Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Reduced Fat Alfredo Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Reduced Fat Alfredo Sauce

    Average Rating:

    124 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 124

    Sort by:

    • on March 30, 2010

      WOW! I felt like an alfredo sauce last minute and didn't have any heavy cream, half/half, etc that it usually requires. I found this recipe and decided to give it a shot since it had really basic ingredients. This is probably the best alfredo sauce I've ever had! Thanks for posting it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2010

      I had been using a jarred alfredo sauce to make a sausage, red pepper, spinach, tortellin recipe but not anymore. This recipe is DELICIOUS!! I took the advice of a few others and added 1 T. cream cheese, garlic powder, nutmeg and red pepper flakes. My whole family absolutely loved it!! Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2010

      This was very good, the only change I made was adding 1 T of low fat cream cheese after adding the milk. I wouldn't change anything else - it was great and I will make it again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2010

      I loved this recipe. I followed the advice of one of the reviewers and added some low fat cream cheese. It probably would have been fine without it but it was next to the parm in the fridge so I threw it in. I also used garlic powder instead of minced garlic to keep it as smooth as possible. I think my favorite thing about this recipe is the portion size. Alfredo is so rich that it is impossible to work through a big batch before I get sick of it. This makes 2 generous dinner portions which is perfect for dinner and one night of leftovers. Thank you so much for this recipe. You saved me a fortune on restaurant bills!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2010

      This is one of those I debated on whether or not to rate because I made a decent bit of changes. However, this came out so wonderfully & it is all due to the base I got from this recipe. Here's what I did- I did 2 Tbsp flour & 3 Tbsp butter mixed together & put in the saucepan. Then I added 1 Tbsp FF cream cheese & let it soften. Then I added in 1 cup plus 1/8 cup fat free half & half. I whisked that & brought it just to a boil. I added in the parmesan, but I upped it to 1/3 cup. Then I added in the garlic, pepper, & some salt. It came out thick, rich, & creamy. DH loved it & afterward when we were talking about it he was shocked that it wasn't the normal calorie & fat ridden version. I love alfredo & this was just wonderful! I served it over spinach gnocchi & with some homemade garlic & butter biscuits. This was just 2 servings for us and at that amount with our changes & brands, this came up to a 6 point sauce for me. Thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2009

      I will never buy jarred alfredo sauce ever again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2009

      really good! I used fresh garlic and lots of it to give it a little more kick and it was great. Really good alternative to using cream and tons of butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2009

      The sauce was a bit separated so I must have not been patient enough. Also, I am not a huge garlic fan and it seemed to be a bit much for the amount of sauce. But definitely cut down on the fat!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2009

      Wowza! Thanks for such a great recipe AND for your great directions--they helped SO much & made it turn out perfect the first time. Plus all the reviews totally helped! I did use about 3/4 cup skim evaporated milk cuz I had some in the fridge; then skim milk for the rest. I did add italian seas & sauteed the garlic in butter. This was for a chicken pizza my hubby asked for & he LOVED the sauce! Thank u for the low fatness of this since he is watching his waistline :-).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2009

      Patience is definitely the key... the only thing I did differently was use half and half instead of milk. I served it over shredded rotiserrie chicken and penne. My picky husband loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2009

      I made this sauce as a side dish to go with some ham balls. We really liked this dish, and I loved the fact that it was easy to throw together. I plan on making this again as a main dish with some chicken or shrimp added. So good, thank you for sharing this recipe with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2009

      This was great recipe! I love it because it uses milk, which I always have on hand, as opposed to the recipes that use cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2009

      Fast, tasty, and healthier! I love it. I added some diced shallots to the butter and let them cook down before I added the flour....it added another layer of flavor. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2009

      This is fantastic! I added homemade pesto to the mix and topped it with broccoli and chicken it was AMAZING!! Very fast and oh so good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2009

    • on September 07, 2009

      i had this with "Broccoli Pasta With Salmon" instead of the eggs. It was delicious! I will use this a lot as it is a good way to make sauce without guilt. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2009

      Since I am used to eating low fat, this seemed very rich to me and I was very full (admittedly I had a little more than 1 serving, maybe 1/3 the recipe or more, because I like a bigger sauce to pasta ratio). I also used 2% milk and 4 tablespoons parmesan. It turned out very thick, I could see thinning it a bit. I used butter with no salt so I salted it a bit, but be careful not to overdo it! I added some nutmeg too. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2009

      We love this sauce, I will never buy alfredo sauce in the jar ever again. This is a permanent recipe in my box! Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2009

      Magnificent! I doubled the recipe - this is my first homemade alfredo sauce and it won't be my last! Homemade ROCKS! I never liked the jarred stuff ever - so we never ate alfredo at home. Now we will!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2009

      Well, this isn't your typical high fat alfredo sauce. But on the other hand, it isn't your typical high fat alfredo sauce! I really liked this and ate it practically guilt-free. I sauted that garlic in the butter before adding the flour and milk. I also added a little more parmesan cheese. I served over rigtoni with grilled chicken. With some crusty homemade bread, this made an impressive meal. I'm not wasting any time reviewing as I surely don't want to lose this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Reduced Fat Alfredo Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (73 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 91.2
     
    Calories from Fat 54
    59%
    Total Fat 6.0 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.7 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 17.8 mg
    5%
    Sodium 122.3 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.5 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    12%
    Protein 3.8 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites