19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

LOVE LOVE LOVE this recipe! So easy. Crushed the garlic, lots of peppercorns, dill & a few hot peppers, and they are like zesty claussens. I did spears, hamburger slices and wholes. Poured the brine on warm, and the slices were done that evening, gonna do another batch tomorrow. Can you process and "can" these??

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrs.wiersma July 08, 2010

this is a very good pickle recipe i cant believe there arn't more reviews the grape leaves are a must and you have to use kohser salt and i found out this brine makes awesome pickled eggs thanks for sharing

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmiene August 30, 2007

These are very good, however, I felt they were a little lacking in the dill area, so I doubled the dill. YUM! I now have a batch with little tobasco peppers in them, can't wait to try that.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lisalyle87 July 14, 2012

Wonderful recipe base! This brine is for me the perfect balance of salty with a little hint of sweet. It would be good on it's own, but I couldn't help adding more "stuff" to the jars. Combining suggestions of other reviewers, I added mustard seeds, peppercorns, celery seeds, carrot, and a slice of hot red pepper to the jars. BTW, I used agave for the sugar in the same measure and it works beautifully. I am going to make more & can them for the winter.....Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jude503 July 11, 2013

Great recipe! This is the first time I ever made pickles and they came out fabulous! It's only been two days since I made them and they already taste great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bailunrui August 02, 2011

Never made pickles before and with your recipe they turned out perfect. I tried them on the 4th day and thought they were perfect. I made one jar of baby dills using the grape leaf, added some mustard seeds, celery seeds, some extra dill seed along with the fresh dill. The second jar I used sliced cucumbers, no grape leaf but all the extra spices and felt they were too strong of taste for me but still good. This is a keeper recipe for sure. These pickles had a great crunch to them. Thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catnip46 October 11, 2010

Great crunch to these pickles. Be sure and let them age at least a week or longer for best flavor. I will likely up the vinegar/salt to water ratio on my next batch as another reviewer mentioned. And make sure to use the grape leaves - this was the recipe I choose to try because my grandmothers crock dill recipe always used grape leaves between the layers! I did up the garlic amount and also used some LARGE heads of dill. BTW this amount of brine was perfect for 4 quart jars of pickles.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shirlsaw July 22, 2010

Very good and cripsy. I tried one after two days and they were ok. Two weeks later they were great. Its hard, but let them sit in the fridge long enough to absorb the pickling solution. My family loves them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StaceyB June 13, 2010

Tastes just like pickles! My neighbor had given me some dill and some pickling cucumbers from their garden. Since this was a "pickle kit," I couldn't just use them for other things, so I was going to learn to make pickles. I was too busy and underprepared to go the full canning route, so this was a good beginner's recipe. I didn't have jars so I just put everything into a stainless steel bowl. I was astounded that they worked! I also just poured the hot vinegar mixture on the veggies. I added extra garlic, too. I took them to a cookout to rave reviews. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meredith C-ville August 02, 2009

I have never pickled anything other than jalapenos, which is a quite different process, but I'm so glad to say that these pickles came out great. I used tiny cucumbers and after only 2 days, I had a taste and they were very good, although I could tell they still needed to "ripen" a little more. Thank you so much for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mami J May 27, 2009
Refrigerator Dill Pickles