Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Reduced Fat Alfredo Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Reduced Fat Alfredo Sauce

    Average Rating:

    124 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 124

    Sort by:

    • on June 19, 2008

      This was so easy and wonderful! I'll never buy jarred alfredo again!!! Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2008

      Awesome! Who would have known it was a "Reduced Fat" sauce! I loved the creaminess and how well it wrapped the shrimp that I added it to. YUM!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2008

      I was very pleased at how yummy this was (and it is easy too). There was a magic moment at 5 minutes cooking the milk when the sauce suddenly thickened nicely. I added a couple dashes of nutmeg, which I think really bring a fullness to the flavor. I felt this recipe only produced sauce for 2 servings, so you may want to keep that in mind. A great recipe for those of us who don't keep cream on hand!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2008

      Delicious, rich, creamy alfredo from 1% milk...AMAZING! I made 2 1/2 times the recipe (2 1/2 cups milk, 4 tablespoons butter and flour etc)) and got 4 dishes from it! I did stir in a dash of nutmeg and about 2 tablespoons of light cream cheese at the end, because I like a hint of the cream cheese flavor, and it made it ULTRA thick. I used it first as the topping for Alfredo Shrimp Tilapia. I also mixed some with cooked, drained frozen spinach for a quick and delicious creamed spinach. Then I added tomato sauce to the remaining sauce and had tomato alfredo! I used it over pasta with turkey polska kielbasa, and then with pasta and sauteed chicken strips. This is a perfect sauce alone, and lends itself perfectly to be used in other recipes as well! Thanks SO much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2008

      I thought that this sauce was great! Simple, quick and easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2008

      This was fantastic! I only keep fat free milk in the house so I used half fat free milk and half fat free half-and-half and it turned out perfectly. I wilted some spinach in the sauce and then served it over spinach tortellini and stuffed chicken breasts. Amazing and nearly guilt free! Update: I just tried it again as a white pizza sauce with spinach and caramelized onions. This sauce is great for everything!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2008

      Yumm! I used skim milk, but was really, really patient in letting the sauce thicken before I added the parmesan and remaining ingredients so my sauce was thick. There was a hint of sweetness to this sauce (more so than a regular alfredo) but a dash of salt and some white pepper balanced it out perfectly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2007

    • on December 18, 2007

      Not QUITE the same as the full fat version of alfredo, but it was really, really good without the feeling of total guilt. I added in a little fake crab into it when it was thickening up and served over whole wheat pasta.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2007

      Super. My boyfriend had wanted to make Alfredo sauce at home for a while, but most of the recipes that we found online were so rich and fatty. We're thrilled to have found this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2007

    • on November 07, 2007

      I was a little skeptical at first, since I am so used to seeing heavy cream for alfredo sauces. I was worried it was going to be too thin [[not to mention i've never made alfredo sauce before]] but i was pleasantly surprised how easy it was. The instructions were great, and my sauce came out just perfect! Never again will I waste my money on and buy a premade sauce, when making it is so easy and the taste is so much better. Thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2007

      OMG!!! This is fantastic. I always use the Ragu Alfredo Sauce and will NEVER again after trying this recipe. I was in a hurry to make a chicken, broccoli alfredo dish and had no alfredo sauce and didn't want to go to the store. I looked up different recipes and kept looking for ingredianets I had on hand and then I found this one. First, I had all that was needed and second, it was reduced fat and LOW in calories. I made it and as I said before, OMG!!!, it was fantastic. Thank you JellyBean.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2007

      Loves it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2007

      Thanks for this recipe! It's very easy and not so bad for you either!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2007

      JellyBean, Thanks for a great recipe I made it last night and it was wonderful. I tweaked it a little bit for our tast added 1 tablespoon cream and 3 more tablespoons of parmesan cheese and 1/2 teaspoon more garlic. The consistancy was beautiful as well the texture. This will be a regular at our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2007

      Well, I guess there's really nothing left to say! I used a little more flour to make the sauce thicker because I used it as the base for Chicken Florentine pizza. Yum. Also used WAY more parm cheese, too. Will use thinner version for pasta for sure. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2007

      This just didn't cut it. It needed more flavor. I think the richness is what makes this dish. It would be worth a try for someone who truly wanted the alfredo without the fat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2007

      I didn't really care for it...but I might try it again just to see if I can tweak it to my liking. UPDATE: ok ok...so I'll give it 4 stars now since my hubby tweaked it a little :) He added some pesto and extra parmesan cheese, and it tasted much better! Plus he cooked it longer than I did and it did thicken up -- which we like. We added some grilled chicken and it was great! thanks :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2007

      OK, let's be real here. This is basically a bechamel sauce that is a very useful basis for many different dishes. For example, add some sherry and you have a great sauce for tetrazzini. Add cheddar and you have the sauce to bake a macaroni and cheese. As an alfredo sauce it leaves much to be desired. Maybe because it doesn't have the chance to bake into a dish? Having said that I'll probably make it again because I wanted a lower fat version of the classic. yes, it is smooth, but not "creamy" (unless I let it cook too long? In any case, I added a pinch of fresh nutmeg, lot of pepper and lots of additional parmesan. I ate it with linguini and sauteed shrimp. As I said, it wasn't bad, but it fell short of the expectations I had from the other reviews.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Reduced Fat Alfredo Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (73 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 91.2
     
    Calories from Fat 54
    59%
    Total Fat 6.0 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.7 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 17.8 mg
    5%
    Sodium 122.3 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.5 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    12%
    Protein 3.8 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites