133 Reviews

This recipe didnt work out so well for me so i had to improvise and change everything, but thank you though

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amanda A. November 19, 2015

Very easy to make. I would add at least one cup of parmesian. When you add the cheese expect it to get thicker pretty quick. Allow for this by leaving the sauce a little more thin. It was very good I just added a little more cheese.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
debugnwa August 18, 2015

Perfect for those times when you are short on ingredients. I used whole milk and it was perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rachel A. June 10, 2015

This is my go-to recipe for alfredo or any white sauce. Often I use half butter half evoo and gently saute the garlic in the oil for a few minutes before adding the flour to take some rawness out of the garlic.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chuck_Roast December 22, 2014

I made this to go over a chicken and veggie Alfredo dish I made up. I didn't have cream or cream cheese and didn't feel like a run to the grocery store. I made with 2% milk since that is what I had on hand. I added in some dried parsley, oregano and basil to the flour, and used a bit more minced garlic in my butter roux. The extra spices add some flavor and helped me from adding more salt, which I need to stay away from. I liked this so much better than the rich Alfredo sauces, as did my son and even my husband. I believe this will be my go to Alfredo recipe from now on.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GoulashGourmet October 30, 2014

My review is long overdue. Sorry :( I've used the Reduced Fat Alfredo Sauce many times. The last time was with Zucchini Noodles Low-Carb (#341916) It was another "perfect match". The sauce deserves more than 5 stars & I would give them, if I could. It has also replaced my standard white sauce recipe because of: easy making, dependable texture, taste, flexibility of use, (Add a spice or topping such as chopped parsley, chives, spring onion or your choice) and low fat and low carbs. Hubby is a Diabetic. We have had to change lifestyle and "diet"! Thank You PrincessCalynn for helping us to make "Low Fat" & "Low Carb" easier to do and still taste great. PS: I use 2% milk. All I have on hand.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gypsygal September 12, 2014

Amazing to say the least.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AColeLO July 07, 2014

I made this in the same pan that I sauteed the mushrooms in, and added onion powder and garlic powder to it with a little cayenne pepper for a kick. It was excellent.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kwelch1440 November 09, 2013

Delicious!! My husband said that it was very good about 5 times.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelseria September 03, 2013

I tried this recipe for the first time. I was definitely impressed. We only drink skim milk so I used that. I especially heeded the direction to make this recipe slowly and even using skim milk it became nice and thick. Next time I try this I do want to add salt, more parmesan and more garlic. My husband loves alfredo sauce so this is a great alternative, that as many others said, did not sit in our stomachs like a lump! It only made enough for us two, so if you are serving more people, you might want to double or triple the ingredients.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
libfarm June 27, 2013
Reduced Fat Alfredo Sauce