Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Refrigerator Potatoes (Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Refrigerator Potatoes (Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes)

    Average Rating:

    64 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 64

    Sort by:

    • on November 30, 2010

      OK - I wanted to make mashed potatoes ahead for Thanksgiving, so tried these a few weeks ago. Delicious. I also froze some to try them out. Reheated in the microwave, stirred well, and could not believe how good. So....I cooked 30 POUNDS of potatoes, mixed in several batches, and froze them in Ziploc bags. I laid them flat in the freezer, and marked them. Sure enough, on Thanksgiving, my son said, "These are the best mashed potatoes you have ever made", so I handed him a couple of bags to take home to enjoy! A Thanksgiving regular recipe in my house now. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2011

      Both easy and fantastic. A great recipe anytime you entertain.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2011

      Very yummy potatoes. Will make these more often. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2010

      This recipe is an old standard at our house; made as everyday fare or fancy company dinners. It's an easy travelling potato dish and make-ahead recipe, enjoyed by everyone who tastes its complementary flavors. I sprinkle a bit of paprika on top for added color.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2010

      Excellent. I make something every similar during the Holidays. I liked the addition of the sour cream. Something you can't enjoy very often, but is always a crowd pleaser. I made 1/2 the recipe for the 2 of us with left-overs for my son to take home tomorrow. Thanks for sharing. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2010

      Just made this for Turkey day - I have to travel 4 hours with all turkey dinner and this is the Bomb it is yummmm and can't wait to serve it - made 10 lbs thanks for the post

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2010

      This dish is just simply delicious. I love the fact that I can make this the day before and just pop it in the oven the next day. The flavors come together so much. What a great time saver for Thanksgiving day. Thanks for this wonderful recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2010

      I cannot believe that I haven't rated this yet. I made it a few times and we all LUV it. I just made it again for thanksgiving and what a life saver it was to precook it. I make it exactly as stated, only change is use 1/2 cup sour cream, and will do that every time. Thank you for a wonderful easy recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      I made this twice, once with russets and once with gold yukons, and it is definitely better with the russets. I made it the night before, stored it in the crockpot insert in the fridge. The next day I just popped it into the crockpot a few hours before dinner, and it worked perfectly! Will make this every time before a big dinner, major time saver.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2009

      These make-ahead mashed potatoes were AWESOME!!!! I made them a day ahead and served them for Christmas Eve. My Guests LOVED them! What a great blend of flavor with the cream cheese, sour cream and onion salt. Very easy to make. Would recommend recipe to all! Guests were still talking about them the next day at Christmas!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

      Like the 47 reviewers before me, I thought these were great. They are loved by everyone and the convenience factor makes this recipe a keeper for those big holiday meals.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      I made these last year for Thanksgiving and forgot to leave my rave review! Made it again this year with just as much success. These are fantastic . . . . I think the onion salt gives them the perfect zing. An outstanding recipe that saves me so much time in the kitchen on the big day.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      A real hit! This is slight different from what I've made in the past. I made enough for 16 but should have made even more as they were just scarfed down. A true winner!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2009

      Thank you for a great dish! Took this as my contribution to our family's get together and it went over well. Made it Thanksgiving morning since it was all I had to cook. Put it in my crock pot ceramic dish in the oven for 30 minutes before we left and while at their house I kept the crock pot plugged in to stay warm. I had to omit the onion salt since I didn't have any but will buy some specifically for this dish next time. Thought about adding garlic salt but decided against it. I am sure garlic would be good with this but some people might not like garlic so I played it safe. Turned out a winner! Oh, I had to add a lot of milk to get it mixed nice and creamy. I've never made mashed potatoes with russets before and they seemed way too dry without the milk. Will start making mashed potatoes with russets from now on though.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2009

      These are the most awesome and delicious potatoes ever. I've been making these for years. It's such a help at holiday time to make them the day before (or even 2 days ahead). Creamy, delicious! I've also added an egg white before baking on occasion for extra creaminess. I've also heated them in the crockpot to save oven space on holidays. Thanks for posting - seems like every time I make them I have to check the cream cheese - sour cream ratio.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2009

      These are so creamy and delicious - I will definitely keep for Christmas

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2009

      Delish! Simple and easy and wonderful that they can be made ahead. Thanks *That Girl* for a new keeper. Made for Cookbook Tag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2009

      Absolutely excellent! Everyone keeps asking for it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2009

      I made these to go along with steaks in mushroom sauce. This was well liked and gobbled up in no time. I like the fact that these can be made up ahead of time and wait until needed. Fabulous idea, I plan on using this recipe for Easter dinner. Thank you for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      I just loved these potatoes...made them for 21 people for Thanksgiving and this recipe was perfect...will make every year.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Refrigerator Potatoes (Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes)

    Serving Size: 1 (271 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 299.6
     
    Calories from Fat 116
    38%
    Total Fat 12.8 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 7.4 g
    37%
    Cholesterol 36.8 mg
    12%
    Sodium 339.9 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.4 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 5.0 g
    20%
    Sugars 3.1 g
    12%
    Protein 6.1 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites