128 Reviews

For a lighter version of alfredo sauce, this was good. I used 2% milk and about twice the butter and flour. I just added milk sporadically every few minutes as the sauce thickened while I was preparing the rest of the meal. A cream-based alfredo often tastes too rich. This was a nice alternative.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sonomamama March 04, 2013

Great base, what i use as usual aside from heavy whipping cream vs milk, i didn't even know what i was making originally was reduced fat?? I always use milk if i have no heavy whipping cream, although I was kind of saddened because the milk for some reason made the sauce sweet, even following the recipe to the T. Even after adding, salt, pepper, more salt, onion powder, garlic, more garlic, AND lemon juice it has no bite at all, not the usual twang you get from Parmesan. An I personally could not taste even the slightest hint of Parmesan from the original recipe so the 3 tbsp. Turned into more like 1 cup of grated cheese x_X??

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NikkSicks March 02, 2013

Made this for my kids in a pinch and I loved it. Made serving size 4 for three smalls kids and me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hoosier_Daddy December 27, 2012

I'm amazed at how much this tastes like recipes with heavy cream! Highly recommend!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HippieMamaJen November 01, 2012

I made this and it was fantastic and perfect for my Baked pasta.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sage August 21, 2012

I thought this recipe was great. Super easy. I added a little more cheese, garlic and salt as suggested. As a base recipe I thought it was great! Way less fat than traditional alfredo. I needed to double it as one batch doesn't make much. One review said that it was grainy. They must not have used fresh parmesan. It was very creamy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stalkington July 26, 2012

Outstanding! I added salt, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Easy to make with ingredients I always have on hand!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
huskermom June 28, 2012

I loved this recipe! I did add more parmesan, garlic and I added some salt. That made it go from really yummy to spectacular! I agree with some of the other reviewers that the simplicity and ingredients make it too easy! I was purposely looking for an alfredo recipe that used milk instead of cream just so I wouldn't have to go to the store. This recipe is awesome and thank you so much for sharing it! I made bowtie pasta & grilled chicken with the alfredo on top and my picky family loved it and had no clue it was low-fat! I highly recommend this recipe! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RachelHaight72 January 02, 2012

Very good. I took the suggestion to add a little salt and would highly recommend it. Will definitely make it again. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katanashrp September 05, 2011

Wow! I cannot believe I made this recipe with 1% milk and not cream and it actually tasted like the full fat version! Soooo good!!! I doubled the recipe, used light butter, garlic powder, S&P, and at the end added in a couple ounces of fat free cream cheese just to help it to be creamier. I still cant believe it turned out so good. It was so thick and creamy and coated the fettuccine great. Thanks for this great recipe and helping me find out that I can make alfredo sauce healthier and still taste delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*pink* June 04, 2011
Reduced Fat Alfredo Sauce