163 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent beans, but maybe you should consider adding a LOT of bean-O to this recipe. We had these last night, and my girl friend is killing the plants in the house. *Grin*

37 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NivFreak October 24, 2002

This is spooky - I know for a fact that this was one of the very first recipes that I made and reviewed shortly after I joined Recipezaar about 7 or 8 months ago! Darned gremlins! In any case, I have made them many times since then in my "Death to Canned Refried Beans" campaign. I always make them with Guinness stout or a good strong British brown ale instead of beer. I've eaten them as a side dish, and they have become a staple ingredient any time I make a recipe that calls for refried beans as an ingredient.

35 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mille® May 07, 2002

Ecellent! I used half Kideny and Half black beans since I couldnt decide. It took 1 1/2 cans of beer. I made 11 bean burritos with them, 10 for the freezer and one I just ate.

33 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tara April 12, 2002

This recipe rocks! Very easy and the best refried beans I have ever had. My guests oohed and awwed over them. I did mash them up a little at the end

27 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lisa brown December 19, 2001

These were great. We used bacon grease instead of the oil, and used the black beans. Next time we'll use a lighter beer; this time we used Negra Modelo which is a dark Mexican lager. I think that it added some bitterness as it cooked down. Thanks for posting, we'll make this again for sure!

23 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Titanium Chef May 07, 2002

I am joining the long list of fans of this recipe. I have always used canned refried beans but never again. The flavor was intense and incredible. I used two cans of beer and only a tiny bit of salt. My DH and I spread this on some warmed tortillas, rolled them up and enjoyed. Thought we were in heaven. Thanks Diana.

22 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PixieDust June 20, 2002

Really tasty! I used red kidney beans (cant get black beans here) only used about 3/4 can of beer, and also mashed them a little. Used some for Danas Eazy Taco Dip, and serving the rest with Erins Pollo En Crema tonight. Great recipe Di!

22 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evie* May 06, 2002

great beans! I added about a half cup of the home made rotel and they were wonderful with tacos and the low fat cole slaw. I used a whole litre of beer but that had something to do with thirst

22 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mike Whyte March 29, 2002

Add me to the list of Diana's refried beans fans! I cut the recipe in half, and it took about 3 quarters of a bottle of Miller Genuine Draft. The scent as they simmered on the stovetop for an hour and forty-five minutes was transcendant. When we finally tasted them, there were no disappointments. Absolutely superb! Thank you!!!

19 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
s'kat October 18, 2002

Diana it's just lucky I checked the reviews, I know I haved reviewed this wonderful recipe before but it isn't here . Yes the garlic is a must all round excellent refried beans I made half the recipe and two of us will eat the lot between breakfast this AM and yesterdays tostados.

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy May 06, 2002
Refried Beans