Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Refried Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Refried Beans

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on November 12, 2001

      Wow. I am a college student, so I don't have a lot of cooking resources available to me, but this recipe was easy and great! All the girls on my hall in the dorm were going crazy over it! I'm gonna have to start making it in bulk!! Thanks so much for spicing up the food intake of a girl that's sick of cafeteria food!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2001

      Just made this, I needed a snack! yummy, I only made a bit, but I'm sure it would be great with rice and sweetcorn :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2002

      Well I have done it again. Went to get my refried beans one was gone. So I ran to Zaar. Oh Yes a recipe just what I needed. They turned out much better than any canned could do. I used bacon fat. Out of olive oil. Darn to the store I will go. Thank You for help once again. Bell Rings For WINNER!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2011

      Mmmm! Easy and delicious. I did not have any adobo seasoning in my pantry, so I substituted 1 tsp. taco seasoning mix instead. I also used 2 cans of pinto beans (drained, rinsed, and gently boiled for 30 min.). I may use 3 cans next time. Or dried beans. Thanks for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2013

      Turned out great, used in Cheese Torte.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2011

      Excellent! I loved these beans. I used beans made from scratch. Its funny because I LOVE garlic, but I didn't like it in these and think I'll leave it out next time. Thanks for posting. I'll be making these often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2011

      Thank you Elizabeth for a great recipe. I needed refried beans for the first layer of my Layered Nachos With Avocado Layered Nachos With Avocado (well my daughter's recipe actually) and I had forgotten to get the refried beans. I substituted red kidney beans & cajun seasoning for the suggested ingredients because I didn't have the correct ones in the pantry. It worked so well I think I'll make my own in future, using the correct ingredients in your recipe. Thank you for getting me out of trouble - I should have made a list but thought I'd remember everything :-). I've put a link to your recipe in the description of my nachos recipe so I'll have it handy when I need it - or for anyone else that may make it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2009

      Easy to make and use. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2009

      easy and yummy thanx

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2009

    • on December 09, 2008

      Nice flavor and easy instructions. I have passed this recipe along to my college age son whe love refried beans and he was able to make these too! Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2008

      A wonderful, simple recipe for refried beans. I did not have adobo seasoning so I used cajun seasoning and red pepper to spice it up. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2008

      Excellent flavor! I have used these as a side dish as well as making freezer bean burritos. My husband's favorite refried beans! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2008

      An excellent refried bean recipe! I didn't have adobo seasoning, so I used Penzey's southwest seasoning. I used a bit more salt, because I cooked the beans without any seasonings. I also added some water at the end to make it a little more "sloppier". I cooked two cups of dry pintos and ended up with exactly three cups of cooked beans. Elizabeth, thank you for posting your great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2008

      I made this recipe as it was written except that I added an additional clove of garlic. The recipe didn't state which type of cheese to use, so I elected to use sharp cheddar. We'll definitely have this again. My whole family love this dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2008

      These were excellent! I just thought they were a little salty....and I didn't make mine from canned beans. Dry beans with a ham bone. Thinking maybe the ham made it salty. The adobo spice was an excellent addition!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2008

      Excellent refried beans. I used canned pinto beans (drained) so this was a snap to make. Since I used canned beans I should have left out the salt. I've already made a note for the next time and there will definitely be a next time! This dish went very well with my steak fajitas and mexican rice. Thanks Elizabeth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2006

      This is a great recipe! When I cooked the beans, I added to the water a little butter (I didn't have any oil;)), about a 1/4 tsp garlic powder, about 1/2 tsp kosher salt, and about 1/4 tsp adobo. Then when I made the bean paste, I reserved the water that the beans were cooked in and slowly added water in to make it more of a paste, then followed your directions the rest of the way. Beautiful addition to my Mexican meal!-Kryssy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2006

      These refried beans were really good. I couldn't find the adobo seasoning -- but have ordered some from penzeys.com. I did find some "adobo" at the grocery store -- it's in a jar and is sort of a paste. I wasn't sure just how much to use. I'm anxious to try these again once I receive my adobo seasoning. Instead of the olive oil, I used bacon fat. I think it gives a much more authentic flavor. There were 4 of us at dinner and we scraped the bowl clean!!! Very easy recipe and VERY tasty! What a difference from opening up a can of refried beans -- those days are over for me. Thank you, Elizabeth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2006

      What an easy recipe and delicious too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Beans Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Refried Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (446 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 521.5
     
    Calories from Fat 254
    48%
    Total Fat 28.2 g
    43%
    Saturated Fat 7.3 g
    36%
    Cholesterol 18.0 mg
    6%
    Sodium 566.2 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 48.1 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 15.4 g
    61%
    Sugars 0.6 g
    2%
    Protein 21.1 g
    42%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    adobo seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites