Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Refrigerator Dill Pickles Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Refrigerator Dill Pickles

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on July 08, 2010

      LOVE LOVE LOVE this recipe! So easy. Crushed the garlic, lots of peppercorns, dill & a few hot peppers, and they are like zesty claussens. I did spears, hamburger slices and wholes. Poured the brine on warm, and the slices were done that evening, gonna do another batch tomorrow. Can you process and "can" these??

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2007

      this is a very good pickle recipe i cant believe there arn't more reviews the grape leaves are a must and you have to use kohser salt and i found out this brine makes awesome pickled eggs thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2012

      These are very good, however, I felt they were a little lacking in the dill area, so I doubled the dill. YUM! I now have a batch with little tobasco peppers in them, can't wait to try that.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2013

      Wonderful recipe base! This brine is for me the perfect balance of salty with a little hint of sweet. It would be good on it's own, but I couldn't help adding more "stuff" to the jars. Combining suggestions of other reviewers, I added mustard seeds, peppercorns, celery seeds, carrot, and a slice of hot red pepper to the jars. BTW, I used agave for the sugar in the same measure and it works beautifully. I am going to make more & can them for the winter.....Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2011

      Great recipe! This is the first time I ever made pickles and they came out fabulous! It's only been two days since I made them and they already taste great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2010

      Never made pickles before and with your recipe they turned out perfect. I tried them on the 4th day and thought they were perfect. I made one jar of baby dills using the grape leaf, added some mustard seeds, celery seeds, some extra dill seed along with the fresh dill. The second jar I used sliced cucumbers, no grape leaf but all the extra spices and felt they were too strong of taste for me but still good. This is a keeper recipe for sure. These pickles had a great crunch to them. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2010

      Great crunch to these pickles. Be sure and let them age at least a week or longer for best flavor. I will likely up the vinegar/salt to water ratio on my next batch as another reviewer mentioned. And make sure to use the grape leaves - this was the recipe I choose to try because my grandmothers crock dill recipe always used grape leaves between the layers! I did up the garlic amount and also used some LARGE heads of dill. BTW this amount of brine was perfect for 4 quart jars of pickles.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2010

      Very good and cripsy. I tried one after two days and they were ok. Two weeks later they were great. Its hard, but let them sit in the fridge long enough to absorb the pickling solution. My family loves them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2009

      Tastes just like pickles! My neighbor had given me some dill and some pickling cucumbers from their garden. Since this was a "pickle kit," I couldn't just use them for other things, so I was going to learn to make pickles. I was too busy and underprepared to go the full canning route, so this was a good beginner's recipe. I didn't have jars so I just put everything into a stainless steel bowl. I was astounded that they worked! I also just poured the hot vinegar mixture on the veggies. I added extra garlic, too. I took them to a cookout to rave reviews. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2009

      I have never pickled anything other than jalapenos, which is a quite different process, but I'm so glad to say that these pickles came out great. I used tiny cucumbers and after only 2 days, I had a taste and they were very good, although I could tell they still needed to "ripen" a little more. Thank you so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2008

      These were the first pickles I have ever made, and I'm pleased to say the reicpe was easy and the pickles came out delicious! They were very crisp and with a taste like old-fashioned Kosher dill pickles. I do like a little more bite to my pickle and plan on kicking up the garlic and dill a notch on the next batch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2007

      1st batch I made as directed...Used white vinegar...Made spears...2nd batch, I slice the cukes into 'chips', used cider vinegar and used 6 cloves of minced garlic per quart jar...Put in a head of dill 'plus' a couple of sprigs of dill...The change in vinegar didn't change the color or taste...The garlic and dill added flavor...The 'chips' are just as good as the spears...On the next batch, I will increase the vinegar/salt to water ratio...Looking for just a little more bite...These are as close to deli stye pickles as I have found...And are they good...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2007

      Easy and delicious. I increased dill and garlic,used bottled water and used kosher salt. Will definitely make again. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2007

      This is the BEST pickle recipe out there...And it is so simple. This is without a doubt the one and only pickle recipe in my book or that I will ever use. Thank you so much!! My girls can't believe we actually made them, and in only 4 days!! I just wish you could make them to keep in the pantry. I am running out of room in my fridge!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2007

      My pickle-loving son thinks these are fantastic (and so do I)! We have enjoyed making them together. They are simple and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2006

      Great pickles!! I only did one huge jar (1 quart??) and so I cut the recipe in half and it was just the right amount. Simple and tasty just the way I like my recipes! Thanks lap826!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2006

      I made two 1 liter jars of these. They turned out great and I've gotten rave reviews. The modifications I made were: 1 T dried dill per jar, about 12 mustard seeds per jar (I always see what I think are mustard seeds swimming around in commercial dills...so why not?), and poured the boiling brine over the pickles in sterile jars--because I've never done refrigerator pickles and was concerned that they might be too crisp. Thanks lap826!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2006

      The BEST!! Everyone I give this recipe to loves them and makes them over and over again. I don't use grape leaves because they stay nice and crisp as long as I use good quality pickling cukes. I use cider vinegar and brown (or raw) sugar in the recipe but other than that I keep it as wonderfully fresh and simple as this great recipe. You can add onions, carrot or baby zucchini too for another level of flavors.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2004

      I found this recipe to be a really good one. It is very easy too. At only 3 dys the pickles had a wonderful taste and were crunchy! I did add extra dill. I used a gallon jug and made the brine. I put in the brine 1/8 tsp alum. I did not have grape leaves. I layered pickles, garlic and dill. About 5 head of dill total and a whole head of garlic. I sliced the pickles length ways also.I just put the gallon jug in the back of the fridge and will use when I need them! Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Refrigerator Dill Pickles

    Serving Size: 1 (2301 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 127.1
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    12%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 18875.4 mg
    786%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.0 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 25.0 g
    100%
    Protein 0.3 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    dill

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes