Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Refrigerator Pickles Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Refrigerator Pickles

    Average Rating:

    50 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 50

    Sort by:

    • on August 02, 2001

      These probably won't last long in my refrigerator--they are too delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2013

      I made these last Thursday and tried them for the first time today. Outstanding! For this, I substituted a red pepper for the green and added a teaspoon of mustard seed but otherwise, I followed the recipe. I don't think they're going to last two months! :-D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2013

      Great recipe, I would reduce the sugar they were a little to sweet for me, but still wonderful. I added fresh dill and a couple garlic cloves to my last batch and it gave them a savory sweet flavor that was awesome! I also omitted the pepper and onion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2010

      this is the best recipe!!!! I already made using regular salad cucumbers, pickling cucumbers, and zucchini...All great! The only thing, I use less sugar(1,5cup) and I omit the peppers. But fantastic recipe! I love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2009

      I love this recipe! My sister gave it to me and I've been making it for years, though without the pepper. I even made them with sweetner instead of sugar and they were good. We love these pickles and onions on hamburgers and also other sandwiches. I make a double batch and put them in a gallon ice cream container in the frig.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2009

      This was good and quite easy. I left out the onion and green pepper, and added 1/2 tbsp of ground mustard. I wasn't sure how long to marinate them, but I tried them after 4 days, and they were tasty. I also substituted squash for cucumber for one jar, and they were great too. Thanks for the recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2009

      Great recipe! I too cut down on the sugar and used half splenda to further cut it down. I brined the veggies before hand by layering them and sprinkling with salt which takes the "rawness" out of the onions and then cut down on the salt in the main recipe. I did 10 cups of cukes and used mustard seed instead of celery seed as that was what my mother always used. Great recipe thanks for posting!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2009

      Very good and easy. I would reduce the sugar a bit next time...trying it with red peppers today! YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2009

      Made these pickles a few days ago. Just tried them and WOW!! So easy to do and they taste terrific!! Thank you for posting this recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2009

      great bread & butter pickle recipe. really simple and tasty. thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2008

      I am addicted to these! So easy, so fresh. And I continue to "recycle" the broth and add more cukes in as needed...which is quite often as I can't keep my hands off of these!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2008

      These were very good, but when I made this recipe, I used 7 cups of sliced cucumbers, and layered them along with the onions and chopped green peppers in a large glass bowl; sprinkling one tablespoon of Morton's Canning & Pickling Salt, between the layers, and then let them sit on the kitchen counter for 3 hrs. I then drained the vegetables in a colander. When making the brine, I didn't add the tablespoon of canning salt, no need to, as I've never added any salt to my brine when making refrigerator pickles, especially after I've already added it to the cucumber/onion/green peppers before hand. When I did prepare the brine, I noticed I needed to add more of it, so I doubled the amount of ingredients, using 2 cups of vinegar, but only using 3 cups of sugar, and 4 teaspoons of celery seed. I think the 1-1/2 cups of sugar, (per each batch) is pretty much the right amount for this recipe, as suggested by others, but I think 1 tablespoon of celery seed is a bit much for this recipe, I think 2 teaspoons of celery seed per batch, is more than enough; especially if using 7 cups of sliced cucumbers. I also heated the brine ingrediets, to all most a boil, before pouring over the pickle/onion/peppers. About 36 hrs later, I shared these pickles with 2 of my dd's, my daughter's room-mate, and my granddaughter, which were enjoyed by all. By the time everyone was done snacking on 'em, there weren't many left in the bowl. Janet, thank you for sharing this recipe with fellow Zaar members. They were very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2008

      WOW! these are great , just made them a couple hours ago.. Only thing i did different was use 1 1/2 cups of splenda since i am diabetic...Thanks for great recipe.Will be making AGAIN and AGAIN :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2011

      These are terrific. Everytime I make a batch for my DH, I have to make a batch for my parents as well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2010

      This is so easy! I actually had 2 cucumbers or 4 cups of cucumber but made the same amount of brine as the recipe and I had just enough liquid for 4 pint jars and had some cucumber left over. I used jalepenos and cucumbers from my garden. These will make great gifts!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2010

      I made these a couple of weeks ago. They were WONDERFUL!!!! They are nice and crispy...have a great flavor. I also cut the sugar down. I believe I used 1 1/2 cups. Will make these again and again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2009

      I've been using a recipe similar to this for years. I do not use celery seed, I use celery salt. I add a little mustard seed too. I never add green peppers.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2009

      Very nice recipe. I just made my second batch tonight. First batch was only two weeks ago and I lost a jar to DD's friend who, as she put it, "became addicted". I agree that they are a tad sweet and have reduced the sugar on this batch, hoping that will help. Overall, a very good pickle recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2009

      We have so many cucumbers in our garden we don't know what to do with them. These pickles are quick, easy, and delicious. My husband ate the whole jar in one day. I plan on making several jars to give to friends and family. Thanks! UPDATE: This year, I made pickles out of zucchini and squash as well! We could hardly tell the difference! LOVE this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2008

      Absolutely fantastic!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Refrigerator Pickles

    Serving Size: 1 (1565 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 299.6
     
    Calories from Fat 4
    35%
    Total Fat 0.4 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1169.6 mg
    48%
    Total Carbohydrate 74.3 g
    24%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 69.9 g
    279%
    Protein 1.3 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites