593 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Well, these were really fantastic. Easy to make and easy to eat. I lined my baking pan with a sheet of baking paper before pressing the mixture into the pan. After pouring in the chocolate I let it sit on the counter until the chocolate was just firm. Then I lifted the whole thing out of the pan and it cut very easily into bite sized squares which I then refridgerated. We don't have Reeses cups here in Aus (that I know of) but judging by the response I had when I took these to a party last night, Reeses would do very well here! I would serve these in small squares with coffee.

122 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dale! June 21, 2002

Oh, yes! These squares rocked my world! Amazingly delicious! They taste exactly like Reese's when you eat them at room temperature. If you eat them right out of the fridge, the texture isn't quite right. (Well, unless you usually refrigerate your Reese's Peanut Butter Cups, I guess. ;) ) I did have a little trouble getting them out of the pan, so next time (and trust me, "next time" will be very soon) I will line the pan with waxed paper first, and lift the whole thing out before cutting. Thank you so much for posting this recipe! I know I will make this again and again! :)

104 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rainberry Blues August 08, 2002

There is no way this recipe could rate less than 5 stars! Greyghost is right! These DO taste exactly like Reeses! These were so incredibly easy to do. I made almost the entire recipe in my food processor and there was no mess! These are fantastic and will undoubtedly be made again and again and again........Thanks for an excellent recipe, Karen!

94 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev June 10, 2002

Yep.. Ditto.. very good recipe. I had trouble with the chocolate cracking too.. so next time I'll try leaving them on the counter after taking them out of the fridge before I cut them. I used semi-sweet chips, too as that was all I had in the freezer.

67 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvmybge July 07, 2002

I should mention...if you start cutting them immediately upon removing them from refrigeration, sometimes the chocolate cracks a bit, or is hard to cut through. After sitting out of the refrigerator for about 10 minutes, the chocolate is much easier to cut through and less likely to crack. I just made them again today and nobody wanted to wait, so we ended up with some cracked chocolate :)

65 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen=^..^= June 17, 2002

I'm sorry to say I was very disappointed in these. The ingredients and directions are quite easy to follow, but the result was to my taste nothing like a "Reese's", instead it was overwhelmingly sweet, and not inexpensive to make at about $5.00 a batch. Since I've received so many unhelpful votes on my original review and this recipe is still getting raves, I decided to try again, and test it with a Reese's expert, my dad(the man who could eat a box of the mini reeses in one evening). This only change I made was to use a 15 x 10 pan, to thin out the base. This change alone made it worthy of another star. My "expert" said it wasn't good enough to be a true Reese's because it didn't have chocolate on the bottom, but he liked the over all taste and texture. I think a little more chocolate, maybe another cup of chips, because of the thinner base would be in order.

61 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deborah1 December 01, 2002

Wow! These really do taste like "Reese's Cups. I only had the ingredients for half the recipe. Very easy to prepare. These will be on my list of things to make for family holiday gatherings. Next time, I may try it with chunky peanut butter. Chilled in fridge for about 25 minutes, then cut into squares - no squished chocolate.

61 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Naner~ June 26, 2002

I'm not totally convinced these taste like Reese's Peanut Butter Cups. Nonetheless, they were DELICIOUS!! (I used semi-sweet chocolate chips instead of milk chocolate because that is what I always have on hand.)

56 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbb June 23, 2002

The goal here is to duplicate the taste of a Reese's Peanut Butter Cup and this recipe did just that according to my family (I can't eat the sugar). For my other peanut butter cup recipe you end up making balls of peanut butter dipped in chocolate. They taste great, but this is so much easier and still has that same taste to it. I will be making these from now on. UPDATE: Let me start off with, this review is based upon my experience making them and the experience of others eating them. (I can't eat sugar). That said, they were easy to make - much better than the recipes were you make them into balls. As for taste, I was told that it needed more chocolate, so next time I will make them in a larger pan and double the millk chocolate chips, however despite that everyone agrees they taste great.

50 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mysterygirl June 20, 2002

These are FANTASTIC! They tasted JUST like a reese's cup! YUMMY! Thank you for sharing!

42 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
greyghost June 06, 2002
Reeses Squares - 5 Ingredients & No Bake (Reese's)