133 Reviews

WOW! I felt like an alfredo sauce last minute and didn't have any heavy cream, half/half, etc that it usually requires. I found this recipe and decided to give it a shot since it had really basic ingredients. This is probably the best alfredo sauce I've ever had! Thanks for posting it!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cougarlicious March 30, 2010

I had been using a jarred alfredo sauce to make a sausage, red pepper, spinach, tortellin recipe but not anymore. This recipe is DELICIOUS!! I took the advice of a few others and added 1 T. cream cheese, garlic powder, nutmeg and red pepper flakes. My whole family absolutely loved it!! Thanks for posting!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I luv food March 25, 2010

This was very good, the only change I made was adding 1 T of low fat cream cheese after adding the milk. I wouldn't change anything else - it was great and I will make it again for sure.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lbandbuggy March 02, 2010

I loved this recipe. I followed the advice of one of the reviewers and added some low fat cream cheese. It probably would have been fine without it but it was next to the parm in the fridge so I threw it in. I also used garlic powder instead of minced garlic to keep it as smooth as possible. I think my favorite thing about this recipe is the portion size. Alfredo is so rich that it is impossible to work through a big batch before I get sick of it. This makes 2 generous dinner portions which is perfect for dinner and one night of leftovers. Thank you so much for this recipe. You saved me a fortune on restaurant bills!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chani Goldstein January 26, 2010

This is one of those I debated on whether or not to rate because I made a decent bit of changes. However, this came out so wonderfully & it is all due to the base I got from this recipe. Here's what I did- I did 2 Tbsp flour & 3 Tbsp butter mixed together & put in the saucepan. Then I added 1 Tbsp FF cream cheese & let it soften. Then I added in 1 cup plus 1/8 cup fat free half & half. I whisked that & brought it just to a boil. I added in the parmesan, but I upped it to 1/3 cup. Then I added in the garlic, pepper, & some salt. It came out thick, rich, & creamy. DH loved it & afterward when we were talking about it he was shocked that it wasn't the normal calorie & fat ridden version. I love alfredo & this was just wonderful! I served it over spinach gnocchi & with some homemade garlic & butter biscuits. This was just 2 servings for us and at that amount with our changes & brands, this came up to a 6 point sauce for me. Thank you so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kit Katchen January 15, 2010

I will never buy jarred alfredo sauce ever again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Terri7579 December 01, 2009

really good! I used fresh garlic and lots of it to give it a little more kick and it was great. Really good alternative to using cream and tons of butter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rachel Nix November 22, 2009

The sauce was a bit separated so I must have not been patient enough. Also, I am not a huge garlic fan and it seemed to be a bit much for the amount of sauce. But definitely cut down on the fat!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Redheaded Chef November 12, 2009

Wowza! Thanks for such a great recipe AND for your great directions--they helped SO much & made it turn out perfect the first time. Plus all the reviews totally helped! I did use about 3/4 cup skim evaporated milk cuz I had some in the fridge; then skim milk for the rest. I did add italian seas & sauteed the garlic in butter. This was for a chicken pizza my hubby asked for & he LOVED the sauce! Thank u for the low fatness of this since he is watching his waistline :-).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LUVMY2BOYS October 15, 2009

Patience is definitely the key... the only thing I did differently was use half and half instead of milk. I served it over shredded rotiserrie chicken and penne. My picky husband loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
***chef katie*** October 08, 2009
Reduced Fat Alfredo Sauce