

This was my first time making dough by hand (in my kitchenaide vs. my breadmaker) and I think I didn't add enough flour because when I first turned it out it stuck to everything, but I kneaded in soem more flour and it became more manageable. This makes a ton of dough, and rises like crazy. I made dinner rolls and then used the remainder to make cinnamon rolls. I put one plate in the freezer and the other in the fridge to rise overnight. They were excellent this morning! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MommyMakes May 04, 2006

This dough has an excellent consistancy. We haven't eaten them yet. I cooked them for tomorrow; my son's birthday, but I can tell they will be very good. I put garlic powder in with the melted butter to brush on the rolls. Can't wait to try them! They look wonderful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandagirl December 17, 2005

Definitely the prettiest little rolls I ever made; just perfect. And, they tasted great. They were light and flaky and a bit yeasty, just the way I like them. Makes quite a large batch so I'll be checking the appropriate forum here for ideas on how to use the rest of it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarpea April 07, 2005
Refrigerator Rolls