40 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I remade this cake, and instead of poking holes in it, I just cut about a 1/4 inch of cake off the top to level it out and poured the mixture on it, and it turned out so much better!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenninjapan October 08, 2007

I made this cake for my parents birthdays (they are within a week of eachother and my dad loves strawberry shortcake/cake). I was disappointed. They turned out a little too soggy. I let the strawberries take 11/2--2 hours to soak in and they never fully did?. I even did it while the cake was warm per others recommendations. I didn't even use the full amount of strawberries the recipe asked for. The pudding/whipped topping however was delicious. If I were to make it again I would definately not make as much strawberry puree to put on top. Do give yourself some time to let the puree soak in. I may even use white cake also next time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
G&Ksmom April 07, 2008

I was looking for a "juicy" strawberry cake recipe & found this one. Reading the reviews, I noticed some people found it too juicy, which is unheard of in my family.LOL. When I make a cake that is "juicy" I always put 1/2 box Jello in the fruit or whatever. In this cake, strawberry Jello. It keeps the juice sort of textured & not so runny & adds more flavor. Can't wait till dessert tonight!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
suvy03 April 20, 2015

This is an incredible cake! If you have to bring in a cake to work for someone's b irthday - this is the one. It's been requested 4 times by the folks in my department. Word travels fast and others come by to get a taste. Even the grandkids request this one. Highly recommended.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
trainlady April 20, 2014

Made it with white cake mix instead of strawberry because I didn't want it to be too sweet or overpowering. All other directions were followed. I let the puree soak in while the cake was still warm, but after an hour or so, it still had not soaked in completely. I frosted it anyway. The frosting was very good...not too sweet. It turned out well for a cake made from a box.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BtNugget April 17, 2014

This cake was absolutely delicious! It was perfectly sweetened. We all thought that the puree was just yummy. I loved that it was so simple to make. Thanks for posting this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn November 06, 2012

I really liked this cake, except next time I would make a little bit less puree because my cake turned out a little too soggy. The cool whip/pudding "frosting" was amazing. The flavors together are so cool and fresh!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NurseAmbre July 28, 2012

Nice moist cake full of strawberry flavor. Next time I will make the holes in the cake bigger because my strawberries did not really absorb into the cake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laura O. March 27, 2011

Wow! Potscrubber was not kidding. This cake is fabulous and so simple to make. I love that this is best served cold. It is so refreshing in the hot Arizona climate. Also, it smells so fresh and yummy. I was worried that the cake would be too sweet, but it was perfectly sweetened and all of the flavors went together very well. Thanks Michelle S.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amber of AZ September 20, 2009

Not exactly as good as I thought it would be after reading all the rave reviews - probably won't bake this again. Just nothing special - my personal opinion.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pineapple May 23, 2009
Refrigerated Strawberry Cake