Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Reduced Fat Alfredo Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Reduced Fat Alfredo Sauce

    Average Rating:

    125 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 125

    Sort by:

    • on November 01, 2012

      I'm amazed at how much this tastes like recipes with heavy cream! Highly recommend!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2012

      I made this and it was fantastic and perfect for my Baked pasta.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2012

      I thought this recipe was great. Super easy. I added a little more cheese, garlic and salt as suggested. As a base recipe I thought it was great! Way less fat than traditional alfredo. I needed to double it as one batch doesn't make much. One review said that it was grainy. They must not have used fresh parmesan. It was very creamy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2012

      Outstanding! I added salt, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Easy to make with ingredients I always have on hand!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2012

      I loved this recipe! I did add more parmesan, garlic and I added some salt. That made it go from really yummy to spectacular! I agree with some of the other reviewers that the simplicity and ingredients make it too easy! I was purposely looking for an alfredo recipe that used milk instead of cream just so I wouldn't have to go to the store. This recipe is awesome and thank you so much for sharing it! I made bowtie pasta & grilled chicken with the alfredo on top and my picky family loved it and had no clue it was low-fat! I highly recommend this recipe! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2011

      Very good. I took the suggestion to add a little salt and would highly recommend it. Will definitely make it again. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2011

      Wow! I cannot believe I made this recipe with 1% milk and not cream and it actually tasted like the full fat version! Soooo good!!! I doubled the recipe, used light butter, garlic powder, S&P, and at the end added in a couple ounces of fat free cream cheese just to help it to be creamier. I still cant believe it turned out so good. It was so thick and creamy and coated the fettuccine great. Thanks for this great recipe and helping me find out that I can make alfredo sauce healthier and still taste delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2011

      This was SO good! In the past whenever I have made pasta with Alfredo sauce it never came out as good as I hoped, so I was a bit skeptical with especially because its lower in fat but this came out amazing! I did add some salt that was not mentioned in the recipe and about a tablespoon more parmesan cheese, took my time with all the ingredients and it really paid off! Thank you SO much for posting!!! YUM!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2010

      Yum! This is an awesome healthier alternative for when you get a craving for Alfredo. I have made this recipe 'as is' a couple of times now, and have nearly eaten the entire thing by myself, in one sitting. I'm not normally a big eater, but I can't get enough of this sauce! When making for more than one person, I'll definitely increase the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2010

      This was a very nice recipe, though I did do some tweaking based on other reviews. I used 2% milk and about 1/4 c pecorino cheese, used 2 full cloves of garlic and about a 1/4 tsp fresh thyme. I added a good pinch of kosher salt along with the pepper and the end result was very nice. Hubby is an alfredo lover and asked for seconds and dibs on the leftovers for lunch tomorrow. Served with garlic shrimp and broccoli. A hit in my house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2010

      Very good. I used minced garlic, a bit of cream cheese, and a mixture of evaporated skim milk and skim milk. I did use very good aged Parmesan cheese which I'm sure helped, and I did need to add more pepper. I was worried about separation so after I made a triple recipe I put it in a small crock pot to keep it warm until I served it about an hour later. I probably didn't need to bother since the next day the leftover sauce was still nice and creamy. It was great with jumbo garlic shrimp over pasta, and people were amazed that it was a lower fat recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2010

      I thought this recipe was fantastic. I added more garlic, an extra tablespoon of parmesan and a bit of thyme when I made it for a little more flavor. Letting the butter/flour/milk mixture thicken is KEY to a thick, creamy sauce that tastes almost like traditional full fat alfredo sauce. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2010

      This was a very good, basic recipe for a sauce that weighs much less on my conscience that a regular alfredo sauce. I thought it needed a few (slight) adjustments. I put some salt and garlic powder in it, along with a bit of thyme. I'm looking forward to altering it a bit in the future (perhaps blending some roasted red peppers into it? hmm...) All in all, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2010

      I love this sauce! This is my go-to recipe for alfredo sauce. Thank you so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2010

      Very good!! I made this for another recipe that called for Alfredo sauce and it was just perfect!! I will definitely use this again and again, thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2010

      Wasn't sure what to make for dinner tonight and the idea for pasta with alfredo sauce came to mind so I searched recipes and found this one. I only had some very basic ingredients on hand so this recipe was perfect! Used skim milk and took my time letting all of the ingredients heat through and blend which resulted in a thick sauce with wonderful flavor. I will be making this again soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2010

      this is a great recipe... I added a little cayenne pepper and lots of red crushed pepper because I LOVE spicy food

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2010

      The sauce is really good. I admit I was worried about it thickening because it does take time to thicken, but it did thicken in time to be ready when my pasta was. It made for a great cold day sauce. I used 2% fat milk because what I had on hand, though I will try it with 1% next time. I think it would be good with shrimp or chicken too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2010

      This was nice, but the more I ate of it the more the taste seemed to dissipate. I didn't have any fresh garlic and had to use powder though. I think I was a little impatient with the thickening too :) I will definitely make again with this in mind, it's really good for a low fat sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2010

      Take your time to let it thicken before adding the cheese and it will come out PERFECT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Reduced Fat Alfredo Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (73 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 91.2
     
    Calories from Fat 54
    59%
    Total Fat 6.0 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.7 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 17.8 mg
    5%
    Sodium 122.3 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.5 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    12%
    Protein 3.8 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites