27 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We loved this soup! I added some chipotle chili powder to make it a little spicier for our tastes. Thanks for sharing this quick and delicious recipe. We'll be having it again soon!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Daniela March 27, 2009

Delicious! So easy, fast, cheap, and incredibly good! I loved it and will definately be making again...Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
F-16 momma February 23, 2009

An excellent hearty, quick and low fat meal to make with whatever is usually in the cupboard! To start the soup I diced a small red onion and 2 cloves of garlic and sauteed with 1 tsp of olive oil in the pot prior to adding everything else in. I used 2 cups of chicken broth rather than the can and additional water as well as a squirt of chile paste to zest it up a bit. I had some leftover chicken so I shreaded that up and tossed it in as well. Yummy and this one is definitely going into my "Favorite" file.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Terick January 09, 2009

Delicious, easy soup. Made as written except used beef broth instead of chicken or vege, also, didn't have the green chilies. Served with cheese and sliced avocado.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KelBel June 29, 2008

What a great quick soup! These are ingredients I always have on hand so this will be made often around my house! The flavors combined wonderfully well! I accidentally used creamed corn instead of regular, but the accident turned out very well ~ I might even do it the same way next time! I topped with lots of a Mexican blend of cheeses. Thanks so much for this soup-er simple soup, Engrossed!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev May 05, 2008

This is an excellent soup! I threw in some sautee'd onions and garlic, and I'm not a cilantro fan so I left it out, otherwise followed the recipe. Super easy and good, a real comfort dish. Thanks for a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nougat April 18, 2008

I made this soup for last nights dinner. I added some ground beef since I was making it for DH. I couldn't find spicy refried beans and used medium instead. The grocery was out of cilantro, unfortunately. I used chopped green onions as a substitute and I used about 1 tsp of cumin. It was a very enjoyable dinner. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario February 10, 2008

This was really easy and quick. I doubled the recipe and put everything in the crockpot except the corn (which I added about 15 minutes before serving). I didn't add cheese or cilanto. Thank you for this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zaar junkie February 04, 2008

Quick and easy, but very flavorful. Reminiscent of a chili. I used 2 tablespoons of the cumin, roasted corn, and added 2 cloves of garlic. Like other reviewers, I ommitted the water. I could see lots of other ingredients working well with this too, like shredded chicken or ground turkey, or topping it with avocado or fresh tomatoes. Topping this with nonfat sour cream is a must though! It really complimented the flavors. This was a very satisfying meal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito January 28, 2008

I added a tablespoon of taco seasoning, didn't add the green chilies and "sold" it to the kids as Taco Soup. They enjoyed it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jean R January 20, 2008
Refried Bean Soup