127 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Yum! This is an awesome healthier alternative for when you get a craving for Alfredo. I have made this recipe 'as is' a couple of times now, and have nearly eaten the entire thing by myself, in one sitting. I'm not normally a big eater, but I can't get enough of this sauce! When making for more than one person, I'll definitely increase the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
veggie_chef November 03, 2010

This was a very nice recipe, though I did do some tweaking based on other reviews. I used 2% milk and about 1/4 c pecorino cheese, used 2 full cloves of garlic and about a 1/4 tsp fresh thyme. I added a good pinch of kosher salt along with the pepper and the end result was very nice. Hubby is an alfredo lover and asked for seconds and dibs on the leftovers for lunch tomorrow. Served with garlic shrimp and broccoli. A hit in my house.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GIBride01 September 07, 2010

Very good. I used minced garlic, a bit of cream cheese, and a mixture of evaporated skim milk and skim milk. I did use very good aged Parmesan cheese which I'm sure helped, and I did need to add more pepper. I was worried about separation so after I made a triple recipe I put it in a small crock pot to keep it warm until I served it about an hour later. I probably didn't need to bother since the next day the leftover sauce was still nice and creamy. It was great with jumbo garlic shrimp over pasta, and people were amazed that it was a lower fat recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarySC August 02, 2010

I thought this recipe was fantastic. I added more garlic, an extra tablespoon of parmesan and a bit of thyme when I made it for a little more flavor. Letting the butter/flour/milk mixture thicken is KEY to a thick, creamy sauce that tastes almost like traditional full fat alfredo sauce. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky Haskins July 04, 2010

This was a very good, basic recipe for a sauce that weighs much less on my conscience that a regular alfredo sauce. I thought it needed a few (slight) adjustments. I put some salt and garlic powder in it, along with a bit of thyme. I'm looking forward to altering it a bit in the future (perhaps blending some roasted red peppers into it? hmm...) All in all, thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GetU4ThatCoconut June 25, 2010

I love this sauce! This is my go-to recipe for alfredo sauce. Thank you so much for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paigeisme June 24, 2010

Very good!! I made this for another recipe that called for Alfredo sauce and it was just perfect!! I will definitely use this again and again, thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
April1 June 08, 2010

Wasn't sure what to make for dinner tonight and the idea for pasta with alfredo sauce came to mind so I searched recipes and found this one. I only had some very basic ingredients on hand so this recipe was perfect! Used skim milk and took my time letting all of the ingredients heat through and blend which resulted in a thick sauce with wonderful flavor. I will be making this again soon!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
megmay8 May 24, 2010

this is a great recipe... I added a little cayenne pepper and lots of red crushed pepper because I LOVE spicy food

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shelly.hittner May 23, 2010

The sauce is really good. I admit I was worried about it thickening because it does take time to thicken, but it did thicken in time to be ready when my pasta was. It made for a great cold day sauce. I used 2% fat milk because what I had on hand, though I will try it with 1% next time. I think it would be good with shrimp or chicken too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tea Girl May 14, 2010
Reduced Fat Alfredo Sauce