12 Reviews

An absolute 5 star dessert! I love tapioca and this is a great way to make it healthier! I haven't been having many desserts since starting weight watchers but this is going to become a regular! I used Splenda brown sugar blend and loved the cinnamon and nutmeg so added more than a pinch. I also served it warm and loved it that way. Thanks Boomie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shuzbud November 24, 2009

I like tapioca pudding, no questions asked, so this was a given ~ OUTSTANDING! Did use chunky applesauce, as that's normally the only kind I buy or make, & this all came together so quickly! Great tasting whether warm or cold! Thanks for a keeper of a recipe! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Zaar Stars Recipe Tag]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike May 21, 2008

this is delicious with a few amount adjustments we enjoyed this, I will have to start using my quick-cooking tapioca for more that pies lol! thanks for sharing Booms!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz January 31, 2008

I made my own applesauce for this recipe as I like mine chunky and sweet. I used 1 lg. apple peeled and cut into small chunks. When I cooked the apples I added 1/2 c. brown sugar and about 1/2 c. of water along with a dash of nutmeg and about 1/2 tsp. cinnamon. I let it cook on med-high until apples were soft and tender, about 20 mins., then added 1 c. sugar free applesauce and mixed well. I doubled the tapioca and other ingredients. For the 2 c. milk, I used 1 c. half and half and 1 c. water mixed. It took about 25 mins. to thicken enough, not as the recipe states. After it cooled in the fridge for a couple of hrs., I added a dollop of whipped cream and was in heaven! Excellent recipe Boomette, and it will be made often in my house. One of the best recipes I have made on Zaar as a matter of fact! Made for Zaar Stars Tag Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda's Busy Kitchen January 30, 2008

I love tapioca and the addition of the applesauce is very good. Used skim milk and fresh grated nutmeg. This would be wonderful this fall served warm on a chilly day. Thank you Boomette for posting this recipe, will be making again soon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 October 06, 2007

I served mine warm and used 1/2 cup applesauce. Loved every bite! Thanks Boomette, for posting. Roxygirl

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roxygirl in Colorado September 22, 2007

This is a great low fat dessert yet very yummy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barb in WNY September 08, 2007

This is a wonderful dessert! I always loved tapioca pudding as a kid, and adding applesauce and spices is brilliant. Makes me want to experiment with other pureed fruits. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pattikay in L.A. August 23, 2007

Delicious! I love tapioca anyway, and the nice, light apple and cinnamon flavor of this was perfect! My kids loved it - and we did a second round for dessert withthe carmel sauce Kelbel suggested - like a nice creamy carmel apple! Thanks for another winner, Boomette!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy Diva August 20, 2007

This was a nice change for tapioca. I would have liked it a little sweeter, but I have a huge sweet tooth. I have another serving left so I will drizzle it with caramel for a caramel apple tapioca!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KelBel August 11, 2007
Refreshing Apple Tapioca Pudding