Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Refrigerated Strawberry Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Refrigerated Strawberry Cake

    Average Rating:

    39 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 39

    Sort by:

    • on October 08, 2007

      I remade this cake, and instead of poking holes in it, I just cut about a 1/4 inch of cake off the top to level it out and poured the mixture on it, and it turned out so much better!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2008

      I made this cake for my parents birthdays (they are within a week of eachother and my dad loves strawberry shortcake/cake). I was disappointed. They turned out a little too soggy. I let the strawberries take 11/2--2 hours to soak in and they never fully did?. I even did it while the cake was warm per others recommendations. I didn't even use the full amount of strawberries the recipe asked for. The pudding/whipped topping however was delicious. If I were to make it again I would definately not make as much strawberry puree to put on top. Do give yourself some time to let the puree soak in. I may even use white cake also next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2014

      This is an incredible cake! If you have to bring in a cake to work for someone's b irthday - this is the one. It's been requested 4 times by the folks in my department. Word travels fast and others come by to get a taste. Even the grandkids request this one. Highly recommended.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2014

      Made it with white cake mix instead of strawberry because I didn't want it to be too sweet or overpowering. All other directions were followed. I let the puree soak in while the cake was still warm, but after an hour or so, it still had not soaked in completely. I frosted it anyway. The frosting was very good...not too sweet. It turned out well for a cake made from a box.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2012

      This cake was absolutely delicious! It was perfectly sweetened. We all thought that the puree was just yummy. I loved that it was so simple to make. Thanks for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2012

      I really liked this cake, except next time I would make a little bit less puree because my cake turned out a little too soggy. The cool whip/pudding "frosting" was amazing. The flavors together are so cool and fresh!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2011

      Nice moist cake full of strawberry flavor. Next time I will make the holes in the cake bigger because my strawberries did not really absorb into the cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2009

      Wow! Potscrubber was not kidding. This cake is fabulous and so simple to make. I love that this is best served cold. It is so refreshing in the hot Arizona climate. Also, it smells so fresh and yummy. I was worried that the cake would be too sweet, but it was perfectly sweetened and all of the flavors went together very well. Thanks Michelle S.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2009

      Not exactly as good as I thought it would be after reading all the rave reviews - probably won't bake this again. Just nothing special - my personal opinion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2009

      I made this a while back and forgot to rate it, but I had passed it on to my sister who just made it for a girls party and had no less than three women ask her for the recipe. A perfect summer cake!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2009

      This was a big hit at dinner tonight. I think I liked it better than the pineapple version I've been making for years. Due to allergy concerns with the strawberry cake mix, I had to substitute white cake mix, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. It was very easy, very moist, and delicious. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2009

      I have made this several times (I found the recipe on the cake mix box) lol. There is never any left and if it lasts about 2 days you cant cut it, just dip it with a spoon. Its that moist and yummy. I put my strawberry puree on while the cake is hot then it really soaks into the cake. I have even used fresh strawberries because I didn't have any frozen. Not as moist that way but still very good. Just have to put some sugar with the berries to make it syrupy if you use the fresh berries. I have made this with white cake mix, strawberry cake mix, and yellow cake mix. I have found that I prefer the white, as it has enough strawberry flavor, without being so overwhelming. A good balance of flavors by using white cake mix.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2009

      According to the son of a Home Economics teacher, this is "the best strawberry cake ever!!" I made this for the Friday before Valentines Day and brought it to work. He was one of the first to try it. I LOVE the simplicity of it and it reminds me of strawberry shortcake all in one big bite. I highly recommend it to anyone that loves strawberries. Even if you aren't a baker, you can make this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2008

      Very good cake, really easy to make and delish! A definate keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2008

      WOW, this was great for a HOT day (92) in September. Took this over the the neighbors for a cook out, came home with an empty pan. Try it, you'll like it! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2008

      This cake was devoured! So moist from the pureed berries and the frosting was perfect. I served it on the 4th of July and decorated it with the flag made of blueberries and sliced strawberries. Thanks for a fabulous holiday dessert.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2008

      I can't tell you how much I loved this cake. I only used one 16oz bag of pureed strawberries and it was perfectly moist for me. This cake wasn't too sweet and the frosting was perfect. So many good cakes are ruined by a horrible too sweet frosting. I'm not a sweet eater and rarely bake anything but if I'm ever asked to bring a dessert to a gathering this is what I will make. Thanks Michelle for suggesting this wonderful cake to me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2008

      I am a little disappointed after reading all the reviews. To me this tasted like box cake with strawberries and cool whip on the top. Perhaps, I was expecting too much, but the reviews made it sound wonderful. My husband said it was "ok" and I thought it was good, but I will make another strawberry cake for company. I usually make cakes from scratch, maybe that makes a difference because I love a good, dense cake. I will admit, it tasted much better the second day when the strawberries had marinated into the cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2008

      this cake was fantastic... my father in law told me that he thinks it would win a prize... the only thing i changed was the flavor of the cool whip,,, i accidently grabbed the french vanilla instead of regular,,, and it enhanced the flavor of the topping ,,,, this will be remade again ,,, thanks for posting this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2008

      We'll forgive the mix cake this time because the whole is greater than the sum of the parts. Saturated with strawberries, colorful, rich, and sweet, a great thing to find in the fridge at odd hours, and also a perfect cake for Valentine's Day. Made for Zaar Stars 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Refrigerated Strawberry Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (134 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 196.5
     
    Calories from Fat 101
    51%
    Total Fat 11.2 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 4.4 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 49.3 mg
    16%
    Sodium 168.1 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.6 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 20.4 g
    81%
    Protein 2.6 g
    5%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    strawberry cake mix

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes